We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hotel in the Big Apple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My hotel in the Big Apple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The Bryant Park Hotel is perfect for who likes to enjoy shopping, food and Broadway shows when in New York City. In Midtown, front of the most beautiful park of the Big Apple, Bryant Park, is far only few meters from 5th Avenue at East and near to Times Square. All around the most famous restaurants of New York. One of these is just inside the hotel, Koi Restaurant, when it served a delicious breakfast. Not to forget Cellar Bar, one of the most stylish bars of the neighbour. Although, Bryant Park Hotel is very quiet hotel. Rooms are confortables and cleans. Some with a beautiful view to the park. All staff is kind and always available. Thank you guys I really enjoyed my stay in New York, last Easter.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are proud to be your Hotel in the Big Apple! What an honor when you have over 400 hotels to choose from. Thank you for all of your wonderful praises especially regarding Housekeeping, The Cellar Bar and the Staff. We are looking forward to your next visit! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,109
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, from the lovely art deco building to the gorgeous rooms and amazing bathrooms, not to mention the fantastic location overlooking the lovely Bryant park with so many nice delis and eating places just seconds away. The mid town location is perfect for all sights - this hotel was amazing on all levels but what has totally blown me away were the team that work there - I have to share this story as I am still amazed by their thoughtfulness. We woke up on Easter Sunday with my 9 and 4 year old children who were really upset that the easter bunny had not visited (we arrived late the night before and I did not have time to get them easter eggs). We went down to reception where the lovely girls wished my children happy easter and offered them an egg. I explained that the easter bunny had not visited them and how upset they were but said hopefully he will come later on, the girls laughed along with us. WE went out shopping and arrived back in the afternoon to some lovely balloons, a note from the easter bunny and a basket of chocolate easter eggs on the bed! I did not ask them to do this they just did it off their own back, no charge to us, and it gave our children the most magical experience as they said "look Mum we know the Easter Bunny has really been as its not your writing"!
I think this is over and above any service I have had, a really thoughtful gesture. I looked at hundred of hotels in NY stressing where to stay - save yourself the time and book this hotel it is amazing - I promise you wont regret it......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
What a beautiful review and magical story. I believe the Easter Bunny was Nicole! But we can keep that between ourselves. I am so happy that we were able to create some wonderful memories for you and your family. We can’t wait until your next visit! I hope it is soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I don't review often, and then only at both ends of the spectrum - either very good or very bad. Stayed at the Bryant Park for a weekend and it is *fabulous*. Nothing to criticise really, for a Manhattan midtown hotel.

It has a great location right on the park, the subway is fifty yards away, and, the city being very walkable in this area, it's not far from theatres, music, art, food, in almost any direction.

I was made very welcome at reception, and later the concierge was extremely helpful, even printing out a map for me to find a particular shop.

The Cellar Bar is convenient and just about right for cocktail hour and post theatre, though note that on Saturday it turns into a club, with a long line (for non-residents - if you're a guest you stroll right in). We did not try the Koi restaurant, though the food that Koi delivered to the room was excellent.

The room is more than comfortable and did not feel small at all, as many NYC places can. The minibar we could have lived on for a week in luxury. The bath and shower were spacious and worked well.

Oh and a nice surprise at checkout, for some of the weekend days they waive the parking fee.

All in all, I tried hard to think of something negative but really, honestly, could not. Well done everyone concerned with this gem of an hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine there are views from some of the higher and north facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 and for taking the time to review us especially since you mentioned that you don't often participate in reviews. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Cellar Bar and that our Concierge took such great care of you. We plan on keeping the free weekend parking promotion for a while since it has been so successful. Koi is amazing through our Private Dining and I am glad you liked it, the next time you have to dine in the actual restaurant, the menu is more extensive and the service is impeccable. If I can ever be of assistance please let me know. We would love to have you back again! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights over Easter weekend. The hotel was great and we found it it be an excellent location allowing easy access to Times Square, Central
Park and Midtown. We took advantage of the free bar for residents on a couple of occasions - between 5 and 6pm each day.
The room was generously proportioned, with a superb bathroom.
Bryant Park is also lovely with loads of options for eating.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating! I am very happy to hear that you enjoy some of the perks like the open bar. I agree the park is beautiful and it is so nice having it right across the street from us. The park is almost ready for picnics and during the summer we have movie night in the park on Monday evenings and Thursdays some of the most popular Broadway shows perform in the park during lunch time. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a great experience at The Bryant Park Hotel in NY City. I took my daughter to visit for the first time and the staff was incredible. So courteous and friendly. They opened the doors for everyone and had the elevators ready to go. Very friendly to my daughter and gave us great ideas for where to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful praises especially regarding Hotel cleanliness and doormen and security friendliness. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful group of employees that really love what they do. I hope you and your daughter come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My fiancée and I spent Easter weekend at the Bryant Park Hotel after a long drive in from Montreal. We were tired when we arrived and I was a bit stressed out from NYC traffic...YES first time in NYC!!! LOL!!!....Nevertheless, we were greeted by an AMAZING STAFF, all smiles and full of energy. We were pleasantly surprised that this hotel was inviting and NON PRETENCIOUS like so many other high end hotels. Miguel and Nicole made sure that we were happy with our room and were super helpful in finding us the perfect bright and airy room with hardwood floors that had a view of Bryant Park. The bathrooms are AWESOME, best showers, not kidding, you'll see what we mean by that........the bed was super comfortable and the pillows were sooooo nice...aahhhh....
The location of the hotel is PERFECT, as it is in the center of it all, however, having Bryant Park in front of the Hotel provided the space and peaceful environment in a crazy busy city! We had breakfast outdoors in Bryant Park, which was probably the most relaxing outdoor spot in the city....besides Cental Park of course!!! A HUUUUGE PLUS+++ This hotel has PARKING INCLUDED which is why we chose it in the first place. YES, there are many hotels in NYC but after staying the weekend, we WILL WITHOUT A DOUBT come back to the Bryant Park Hotel. Exceptional customer service should always be acknowledged so we want to mention, as well as thank Nicole, Miguel and Kevin for being amazing, it's so obvious that they love working with people and it shows, it's people like them that make a lasting impression, especially on first timers like us!! YOU GUYS ARE THE BOMB!!!
Jody and Marci Wright

Room Tip: 1106 was great, Queen Deluxe room with Hardwood floors, 2 windows, awesome bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
WOW! What an amazing review. I couldn’t wait to share your review with Nicole, Miguel and Kevin; they will be thrilled to read it. I am very fortunate to work with such an amazing staff. I am so glad that you took advantage of the wonderful perks and will come back. You put a huge smile on everyone’s faces after reading this! Thank you! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first ever stay at The Bryant Park Hotel. Being native New Yorkers you never really think about staying at a hotel for the weekend especially if you work in the city all week. Well let me tell you it was the best weekend stay-cation we have ever had! It was our 17th wedding anniversary and we had tickets to a show so we figured why should we drive back home? Why not book a room and enjoy the city? We were pleasantly surprised by attentiveness and professionalism displayed by the staff. We were greeted at the entrance by Kevin who informed us that valet parking was complimentary. This made our day especially because parking in the city is at times astronomical. We were then checked in by Miguel who could not have been more accomodating. Our room was beautiful, neat, clean and with a great view of Bryant Park. Our Aniiversary weekend was spectacular thanks in large part toThe Bryant Park Hotel. We are already picking out a date for our next stay. This truly is a beautiful hotel worth every cent and more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Happy Anniversary! I am very glad to hear that my staff helped to create some wonderful memories. Miguel and Kevin are super stars and I am very fortunate to have them working with me. I also appreciate your positive feedback regarding cleanliness; the Housekeepers are the hardest workers and deserve the recognition. I hope you come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.