We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel with great staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Cool hotel with great staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Bryan Park Hotel for 4 days. Hotel is really cool with a Scandinavian touch too the rooms. Staff is great (friendly and service minded), superb food at the restaurant (Asian Fusion) and great location Midtown Manhattan.

They also have a 24h gym

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,111
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient location. From the moment we arrived, we were greated with a smile and that continued throughtout our stay by the entire staff. The room was very clean. Happy hour in the Cellar Bar is a nice touch! Great value for the price. Will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Best room would be one overlooking Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Bryant Park Hotel is always on pointe. The entertainment concierge staff is exceptional. I sent an e-mail off to Sarah a week before we arrived and she read my mind. Within a few minutes, she responded with a list of chic, hip, restaurants that were exactly what we wanted. No sifting through guide books. It was great to work with a New York insider. This hotel does not dissappoint. All of the staff are friendly and professional. The view of the park is charming.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bryant Park Hotel. Everyone is always friendly and courteous. Rooms are clean and spacious enough for a NYC hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't have a good view overlooking the park this time.
During the week, they have a nice happy hour in the Cellar Bar.
The best is the location. Bryant Park is right out front. There are plenty of shops to get breakfast and lunch to picnic in the park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10-year anniversary by taking a long-weekend trip to New York. We wanted something upscale, clean and modern with luxurious amenities that felt like a splurge without shelling out the $800+ that some hotels require for similar features. After extensively researching hotels on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at Bryant Park hotel. The rooms are very modern, clean, and spacious. We were in room 1904 – it was a junior suite with a king bed, had a beautiful terrace overlooking Bryant Park, and a large bathroom with a separate tub and shower. The location of the hotel is perfect – very close to Times Square without being right on top of all the craziness (it is a couple of blocks of the main path). Therefore, it is a bit quieter and more subdued. The hotel staff went above and beyond to cater to us, exceeding our customer service expectations. They contacted us ahead of time to find out if they could help us in any way with trip planning. When they found out we were celebrating our 10-year anniversary, they contacted my husband and set up the room with some special romantic surprises - rose petals on the bed, champagne, a gift basket with cheese and fruit, and a vase with roses. They also had very good security, with a staff person checking room cards before going up the elevators. Room service came 2x per day, one time to tidy up the room and again before evening to turn down the bed and leave chocolates. The room was VERY clean and well stocked with amenities. The shower had amazing water pressure and was always hot (and remained that way). The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and the free Wi fi in the rooms was also very much appreciated. I didn’t eat the food in the hotel, but I did think the room service menu looked great. The only potential limitation of this hotel is that they don’t have a lobby area. It is pretty much just a front desk with a restaurant and a bar (which we didn’t have time to try out). However, we did not need or require a lobby, so this did not bother us. In my opinion, this hotel is an excellent value and we would not hesitate to book reservations at the Bryant Park hotel again – they helped make our anniversary very memorable and we look forward to a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well about an hour after I checked in the front desk sent a bottle of Prosecco to my room, complete with a birthday card and a balloon. What!! Who does that. The staff of the Bryant Park Hotel, that's who. From checkin to checkout the front desk team were all so helpful, friendly, and professional; the room service staff and bellmen helped my boyfriend facilitate a wonderful surprise for me at midnight - every single staff member we interacted with just went above and beyond to accommodate us and provide us with the best experience. They care for their guests 1,000%. Sarah, the concierge,even got us an impossible dinner reservation about an hour before we were to leave. I honestly could go on but I will spare you my gushing.
The rooms are pretty big for NYC, nice bathrooms, great products, super comfortable beds. And they have HBO. Stay here. Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I loved the cleanliness, friendliness of staff, and proximity to almost everything. Opposite Bryant park, free weekend parking (fri, sat -main reason I picked it as its the first time I drove to NYC), and around the corner from the main new York library, and just about a leisurely 10 min walk from times square. Found a great Essex for breakfast cooked in front of you on Madison and 40th. Under $10 breakfast for 2. Also, the subway was very close and several bus routes.

They had Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom.which was gorgeous, wish I had had time to relax in jaccuzzi.

Big queen bed, would have preferred 2 beds but very elegant AND comfortable.

Although they promised wifi would work everywhere it did not in the lobby, and the room phone was choppy and would cut out when we called for anything.

Did not check out the nightclub, resto or healthclub so cannot comment.

Young and hip staff were well trained and most helpful with assisting us with parking on sun, mon and helping us find restos in the neighborhood.

I got a great deal for the Easter long weekend on booking. com when most places in mid manhattan were sold out but it was still way over my budget. But my kid was on deans honor list this year and wanted this trip specifically for his treat. I was determined to make it memorable and so splurged a bit. Noticed that most fellow visitors seemed to be business people rather than tourists. Would definitely stay again if I got a great deal w air and hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Splendia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.