We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 451 hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Bryant Park hotel on a surprise trip to New York to celebrate his 50th birthday. I chose the hotel largely on the basis of the reviews I'd read.
We weren't disappointed! From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We were given an upgrade to a fantastic suite on the 21st floor with views over the park, and there were even cupcakes waiting for us with candles to help celebrate his birthday. We ate in the Koi restaurant that first evening, and both had really lovely meals.
The hotel is in a wonderful convenient location, really central, and just a few minutes walk from Times Square, but even with the windows open we didn't find it unduly noisy. The building itself is beautiful and has been very tastefully converted into a hotel.
I had been to New York several times in the past, but have never before found such a remarkable hotel with such lovely attentive staff. Our five nights there made our trip extra special.
(I accidentally clicked on the Swimming Pool review below, and can't seem to unselect it!)

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a park view, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,535
    370
    72
    27
    22
See reviews for
245
1000
112
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week, on a business trip, and really the experience was great.

Location for me it´s perfect because the company I work for, is literally across the street, on the other side of the park. Room is big, perfectly clean, with fantastic big windows and a great view to the park. Service and staff very friendly, and for my (positive) surprise, was almost the first time in the US, in a hotel in the US, where I had the perception that when you ask for something, people are waiting for a tip. I will never get used to the "tip culture" in the US, and usually I give tips when the service is perfect, and here, in this place, you never feel the pressure to give tip.

On thing which could make things perfect: a coffee machine in the room, but anyway, can fully recommend the hotel, and I would not doubt to stay here again in my next trip

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here with my wife. Very helpful and friendly staff at a smaller hotel. Room was good - comfortable king-size bed with nice bathroom. Location is very central with good subway and walking connections to most places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have been to this hotel a few times over the past five years. My last visit was for my birthday. The Concierge (Felix) upgraded my room and even left cupcakes and a balloon for my birthday. The entire four days were very memorable - the bar is great, the restaurant next door was excellent, front desk staff, housekeeping, etc. You name it -- they did it! Bravo and I'll see you in 2014!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bryant Park Hotel. We moved from a Chelsea area hotel that wasn't quite working for us and Room 2204 was just the remedy.

We had a suite, with a separate shower and tub and a half bath for guests in the living area - very nice. Interestingly, the corner of the room was the bathroom, so you had these incredible views out two sides in the bathroom - kinda weird and we kept the coverings down most of the time, but it was a cool experience. Outstanding shower. Everything is functional, service was great, location (for us) was really great. Bryant Park had the skating rink going, so that added to our view. While pricey (what isn't in NYC?), the sushi room service was a definite treat.

I go to NYC every year for work and my wife tags along - I usually like to stay someplace different every time, trying different neighborhoods, etc. However, I think I may have found my go-to property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in a room overlooking Bryant Park surrounded by midtown buildings and glimpses of Times Square signs. The bathroom was large and well-equipped -- especially for NYC! -- and both the room and bath has plenty of storage space.

The room was stylish as well as clean; the service was good. The hotel attracts a young clientele but my husband and I, both in our 60s, were more than comfortable and will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New Yorl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Bryant Park Hotel is an amazing experience. The service is top notch. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious for NYC. It overlooks Bryant Park so ask for a room on that side. From November to March there is an ice skating rink with little shops that is so pretty to look at from your room--not to mention that it's a great way to spend the afternoon or evening. You just can't go wrong with this hotel. 5 minutes from Times Square, Broadway, and shopping! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.