We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Bryant Park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at Bryant Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned to the UK from a trip to USA, we stayed for three nights in New York at the Bryant Park Hotel. Good service, very friendly, nothing too much trouble and every request dealt with very promptly. Room was clean and comfortable and great location, opposite lovely park with good places to eat. Wasn't too keen at having breakfast served in our room (our package choice, not sure it was made clear enough at the time of booking) but it all arrived promptly at the chosen time. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    398
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
291
1,118
127
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May. The room was comfortable and elegant, the staff were fantastic, and the location can't be beat. Bryant Park is a green oasis away from the craziness of Times Square, but still close enough to access anywhere you want to go without difficulty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern US
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Needed a hotel for an overnight stay while attending the Manhattan Cocktail Classic held at the NY Public Library since The Bryant Park Hotel is literally steps away I thought this would be a good choice, turned out to be a perfect choice. A beautiful black and gold monolithic building ideally located for easy travel throughout the city. Greated by really really nice doormen/valets, first impressions are important and these guys make a good one. A Spartan front desk area is manned by a super efficient and friendly crew that gets you in your room quickly. The rooms (bed area) are very modern (not my favorite style and a bit of a disconnect with the exterior of the hotel) and extremely comfortable and well laid out, a good size for the price point in NYC. The bathrooms are beautiful and spotless. The staff at the hotel is really incredible, they truly make you feel welcome, they turned a very good hotel into a great one. Check out was as friendly and efficient as check in. All in all a great choice for NYC and easily comparable to other high end hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a Trip Advisor user, my stay at the Bryant Park Hotel was viewed through contributors eyes and I can honestly say that I could find no fault with the hotel. My husband and I stayed 8 nights there (May 8 - May 15 2013) and could not have been happier. Why?
1. the location - perfect for exploring major sights of New York
2. subway entrance about 20 metres away
3. the hotel lobby & bar very funky.
4. the room - this was an oasis for us. We didn't have a view which just didn't matter as we'd return each day exhausted and our room was always welcoming and calm. I loved that the public areas of the hotel were full of vibrant color and the rooms are just white and peaceful.
5. the bathroom - very generous size with a bathtub and I just LOVED the shower and complimentary gels, etc.
6. the staff - every single person we dealt with was pleasant and helpful. Thankyou again Sarah for everything you did for us.
7. complimentary drinks - happy hour for guests 5-6pm.
8. beds - this might be the most important point of all. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had uninterrupted sleep each night.
All in all, it was a terrific hotel in a great city ... I would like to think we'd be back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While a little pricey even for NY,the location, 1st class service makes the Bryant Park our new hotel of choice when we go to NY. Close, but not right on top of Fashion/Garment district, Times Sq, Theater district, Chelsea.Easy walk to both west and east trains. Easy walk to 5th ave. Plus you have beautiful Bryant park across the street. All staff helpful and friendly, Sarah the concierge especially so.Good shopping tips for my wife and her rec for mother's day brunch was spot on. Had drinks and snacks in Cellar bar but missed out on free drinks for guests 500-600. Had slight upgrade when we checked in to a king bed. Didnt pay for room w/ park view. Would definitely go back

Room Tip: we werent in room except to sleep so not sure if worth paying for park view, though park is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Second time here for anniversary, very romantic, cozy and trendy, with the view of Bryant Park is the perfect spot for a romantic weekend. Great wine cellar with happy hour filled with cool NY people. Staff is a bit slow, not the real NY style but they're very friendly and nice. A place I will always return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bryant for a week in April. The location couldn't be better, between 5th & 6th Ave and a short walk or bus trip to any of the sites you want to visit. Bryant Park is a great amenity on your front door, an opportunity to watch NY life all around you, perfect on a sunny day. The hotel is a beautiful old building with a smart Japanese resturant and cellar bar, neither of which we tried, but both looked nice though more expensive then we wanted. The room we had was on the 16th floor and was clean and nicely appointed. Nice large bathroom only issue was the water was very hot and difficult to adjust in the shower. Breakfast can be had at The Pain Quotient a couple of doors along from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.