We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel in NYC in which we have EVER stayed! Great staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 451 hotels in New York City
Cameron, NC, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST hotel in NYC in which we have EVER stayed! Great staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose the BPH based on location and availability for our quick unplanned trip to NYC. And we are SO happy we did! The staff were wonderful, they helped my husband have flowers in the room upon arrival for a surprise for me and they were gorgeous. The room was quite spacious and fresh with a wonderful view of the library and Bryant Park. An easy walk to public transport including the subway and Time's Square. Centrally located amid the bustle of the city without the noise. Eric at the front desk was wonderful as were the doormen and other staff. They remembered our names the first time and made you feel at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants quality and a modern/warm place to call home when away from home. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are quiet with none of the street noise one would expect. The corner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,537
    370
    72
    27
    22
See reviews for
246
1001
112
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I spent Saturday night at the hotel and had a terrific stay. Every staff person was professional and very courteous. When the front desk learned we were celebrating a birthday, they upgraded us to a great room with a terrace and view of the park and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us later in the afternoon. Thanks again, Chase! We stayed in a King jr suite. It was exceptionally clean and we loved the hardwood floors - much better than hotel carpeting...we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husbant, our eight year old son and I went to New York for the weekend to meet our friends. We got a good deal from Hotel Tonight for Bryant Park Hotel. Parking is free at this hotel for the weekend. So this was one of the reasons we opt for this hotel and then the location! The location was really perfect, just two blocks from times square,and an easy walk to Rockefeller Center. The Vale Service was perfect, they are realy friendly, and helpfull. Also at the front desk, we were warned that beacuse we had booked from hotel tonight there would only one bed, which we already read while buying this room, but they were kind enough to give us a room with a king bed. We didn't have any problem with fitting inside the bed with our son, because we were only going to spend one night. The room size was I think bigger than you would find in Manhattan. Bathroom had both shower and a bathtub, which were spotless. The room, the bed everthing was so clean!! In the future if I could get a good price, I wouldn't seek a different hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor facing other buildings, but there was no noise. And the size of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned after spending a fantastic week in the Bryant Park.We arrived early not expecting to be able to check into our room, but it was ready early. We were checked in quickly, the staff were very helpful. Each day when we came back to our room it was cleaned & tidied perfectly. We enjoyed the happy hour for guests in the cellar bar each evening, where guests have complimentary drinks for an hour. Concierge was also very helpful finding places to eat as well as booking transport for our return to the airport.
We enjoyed our stay very much, we will be back.

Room Tip: Park view rooms, give you a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the Bryant Park several years ago, during fashion week. We stay there because we love the location, and because the rooms and the maid service are virtually flawless, but prior to this, we never had the opportunity to really interact with the staff.

I assure you, this won't happen again. We did quite a lot of work with Sarah Mindlin, and she was absolutely great. Never did you feel that you were putting on her, she, as well as Brian and everyone else at the front desk, always went out of their way to help.

Even the most menial tasks were performed with an incredibly strong work ethic and a sincere desire to make their guests as happy as possible.

In today's day and age where mediocre is the new excellent, these guys really understand the meaning of "customer service." All I can say is -- we'll be back -- and soon. Stay at the Bryant Park hotel -- sure, it may be a few pennies more, but this is one of those "you get what you pay for" experiences. Plus... you deserve it.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks more to overlook Bryant Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Where to start? This was a business trip so fortunately once again I was not footing the bill - around $500/night, goodness me - is that the going rate for a decent hotel in mid-town Manhattan these days? No recessionary gloom here!.

But if you are paying for yourself, it is extremely pricey (unless you can negotiate a deal, but even at $300/night you have to ask yourself if it's value for money). The positives outweigh the negatives and they are:

* very central, good location, Bryant Park just outside the front door: all the smackheads of way back have been cleared out, very safe, but it's more a 'square' than a 'park'
* excellent beds, very good night's sleep
* excellent bathroom - a proper sized bath, unlike most in the US which seem to be constructed for children, Molton & Brown accoutrements, plentiful hot water, well decorated and clean
* efficient registration desk, helpful staff (all unimaginably young, 'cool', trendy in that NYC fashion) and polite

Can't comment on the food (ate outside) but the mini-bar prices are absurd, even by NYC standards, and not everyone might take to the assorted (but discretely placed) romantic 'aids'.

The hip design is faintly irritating. Tiny table to work - cluttered with the usual hotel junk publications - and quite short of electric sockets. Small uncomfortable chairs which might be 'cool' but are not great to sit on and try to work at for hours. Worst of all an overhead light over the table which unless you watch out you will constantly bang your head on.

So generally, all's well here except for prices ($8 for a bottle of water? That's just ridiculous even by NYC standards: no free water except from the sink - don't even think about alcohol, $12 for a gin, $28 for half a bottle of wine, plus taxes of course) and as most travellers here are probably on expense accounts, who cares? Except that companies ought to care about paying inflated prices for this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went this Thanksgiving to see the Macy's Day parade which was on my bucket list.
My wonderful and generous sister, Rena , gave it to me for my birthday present.
The hotel is across from Bryant Park a beautiful place.
The staff was kind and so helpful especially Sarah and Jennifer who worked tirelessly
to get us tickets to see the Rockettes. Our room was clean and comfortable with many little extras. We can't wait to return there and see our Bryant Park Hotel family again,
Many thanks to all the staff for a job well done.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.