We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel in NYC for the Holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Garrison, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Hotel in NYC for the Holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I choose this hotel because of the location and got so much more. The staff was extraordinary, helpful, informative & excited to help make our stay wonderful. It's really welcoming to be greeted by name. The free cocktails between 5 & 6 along with a delicious complimentary breakfast, WOW.
They upgraded our room so we had a view of the Bryant Park Christmas Tree. The room was modern, clean & roomy. We were so delighted with our stay we're going to make it an annual tradition. A hotel in NYC with free Wi-Fi what a pleasure!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,111
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our trip to NYC was at the beginning of October to see "It's Only a Play." The play was excellent and the hotel was wonderful. Placement of the hotel is perfect for a NYC holiday. Five to ten minutes walk to Boardway/Times Square and Central Park. Easy access to subway system too!

The room was incredible and staff truly helpful. The real plus to the hotel is the large room with the view of Bryant Park and the fabulous balcony! Thank you to all of the staff at The Bryant Park Hotel! Just marvelous!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stay here every December. The hotel staff is always friendly and has excellence customer service skills. The hotel is clean and staff is very accommodating in providing what you may need. I chose the room with the park view which is lovely. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In New York for a weekend to see a show and do a bit of shopping. The Bryant Park hotel is perfectly located, easy walking to Broadway, and to shops. NY Public Library on the corner and the lovely Bryant Park across the street. Amazing service, greeted by name and with a smile. Free Wi-Fi was a surprise in NY. Fabulous stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had two rooms for annual Christmas visit. Was great to be out of Time Square but close enough to participate. View from our window onto skating rink and Bryant Park was stunning.
Arrived early and Nicole helped to see that our room was ready early which was enormously helpful.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

How do you rate a hotel? it has to fit your needs, your desires. It has a small entry way and lobby, but a large public space is not our need. It has an attached Japanese restaurant and downstairs bar that offers a free happy hour from 5-6 p.m and is filled at night with the young, but these are not our needs.

Ah, but the service. A warm welcome by the doorman. A quick, smiling reception by the efficient desk clerks who use your name on arrival and quickly transact the registration. A person to monitor the elevator usage and direct you. A quick delivery of luggage and and explanation of the room's amenities. A good concierge, Eric.

But even more impressive. After a night Andy (I am not sure what his job title is), overheard my family casually talk about preferring the configuration of a corner suite we occupied previously. He asked us for our room number. We thought nothing of this. But lo and behold few minutes later manager Darren Sumner calls and offers us a corner suite, room #1707, one in which we previously stayed. Where else would this happen?

And finally it is the room that makes BPH fit perfectly. Admittedly, this pertains only to a suite which was more economical and comfortable for a couple with a young adult son than two double rooms. The large living room is in the corner with several windows, two sofas, two chairs and a table with 4 chairs.The bedroom is roomy and has 2 windows. The bathroom is large with a shower and bathtub. Good towel and bathrobes. The shower is a star. There is a large round "rain" shower head with great water pressure.Pure bliss.

It is the interior decor that does "it." The walls are white and unadorned. The furniture with simple lines and one-colored. Light wooden floors. The bed with four pillows and a comforter---all white, so clean and inviting. All of it invites quiet time and space. The city is for relaxing (yes). Lunch somewhere from ramen to fine dining. Visit somewhere then back to the hotel for down time before catching a show. Then a late dinner at a deli or Italian restaurant. Then a quiet cool room for a long night of sleep (exceptionally quiet rooms) and not much activity before lunch except walking the neighborhood and getting coffee and a bagel from one of a couple of same-block deli-type shops. Space---to lounge with lots of sunlight and the openness of Bryant Park across the street and even to eat a Thanksgiving Day lunch after the Macy's parade with food from the Grand Central Station Market/Deli purchased the day before. Turkey dinner at the Red Flame Diner, a simple restaurant on 44th, perfect after a 10 days of vacation (over) eating.

if this sounds like the service and "feel" you want from a hotel, BPH it is! It is for us.

P.S. Discussion about location, transportation, food, would be too much for what is already probably too much.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. Take one facing Bryant Park and you have the feeling of SPACE. The corner s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The best hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down. Obviously, the location, the rooms, the amenities and the surrounding world famous landmarks already put this place right up there, but its the staff and attention to detail that make this hotel top of my list. I stayed here as part of my engagement night and with the overwhelming help from the front desk family, I managed to pull off the perfect proposal. Not only had each of the lobby's employees bent over backwards to make it happen, but it was the heartfelt nature with which they assisted that blew me away. In fact, I now have a memory I never knew I would have if not for a certain member of the Bryant Park Hotel family and its something that I will cherish forever. It was way above and beyond the call of duty but this is what this staff does, they go that step further and reach that much higher, to ensure each and every guest has a stay to remember. 5/5 stars for me and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.