We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay, the people who helped us and the location and hotel were fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 458 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“We loved our stay, the people who helped us and the location and hotel were fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We traveled to NYC in July, 2014 for our 20th anniversary and loved every minute. The happy hour downstairs and the evening turndown service were standouts for us. The Bryant Park area is wonderful and walkable to all of midtown and the park. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Happy 20th Anniversary and thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay especially the Cellar Bar and the Turn Down Service. Our Housekeeping Department and Bar staff work so hard and it is means a lot to them to be recognized. We can’t wait to welcome you back. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,111
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is my second review of the Bryant Park, and this time, this hotel gets top rating. We were there 5 nights and everything was absolutely perfect. The hotel is modern, and lovely, clean, well maintained and well managed. Location is absolutely great and having the Bryant Park outside the door is amazing, giving you lunch and dinner options at this beautiful park. Also, the possibility of buying a sanwich and using some of the tables there, right across your room. The hotel service is very good altogether: at the counter in the entrance, as is the cleaning, package handling, room service and door people. Everybody polite and helpful. Now the especifics: for us travellers who do online shopping and receive packages, GREAT service. For us travellers that love clean spacious and semi-luxurious bathrooms and are spoiled on amenities, here is your place. For us travellers who love returning to NY and enjoying a drink in the evening, you have the Cellar in the hotel. For great dining (and I mean REALLY great) the KOI in the hotel. For hanging around NY city late at night and returning confortably and safe, walking late in 5th Av, going to plays in Times Square, this location is fabulous.
Special thanks to Darren, the nice room, the welcome details and the great reception as returning customers. Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floors facing back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
WOW! What an amazing review, so thorough and gracious. Thank you for your loyalty with us and for your amazing compliments. I can’t thank you enough for recognizing me as well as my team. It sounds like we all came together and helped create some wonderful memories for you. When is your third stay? If I can help with your booking in any way please let me know. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and see you soon! Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel recently and were very pleased. The hotel staff and service were outstanding. Nicki, Sarah and Eric were especially helpful, but the entire staff went out of their way to help with any need or question. Room service was quick and good. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed, especially by NYC standards. The bathroom was a very nice size and also clean and well stocked. The hotel is in a great location. They even left a sweet treat, note and balloon for my high school graduate! We could not have been more pleased and will definitely stay at the Bryant Park again!
p.s. The staff arranged airport transfer and it was outstanding too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us a 5, it really means a lot to us. You must be very proud of your high school graduate and I am thrilled that we had a part in the celebration. Your praises regarding Nikki, Sarah, Eric, Private Dining and Housekeeping were very much appreciated. It was so nice of you to take the time to share your experience and I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've stayed in multiple hotels in NYC and this hotel is now my favorite. Even though it was a very stylish hotel, we went ahead and stayed here as a family with a 2 year old because of its perfect location right in front of Bryant Park. The staff there were so nice to us however, and amazingly, every single one of them! We felt so much at home and I wanted to tip them so much, I ran out of cash! The room was tastefully appointed and we especially liked the big bathtub and a separate shower with Morton Brown amenities. We had a room on the park side and it was relieving to see greens from the windows, which is not always the case in NYC hotels. It was surprisingly quiet too (except one Sunday night when they were showing outdoor movie at Bryant Park). Our only disappointment was that the room did not come with microwave or coffee maker, but that was not a big deal as there were so many great bakery and coffee places on the same street. Overall, while we picked the place of the location and the style, we were drawn by their super nice staff. Will definitely return there for our next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floor, park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for making us your favorite NYC hotel and for giving us a 5! We really appreciate your feedback, suggestions and praises. I am glad to hear that during your next visit to NY you will make us your home away from home. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, very helpful and pleasant staff, comfortable bed, well structured room..we come to NYC often, but have not stayed at this hotel previously, but would definitely come back. Great bar down stairs. And the free valet parking Friday and Saturday was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Cellar Bar and was able to take advantage of our Free Weekend Parking Promotion. We plan on continuing the promotion throughout the season since it has been so well received. I hope you return soon and if I can ever be of assistance please let me know. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and could not have asked for a better location. As 1st time visitors to NYC we wanted something central and were delighted in our choice located on Bryant Park a couple of blocks from Time Square it was just perfect location to explore from as well as the offering the park itself which was a green and peaceful oasis in the middle of the city. The hotel itself is a lovely old building with a really modern style inside with very attentive and helpful staff. The concierge, Eric, was particularly helpful organising taxis for us and also sorting out a booking issue with a trip we had booked independently. Our room was very well appointed with a great view of the Park itself. We did not eat at the hotel but there are a number of very good coffee shops very close so we particularly enjoyed getting a decent coffee and a piece of cake from one of the local delis and just having breakfast in the park watching the world go by. One unexpected bonus was the happy hour from 17.00 - 18.00 where all drinks were free for hotel guests. When informed of this, we expected there to be limited choice and number of drinks allowed but it was a free choice and the waitresses made a point of asking us if we wanted one last drink when 18.00 was nearing. Not the cheapest option as a place to stay but we really felt we got what we paid for and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Your first time in NY and you chose us! I am so happy to hear that we represented NY well and that you had such a great stay. Your kind words about the Cellar Bar are very much appreciated. Such a great group of staff work in the bar and I am sure they will really appreciate the praises. Thank you also for recognizing Eric, he loves his job and it is so nice to see him receive such wonderful recognition. We cant’ wait to welcome you back some day; hopefully soon! Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel, directly across from Bryant Park, and near subway stations and New York Public Library. Within walking distance of great dining, shopping, Times Square and Broadway. Great Midtown location!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving us a 5! I am glad that you found everything you desired and that we met your every need. Please come back and see us again. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.