We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading photos of this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Park Avenue to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #340 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Misleading photos of this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have never stayed in such a small room in my life. To get to the tiny bathroom I had to roll across the bed as my suitcase was at the foot of the bedwhich took up any space and there was no where else to put it.
"Welcoming staff" were anything but! I was really struggling with getting my luggage through the door whilst staff looked on (thought maybe being an obvious senior I could have used some help!)
Breakfast was abysmal - the guy that was tending the little "breakfast room "had to finish mopping the floor first. The only positive was they looked after my luggage under lock and key until my shuttle to the airport arrived.
Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    78
    27
    31
See reviews for
33
118
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend (4 nights)

Check in area was clean and check in was easy

We had a small double bed, which my mum and i shared as couldn't get a twin room, but this was fine for us! - the hotel also said that if one became available, we could have that.

The rooms are small, but this is NYC and how long will you be in your room for?...
Beds were clean, in room safe, air con, wardrobes, chest of drawers and windows with the view of a wall lol, and a decent size flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was clean, plenty of fresh towels and also toiletries and plenty of hot water.

The breakfast room had pastries, waffles, tea, coffee, juices, cakes, cereal and yogurt... basically something to keep you going, but the room does get busy in the mornings.

There is also an ice machine and vending machine in the lobby, but also food deli's locally.

Overall, the room was clean, the location was great for walking and local subway stations near by... I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a typical NYC hotel, which means the room is small (I was happy to be traveling alone), the water pressure is minimum, and the elevator is tiny. However, it was clean, comfortable, and it has a nice breakfast, consisting of cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, and waffles. They also have an evening coffee and cookie reception. However, I did not care about the small room because it is NYC and I was only in the room to sleep. The hotel is in a superb location and is reasonably priced (as there are two subway stops nearby and lots of places to eat within a few block radius). Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

In NYC for personal business meeting so wanted to stay where I have elite status and a decent price. Could not beat the rate and location (near Murray/Curry Hill so great Indian food). Hotel room was the smallest I have stayed in (hence the "European remarks from some reviewers) and the AC wall unit makes noise all night so difficult to get a good night's sleep. Does have a continental breakfast and snacks in the evening and I found the staff polite and helpful. Great location for touring. Just small, old and noisy HVAC units.

Room Tip: Not sure. Will try again in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

In town for a concert. Was looking for a hotel with reasonable rates and near a subway station. The staff was nice. Small elevator and narrow hallways. My room was a twin bed and the room was not that big. Looks like the bathroom was remodel recently. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osasco, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location! The free WIFI high speed was also a good surprise. But that's all.
Very poor service. The rooms are too small and old fashion. They should be renewed. If you want a nice room make sure to book one with a front view. They are larger.
The Clarion is close to everything. Lots of restaurant options in the neighbor and for all budgets.
Antenor

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel for a quick weekend getaway. The rooms were small, but very clean and really had everything you need. Bathrooms were updated, free Wifi. The beds were very comfortable. Really, how much space do you need in a room when you are spending 2-3 nights in Manhattan? What you really want is a safe, comfortable, clean and reasonably priced base to work out of and this is it! Parking is available for a nominal fee, while the staff will park and retrieve your car as often as you'd like. Speaking of the staff, Manager Kinsuk and his staff, Pedro and Nabil were excellent! They were each eager to please and went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast is included with the room, while it's location at 29th and Park Avenue is tough to beat. The daily rate for the hotel was very low, making this a place that we will return to each time.

Definitely consider this diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Address: 429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel Park Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New York City
Clarion Park Avenue
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Park Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.