We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 446 hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I just returned from a weekend trip to visit my daughter in New York. I've stayed at many good hotels in the city over the years. I would recommend Bryant Park as an excellent hotel option. The design and decor are beautiful, and the service was wonderful: courteous, prompt, efficient and friendly. Chase at the front desk was exceptionally helpful - as were the concierge, room service, the security people, other front desk people, everyone was great. The hotel's location is excellent - it is convenient to everything and directly across the street from Bryant Park and the New York Public Library so the immediate area is lovely too. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,366
    349
    66
    27
    22
See reviews for
208
900
107
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently held a fashion press preview in the loft on the 24th floor, and must say- the entire team at the Bryant Park Hotel made what could have been total chaos, a seamless and very successful event. They had me covered from A-Z. The location was ideal for fashion editors to drop in, and the views are great. The space itself was open with lots of light, and plenty of spaces to tuck away items for storage. I highly suggest checking out the Bryant Park Hotel if you are looking for someplace to host an event. Looking forward to booking our next one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We checked into the Bryant Park a little early on Saturday, and were greeted warmly by Chase and Nikki at the front desk after having our car whisked away by Stephen curbside (valet parking is included in the room rate!!) Our room was ready, and we were given an upgrade (thanks again, Chase!) to a spectacular room with three windows overlooking the Park-wow! Really grand space especially for the location (near theaters and Times Square), immaculate, quiet and very well appointed. The front desk staff and everyone else were totally on their game, without being unctuous or intrusive. We definitely will be back (in two weeks, actually :)

Room Tip: try to get a Park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel and the staff made for a wonderful anniversary getaway. The location could not have been more perfect and all the little "plusses" just kept piling on. At check-in we were greeted by a lovely young woman Nicci (I hope I spelled that right) who upon finding out it was our anniversary, upgraded us to a Bryant Park Suite on the 14th floor overlooking the park. Mind you, we had booked the least expensive room, so this was one heck of an upgrade.

Not knowing what to really expect, we headed upstairs. The room was fantastic. A full dining table, a large living area and a king size bedroom with a huge en-suite. The overall look was very clean and modern (think Nordic - or IKEA) We had two walls of windows and a beautiful view of the park and the Library. We think most apartment dwellers in Manhattan would have killed to have a place this big and nice.

Heading back downstairs we made sure to say hi and thanks to Nicci, With a very warm smile she informed us she had one more surprise waiting for us later. Turns out when we got back that evening, she had a chilled bottle of Prosecco and a hand written anniversary card waiting for us on the dining table.

We also have to give thanks to the other young lady working the desk that evening (we unfortunately did not get her name). She recommended a very nice Italian restaurant nearby (Osteria al Doge) and even got us the reservation. She did not steer us wrong.

Overall, it was the perfect place to stay. The room was great and we can't say enough about the staff. Everyone was very friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. We were greeted at the front door and our cases taken inside. Check in was quick and we were shown to our room on the 5th floor. Unfortunately we didn't have a view but we booked late through an agent so this was to be expected. The room was very nice, a decent size for NYC. We had a flatscreen TV, a Bose sound system and a Klipsch docking station. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well both nights. The bathroom was well appointed and had Molten Brown toiletries. The location was in the very nice Bryant Park, near various Metro stations and Times Sq. The only criticism was the bar is shut all day Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located on east 40th Street across from the library and Bryant Park, this is hotel is is at the geographic center for Manhattan visitors. The building is an architectural gem, once the headquarters of The American Radiator Company, it has been reborn as a well run and appealing boutique hotel. The rooms are comfortable, spare and mostly larger than your average NYC room.

Wi fi is free and the bar is a cool crypt set deep into subterranean NY. There are often drink specials and happy hour deals for guests. Room service is weak, at best, especially on weekends. Better to put your shoes on and walk down the street for breakfast.

The staff is great and after 5 stays, I am a real fan.

Room Tip: Higher is better and front rooms grant a view of the park. There are two suites on the 19th floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestoke
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

There were problems in that our booking had been cancelled by them it appeared and we had to go to another hotel that they arranged that night. Not to happy as we has been flying and we were very very tired? Suffice to say that they made up for it the next day with apologises and champagne!
The staff were faultless so no complaints there but there there were things provided that I've never experienced in a hotel before and it was called a "pleasure centre" and it was full of equipment to enable shall we say a more exciting night if required!! We found this shall we say a "little in your face" and tardy but perhaps the younger generation may not and they've obviously seen a market for it but not too our taste.
The hotel has a wonderful park in front of it and was very central for everything.
The magnificent Central Library was just to its side to walk to.
Overall a lovely hotel but be aware that it caters for differing needs.

Room Tip: Floor 19 room excellent and not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Bryant Park Hotel
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#14 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.