We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding, anniversary, traditions made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Bronxville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wedding, anniversary, traditions made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

So good that I have to make sure you get this review.

I wrote one before, but I am not sure it posted -- my computer is kind of screwy.

My husband and I were married there in the gothic styled Cellar Bar 1/2012. We returned 1/13 throwing a small get together with some close friends and family. You wouldn't necessarily expect a warm country-inn feeling from the staff of such a posh, upscale Manhattan hotel, but indeed you do. From the Luis at the front door, to Nicole behindt the front desk, to Jaime and Juan tending the Cellar Bar, sincere smiles abound. I credit Darren and Esther for managing the front desk and bar respectively as they do! I can't recommend the Bryant Park Hotel enough. Maybe I will see you there next January when we through our second anniversary party!

Room Tip: spring for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We were so happy to have you back for your 1 year Anniversary. Thank you so much for your kind words about Luis, Nicole, Jaime, Juan, Esther and me. I made sure to share your review with everyone so that they can see that they had such a positive impact on your stay. I hope you make this a yearly tradition. Thank you again, Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,109
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel gets high marks for it's service.

It seemed to get everything right on those items most important to a business traveler. The check-in process was quick and easy; I was placed in a quiet room -- most hotels seem to bungle this requiring a change of rooms -- free wifi for all devices; quick and efficient check out.
This made the stay easy because it allowed me to focus on business rather than the friction that occurs at so many hotels.

The hotel reinforced it's mission of hospitality by including small details, while not necessary, certainly appreciated. Molton-Brown toiletries; plenty of thick, white and very large bath towels; easy to use lights in the room; turndown service with slippers and dark chocolate; easy to find hair dryer and the room itself was spotlessly clean.

It was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us such high marks! I am thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities as well as the service. We are very lucky to have a great team that really enjoys providing exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Nicole was lovely & arranged cakes & ballon for husbands 50th birthday - thank you
All staff were friendly yet professional
There was noise from the park opposite at night (due to erection of a temporary entertainment venue ). & my husband had trouble sleeping

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Happy 50th Birthday and thank you for spending it with us! I am glad you enjoyed the birthday goodies that Nicole sent you. I am so sorry about the noise level in the park; I wish we had control over that. Normally the park is very quiet, but this year it became the hub for the Super Bowl so I can empathize with you. During the spring and summer, the lawn is beautiful and is a great spot to have a nice picnic. Please reach out to me the next time you plan on returning to NY. Thank you again! Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I chose to stay at The Bryant Park Hotel for our annual trip up to NYC to celebrate my husband's birthday. The reviews sounded wonderful and the location was right- easy to access both the East and West sides and close enough to The Theatre District. I felt as though the price was amazing compared to similarly rated hotels.

We arrived very early (about 10:30 AM) on Saturday morning, with the hopes to check our bags, get brunch and explore until check-in. The valet, Steven, greeted us with a smile and helped us with our bags. We walked inside and were immediately greeted at the front desk by Miguel who said that our room was ready and we could check in. Check in took just a few minutes and we were directed to Sarah at the concierge desk for brunch recommendations. She was very friendly and asked for our preferred time. We went up to our room and she sent a hand written list of suggestions up to the room with her favorites starred. She called the room to give a detailed description of the locations.

We were very impressed by the our room #1505. It had a gorgeous view of the ice skating rink at Bryant Park. It also had an enormous bathroom by NYC standards with a tub fit for two and a great stand up shower with duel shower heads. The Molton Brown bath products added another bonus. We enjoyed lounging in our robes, slippers and ended up ordering brunch to the room with a bottle of champagne.

We left for a pre-theatre dinner at about 5:30 and were greeted by name by every employee that we saw. It was a very nice, personalized touch and a welcoming feeling. Even though the hotel was top-notch, there was never a pretentious feeling.

Upon our return for the evening, we arrived at our room to find a birthday balloon, two delicious Crumbs cupcakes, and a hand written card from the Assistant Director of the Front Office Nicole. They were incredibly delicious and made us feel so special and appreciated.

Upon check out the next morning, we were greeted with a smile by Miguel at the front desk. He asked if he could help us in anyway and how our evening was. We left our bags and went out to explore for the day. We called ahead to make sure our car was ready when we arrived back. Steven greeted us at the door and he and John helped us with our bags. They told us that they hoped that we return on our next stay... and we will! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
WOW! We were all very taken back by your amazing review. I am so glad that we were able to enhance your Birthday stay! Thank you for remembering all of our names. I couldn’t wait to show your review to Nicole, Sarah, Miguel, Steven and John. They were all touched by your thoughtful praises and we all hope you come back soon. If I can ever be of assistance please do not hesitate to call upon me. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We chose the Bryant Park Hotel based on a recommendation from friends and the reviews on this site. The location is excellent, the rooms modern and comfortable, but it was the service that was really extraordinary. Truly, every staff member we encountered helped ensure that our stay was great. I can't imagine ever choosing another hotel in NYC - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 and for your wonderful praises. I am so glad that you had a great stay and will be back again. If I can ever be of assistance please let me know. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I just spent the weekend in New York. The Bryant Park Hotel was great. It has a superior lacation for theater and shopping. The room was claen and modern and amazingly quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel. We plan to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5! I am so glad to hear that you and your wife had a great time. I also appreciate your praises regarding Housekeeping, they work so hard and it is so nice to see them get recognized. I hope you come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had another wonderful stay at Bryant Park Hotel for a birthday getaway, special thanks to Nicole, who has arranged some very sweet personal touches in the room. Again, great location (minutes-walk to Fifth Avenue, Times Square, subway station just around the corner), right across the beautiful Bryant Park, clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff. You'd feel warm, comfortable and welcome here while you're away from home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5! I am so glad that we were able to make your Birthday extra special. I promise to share your praises with Nicole. I also appreciate your kind comments regarding Housekeeping, they work so hard and it is so nice to see them get recognized. I hope you come back soon, we would love to have you back! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.