We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 451 hotels in New York City
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Quality Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family (myself, my wife and 4 children) just spent a nice 3 days at the Bryant Park Hotel following Christmas. With a traveling party of that size it is not easy to find NYC hotels as accommodating as the Bryant Park was in making the stay work with 2 connecting rooms during a holiday. Patrick in direct reservations went out of his way to get this done and he should be commended for his efforts. We have stayed at a lot of high end properties in NYC and none have handled it with more ease and flexibility than the Bryant Park Hotel. From John and Eric greeting us at the door and getting our bags to the rooms to Jennifer at the concierge desk making sure all our unrealistic dinner plans were satisfied, the staff at the hotel are top notch. As an added bonus, the shower and water pressure is excellent. My kids fought to get into the shower! This is a quality hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,541
    370
    72
    27
    22
See reviews for
247
1003
112
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am fortunate having stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. Bryant Park Hotel is right up with the other top hotels. Location is perfect, right in the middle of mid-town close to everything. The positive experience started at check in with Felix, Assistant Director of the Front Desk, who was very helpful and totally service oriented. The room was huge with a terrace and view of Bryant Park and Time Square. Modern room with big bathroom with shower and separate tub. Service was excellent, with room service orders delivered perfectly. All of the staff was very friendly, efficient and totally focused on customer service. One day returning to the hotel we mentioned to the elevator man we were cold, and without asking a pot of hot tea was delivered to room a few minutes after we arrived. A hotel with great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A quiet and nice place in manhattan.We had a nice queen size room for 7 nights and really felt at home with the advanced privacy system and discreet but nice and heplful staff. Its worth its price for a Midtown hotel. Location is perfect, close to Time square, subway,and nearly anything. This nice building facing the park has a lot of rooms to accomodate to your request.We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel largely on Trip Advisor recommendations and because of its location. It was worth paying a bit more for a room with a view as I could spend hours watching the ice skaters in Bryant Park! We were visiting New York to celebrate my 50th birthday and I did wonder when we checked in if the hotel was a bit "young and trendy" for us, as both staff and clientele seemed very young and trendy!! However, beautiful and chic as they are, all the staff were charming, friendly and efficient. The room was great (very white, modern and chic) and I can honestly say that the bathroom was one of the best I've experienced, with truly the most powerful shower EVER - I swear I'm 2 inches shorter now!! We loved Happy Hour in the Cellar Bar - but boy does it get busy quickly! My only criticism of the hotel is that it doesn't have a foyer/reception area (and doesn't have the space to have one) but that's not really a problem, more an observation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked here from the recommendations on trip advisor after a long search and are very thankful we did. If we go back to New York then there will be no search again, we will stay here. As many other reviewers have said, it's in a great location for the Empire State, Rockefella centre and Broadway/Times Square. We also walked to and from central park from the hotel at a leisurely pace on Christmas day. For those more in a hurry, the subway is not far away either.

The rooms were big and comfy and bathrooms spacious. Really comfy bed too with nice fluffy pillows. Nice little touches with chocolates and newspaper hanging on the door every morning.

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge service who recommended and reserved a great steakhouse whilst we were there. Nothing epitomised the staff though more than the service we received even before we stayed. As we were staying over Christmas we were unsure what would be open on Christmas day for dinner. We emailed he hotel a month before our visit and they recommended about 10 within walking disance of the hotel together with links to the respective websites. They asked us to pick out two or three which appealed the most and they did the rest. Really was a very positive first experience of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When I decided to propose to my Girlfriend in NYC I wanted a hotel that had elegance, charm, and non - traditional features without being to far fetch in price. The Bryant Park Hotel didn't disappoint not even a bit? From the time I made the reservations the hotel staff was one step ahead of me, after we left for the day for the big proposal, Sarah set up our room with our desired rose pedals and a bottle of champagne ................when we opened the door, we were dumbfounded as we saw the room.. my expectations were exceeded ... Elegance and charm was what we got. ........the room was downright gorgeous.

We had the most memorable experience at the Hotel, really, the entire staff was unbelievable!

Cheers to John who was giving the task of making sure the room was set up...... Sarah who did the work assured me not to worry. Eric who told me via email two weeks before the big day not to worry...hope i didn't leave anyone out

The view from the room was amazing....can't say enough.

We will recommend to anyone the Bryant Park Hotel...extraordinary, fun, pleasant we loved it.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. After a long flight with delays and more delays arrived at the hotel exhausted. However the warm and friendly welcomer soon had us in holiday mode. Quickly unpacking, shower, change of clothes and off to Happy Hour in the Cellar bar. What a way to start, nice atmosphere and surrounding, scantily clad waitresses, we ended up going into happy hour most nights (stayed here for 7 nights). A lot of reviews mentioned a young crowd but we found during happy hour mostly hotels guests mostly 30 - 60 yrs old. Crowd later at night younger but we went out at night. Lovely Christmas Market across the street with its own ice rink. If you get chance visit the Lobby on the 25th floor, best view of the Empire State building in the city.
Hotel has large rooms with large bathrooms and has all facilities you need (beside a kettle which is norm for USA but we took our own). Quality products used in the bathroom and nightly turn down with chocolates on pillows nice touches. Large flat screen TV, quality sound systems (Bose) and hairdryer in bathroom all standard.
The staff at this Hotel are excellent from the first minute of entering the hotel you know that the emphasis on service is great. Chase booked us in giving us all the information we required and always had a friendly hello when passing. The hall staff are very friendly and always polite, opening doors and calling lifts, accompanied by a friendly smile.

The location is also excellent being 2 mins from the subway but also close enough to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre and Empire State Building to walk (all within 10 mins). We stayed at this hotel during Christmas and Christmas in New York is special enough by itself but this hotel was the icing on the cake and made our stay even more special. A big thank you to all the staff and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York and will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.