We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel! Friendly staff, the rooms had so much to offer. small because it is NYC but great use of space big closets, sound machine, ipod dock, excellent views!! The best shower i ever had in a hotel! Will stay here again. Perfect location. Very clean, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,005
    468
    91
    29
    24
See reviews for
345
1,328
148
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Interlochen
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stay at the Beyant Park 2-3 times per year, at least. The location is terrific for me, in the middle of Manhattan, close to everything. The staff is friendly and most have been there for several years. Rooms are spotless and while a bit Euro-spartan and the platform bed a little hard the bathrooms are wonderful. Most rooms I stay in are ample by NY standards, some large. While the view of the park and skyline are great, rooms in the back are much quieter, and you can look up and see the top of the Empire State building. It's a class act and so steady I really don't want to look anywhere else! Prices can be high at some times of year although better now that fashion week has moved to Lincoln Center.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The awesome staff made my family feel like we were the only guests in the hotel. From the excellent front desk, concierge, valet, and bell service to the cupcakes and balloons left in our room for our daughter, everything was done a cut above the rest. A definite must stay in New York!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'll start off with what I wasn't crazy about: red and black theme, "secret service" guys with little headsets, bed was really itchy, and the badly scratched up pergo wood floors in our room. That's it. But you have so many GREAT things at this hotel. In the hotel: they have really nice housekeeping folks that smile at you when you cross them in a hall, which is a common decency and courtesy people don't do enough of, social drinks (free wells, wines, and such) between 5-6 p that comes with a small bowl of popcorn, nuts, and dried cranberries (yum!! with my pinot noir), personally - placed a request because of a small special occasion and they recognized it and made sure we knew that they knew that we knew..., and of course --- a deal breaker for some because hotels are stupid cheap to not allow this --- free WIFI! Now for more practical application: you're 2 streets down from the Grand Central Station, you have a subway access to B,D (I think) on your corner, there's Duane Reed or CVS if you cut yourself, you have multiple munch areas including Pain Quotidien (awesome breakfast)/ Pax (to go yums)/McDs & Pizza (for late night munchies) off 1 street down, the Public Library is RIGHT there, and of course the Bryant Park (with ice skating and tons of holiday store this time of year). If you wanna see your tourist palls, WALK to times square - it's no more than 5 mins. My other friends booked different hotels, that I think were pretty good, but not as good as the price, location, and really sincere service of these guys; that's why I would even say this was better than Andaz and Intercontinental.

Room Tip: If you want a terrace, there's only 2 I know of on 14th floor - try to take it on warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ryan at The front desk greeted us with a friendly smile. We were check them promptly and enjoy the great location in New York. This is our third visit and each visit has been enjoyable. The skating rink across the street in Bryant Park is always fun to watch.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Been there in July end and have no complaints at all about the hotel.
Front desk staff was really excellent, meaning fast service and concerned about offering the best experience.
Hotel location is one of the best in town, in front of Bryant Park which is a small and cozy place to relax and watch people going by. For those who stay connected, park offers free wifi. Subway is right beside as well as 5th Av. and within a very short distance to Times Square. Also close to the hotel there is a very nice cafe, called Lilly O'Brien, worth to stop by. Since hotel is located in mid town and subway is right there, it's very convenient to either go up or down.
Deluxe Queen room is ok, very clean, nice bathroom, upper floor. Room size is not that large, but ok considering you spend most of the days outside the hotel. Talking again about front desk, during our 2nd stay we received an upgrade and wow that made a big difference.
Another good thing is the Late Bites, which is basically a room service from 11pm to 6am, serving several sides.
Hotel is not cheap, but it's a very safe choice if you're looking for a modern hotel, outstanding location and pleasant and efficient service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a short and sweet review. Excellent location. Pleasant staff. Crumbs birthday cupcakes in room. Luxury bathroom. Doorman. Funky atmosphere. Sad to have only stayed one night. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,003 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,146 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.