We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this hotel on honeymoon. From the moment we got out of the taxi at the door until the moment we got into the taxi to leave, it was a lovely experience.

John at reception was a complete gentleman. We arrived earlier than we were supposed to but he was happy to let us check-in. He was brilliant. Friendly, helpful and looked after us throughout our stay. Everyone in the hotel was great, but John stood out because he went out of his way to look after us.

The room we stayed in was perfect for us. Overlooking Bryant Park with plenty of space. We were in a junior suite and while I didn't get to see the standard rooms, I can certainly say that the junior suite was more than big enough for us. It was impeccably clean and I did not notice any noise worth commenting on. The room was served every day in a non-instrusive manner and the turn-down service was pleasant to come back to. Check out was easy and friendly (John was on duty again!). The wifi worked and the entertainment system was perfect for the short periods when we used it.

The location is great. There are free drinks for residents during happy hour(!!) and the basement bar feels pretty buzzy.

This is an excellent hotel. I cannot think of anything negative to say at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. This adds a little bit to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    437
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
317
1,223
137
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is pricey & speaks downright fashion, because it is smack across Bryant Park, home of the US Fashion Week. Rooms are clean albeit our bed seemed smaller than the standard sized double bed. Furniture is Swedish functional type (think IKEA). The staff, garbed all in black, are nice & courteous; and the hotel location is so conveniently close to all manhattan must-sees that my daughter & I took only one underground ride for the 3 days we stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bryant Park have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I (both seasoned business and pleasure travelers who travel to NYC regularly) recently stayed at this property for the first time. Our experience could not have been more wonderful. From the exceptionally professional, friendly and high level of service at the door, at registration and throughout the entire hotel, to the truly wonderful view from our room facing historic Bryant Park. The location is perfect for mid-town Manhattan, and everything is within an easy walk or short cab ride. The rooms are modern and immaculate. The price is right, too, and makes it an excellent value. We've already booked our second stay there, and look forward to many more.

Room Tip: If you can, select a room with a view of Bryant Park. It is wonderful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review! I couldn't wait to show your review to our Doormen, Front Desk and Houskeeping; it is so nice to see them get recognized. We can't wait to welcome you back! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the moment my husband and I arrived at the hotel this weekend, we were greeted by a warm, caring, engaging staff. Throughout our stay they were attentive and catered to our every request and gave us personalizwd attention. The front desk manager, Robert, his associate Chase, and Sarah (Entertainment Planner) were over the top accommodating and we could tell that they genuinely enjoyed trying to make our stay a memorable one. They certainly succeeded! Our original reservation that was made by our children for our anniversary was upgraded to a spotlessly clean Jr. Suite, with a view overlooking Bryant Park and the skating rink. The room was modern, beautifully appointed and amenities were well planned. The floors were finished wood, the bed was exceedingly comfortable and the bedding was immaculate!!! The marble bathroom was ultra modern, spotless, and spacious. The hotel location is centrally located for theatre, shopping,museums, Penn Station. As we thanked Robert upon our departure, we told him we couldn't wait to come back. I highly recommend The Bryant Park Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star rating! I am so glad to hear that Robert, Chase and Sarah took such great care of you. I am very lucky to have them on my team. Our Housekeepers also work so hard and it is really nice to see them get recognized. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Brilliant hotel, location and service! Book it and go!
Stayed over NY and had a fantastic time with a helpful recovery bag for the next day containing a bloody Mary and aspirin! Excellent location overlooking Bryant Park and the back of the NYC Central library. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star rating and complimentary words about our hotel! We wish you could have stayed with us longer as well. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come join us again soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location ...Right next to Bryant Park. Hotel is beautiful. Most rooms are very spacious. There is bar located downstairs

The attached restaurant is called KOI. It's one of NY's best sushi spots. The food is delicious.

There is no pool or spa if that's important.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I, former long-time New Yorkers, spent last weekend at the Bryant Park Hotel and were very happy with our experience. The hotel is an easy walk from Grand Central and is centrally-located for theater, uptown shopping and museums. Service is excellent -- ranging from Chase at the front desk who sent up a nice treat after learning that this was my wife's birthday weekend -- to the thoughtful room attendants and helpful doormen. We had a wonderful suite on a high floor overlooking the skating rink. The rate dropped 3 times from when I booked and by calling in each time we were able to save enough to have several exceptional meals in town. You can't go wrong for quality and value here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Happy Birthday once again to your wife and thank you for taking the time to share your experience . It sounds like you had an amazing time with us. I really appreciate your kind remarks about Chase as well; we are so thrilled to have him on our team. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.