We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 451 hotels in New York City
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Have stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel several times. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are huge. The service is exceptional - it is a "hip" hotel, but you will find no attitude from the employees, they are always polite and helpful. Don't miss out on having a drink in the cave-like bar - but go early unless you are in your 20's. You are an easy stroll to the shops on 5th Avenue as well as the theatre district.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,531
    370
    72
    27
    22
See reviews for
244
997
112
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I had an exceptional time in New York on my visit and i give credit to Bryant Park Hotel for being part of my experience. The room I had was a very generous size by NY standards and it was comfortable. But what made the stay most pleasant was the helpfulness and friendliness of your team from the front desk, concierge to the cleaners. My special thanks to Eric who organised my dinner reservations at very short notice. We had done this over email before i left Sydney and he was extremely responsive even with the time difference. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I surprised my girlfriend by unexpectedly appearing in NYC (where she was on a trip with her family) to propose. I looked through TripAdvisor and decided to stay at the Bryant Park Hotel.

During the planning I contacted the guest services several times, and the Entertainment Coordinator, Eric. Everyone on the staff was tremendously helpful and accommodating and responses to my email inquires were responded to immediately.

I was set to arrive at 6am and propose at 11am. I called the hotel from LAX before boarding my plane to JFK, spoke to the person at the front desk (I forget her name, but I remember she had short red hair), and explained my situation. When I arrived, I mentioned my name, and was given a room right away, well before check-in. The front desk attendant even remembered why I was there, and was very excited for me and kept wishing me luck.

The room was wonderful, and exactly as expected. It was modern and sleek, yet very comfortable and warm. The room was extremely clean, and was meticulously set. Even though I was only on the 5th floor, the view was incredible. I had a great view of the park (directly across the street) and the NYC library building, and the huge windows filled the room with natural light. The location couldn't be better.

The front desk accommodated a surprise arrangement from my sister, again, with the help of Eric, and showered the room with rose petals and a big box of Crumbs cupcakes. The standard turn down service was also awesome, and included great chocolates and the sub blocking shades being drawn.

My only regret is that I didn't have a chance to spend time in the downstairs bar which looked awesome.

This hotel was an absolute bargain, especially considering how exceptional the room, service and location were. We look forward to returning to the hotel shortly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Excellent room with view of the park and also bustling midtown Manhattan. Large bathroom, comfortable bed, and well furnished. Housekeeping requests and problems were dealt with quickly and professionally. As always, early emails to make a reservation were responded to quickly (why do some hotels ignore email?)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Bryant Park Hotel and we actually did enjoy it very much: good service, great location, very quiet

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

It is centrally located, across from the charming Bryant Park and half block from Fifth Avenue. Subway stops are right there, too. Our room was clean, and the shampoo smelled very refreshing. However, the beds were okay, not luxurious, and the room was dark because the shade was closed due to an alleyway outside. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the door men, to the front desk, to the concierge, to the bell boys. They made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We take your feedback very seriously and the next time you stay with us, you will see that your feedback paid off. I promise! Feel free to call me the next time you are in NY. Darren Sumner 212-642-2274
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The hotel was okay. The staff were a bit odd: on checking in, we were greeted with "well check out the high rollers! Staying in a Bryant Park Suite!!". I get the check-in guy was being friendly, but you would not get this at The Mandarin Oriental. The room was nice, big and light. The furniture was very uninspiring: in particular the dining and coffee tables were very student accommodation-ey. Like other reviewers, we appreciated the huge bathroom. We did not appreciate the charge to use Wi-Fi - come on people, it's 2010: make it free, or go the whole hog, and have coin-operated TVs too. The event which characterises our stay most is the crowd at The Cellar Bar. As one of my New York friends put it: "this is the worst bridge and tunnel scene I have seen in Manhattan EVER'. There were girls in bunny ears; guys in pimp suits; and girls in hot-pants-in-butt-crack: not a good look. There appears to be no door policy, and the hotel is situated within moments of the Lincoln Tunnel and the Port Authority building: figure it out. Koi was lovely, but the descent from there after dinner to the bar was scary. Like other reviewers, the doormen were either absent or unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.