We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding-Night Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Bryant Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Bryant Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 457 Hotels in New York City
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding-Night Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I got married at Bryant Park Grill and that included the bridal suite at Bryant Park Grill for the night of the wedding. Since we live in NYC and didn't plan on going on a honeymoon right away, it was great to spend the night of our wedding at a hotel instead of going straight home. The hotel allowed us to check in 2 hours early so my bridesmaids and family could start getting ready and hang out in the suite before the wedding. We ordered delivery from a local reastaurant around 3:30am and a hotel security guard accompanied the delivery guy up to the suite, which made us feel secure. When we checked out of the room, bellhops were very helping in getting all our bags, gifts, etc. out of the suite and into a taxi.

The room was beautiful, spacious, and extremely clean, and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. The views overlooking the park were awesome despite the rain. They provide great bath products and excellent service. Their events staff was extremely helpful in coordinating our guests from out of town and providing them with the wedding info materials I created. It's a very modern hotel on the inside, especially considering it's older facade. The only complaint we have is that the hotel would not confirm ahead of time that we could check into the hotel early - they wanted us to book the room for the night before. But when we called day-of they were very nice in agreeing to make sure the room was ready several hours early.

We had an excellent stay, as did our friends and family, and wouldn't hesitate to do it all over again! The hotel is in a great location - and rooms with views of the park are great!

Room Tip: rooms with views of the park are excellent - especially the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    394
    80
    27
    23
See reviews for
288
1,109
127
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

You couldn't ask for a more central or accessible location in the heart of Manhattan. We stayed on a summer day and it was great having access to the park. My main priority in a city hotel is cleanliness, and this place fit the bill perfectly. It was spotless and I felt at ease in the room. Our 'entry-level' room was on the small side, but hey - that's Manhattan prime real estate. The bathroom was simply gorgeous and perfect (and surprisingly spacious in ratio to the room). The view from our room was so-so (not too much visibility of the park), but again, we are in prime Manhattan territory right there. I loved the noise machine (yay for crickets). All staff members were friendly and pleasant. The elevators were very speedy and easy. My only recommendation to the hotel would be to offer a more firm pillow option. I am sure that the pillows in the room were deluxe in nature, but for those used to sleeping on firmer pillows, it could be a bit difficult. I would still feel good about coming here again, but would feel even better with an expanded pillow option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August. I had locked all my valuables away, apart from my blackberry, which I foolishly left on the table. I went for a walk and when I came back the blackberry had gone. I had left a 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but somebody had come in and shut the curtains. Initially, I thought I must've repacked the thing into my case, so it was only when I got to my next hotel and unpacked fully that I realised that the phone was gone.
I've stayed at the Bryant Park several times in the past and found it to be a pleasant hotel in a convenient location. However, this experience has definitely left a bad taste in my mouth. In conclusion: stay here if you like the other features, but please take my advice and make use of the safe in your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Service at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
We take our guest comments very seriously especially when it is in regards to guests security. All doors in the hotel automatically lock once you close the door, when you left for your run most likely a housekeeper provided turn down service. We have security measures in place that allow us to know exactly who entered your room. Our housekeepers have been with us for years and come across many valuable items in the room and we have never had an issue with a claim of a stolen item. In many cases guests first assume an item was stolen and later find the item and call us back to apologize. These allegations are very serious and I hope you will give me the opportunity to investigate this further. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend, it's not the cheapest but it is definitely the best placed. Everything you need is a short walk away.

It is the perfect location for a shopping weekend with modern quirky but very comfortable rooms. The square literally on your doorstep is a hive of activity and interet from ice skating to restaurants and cafes to curio shops.

Thoroughly recommended on location alone

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I had a great stay at the Bryant Park Hotel recently. I can't imagine a better location in NYC...extremely convenient to everything we wanted to see. We had a Jr. suite overlooking Bryant Park and the NYC Library. Very spacious and immaculate. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Can't recommend it highly enough...we'll come back!
.

Room Tip: Request a Jr. suite overlooking the park...some have terraces...worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Gregory Madison_WI, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your room as well as the view. I also appreciate your nice comments about the staff. I hope you come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I went to NY at the end of July coming from TO. We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted it to be a special long weekend. Based on reviews online we decided to try Bryant Park Hotel. We loved this hotel! Nicole was so pleasant checking us in (and out). Felix considerately upgraded us making things all the more special. Thank you! Thanks also Darren Sumner for the complimentary wine sent to our room. All the staff were gracious and accomodating. The room and bathroom was immaculate. Excellent turn down service and perfect view of the park! Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments about Nicole, Felix, Housekeeping and myself. Everyone was very touched that you remembered their names. I am very happy that they had such a positive impact on your stay and were able to make your Anniversary so special! I hope you back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I've been traveling to New York City for business for many years and have stayed at several other properties. The Bryant Park Hotel is one of, if not THE best hotel accommodation for not only my business needs but personal as well.
The staff at Bryant Park is very well trained and provide outstanding customer care. Adolfo Ramirez is increditable about making sure his guests are well taken care of. Kelly Kato, is one of the best Events Corrdinators I've worked with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Dennis H, thank you for your review and for recognizing Adolfo and kelly, They are tremendous assets to us in our sales department and it's not that often that they get the recognition they deserve. We all hope to see you back real soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC’s Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon – Fri from 5 –6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms, impeccable service and complimentary valet parking Friday and Saturday nights, The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bryant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.