We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato outside of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amorino

Amorino
60 University Pl, (between 10th St & 11th St), New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)
212-253-5599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 11,577 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best gelato outside of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The lines say
It all! Gelato at its finest. Fresh ingredients compliment the refined atmosphere as the servers painstakingly make tulip shaped cones or cups with one or multiple flavors. Want a taste of a new flavor? No problem. My favorites are coffee and salted pistachio but I can always go for the mango and vanilla or the... Don't get me started--- Amorino is addictive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a must try for anyone who has never had gelato (or anyone who has!) The workers are very nice, friendly, and willing to answer your questions. Since it is real Italian gelato with imported ingredients, it is a it pricey ($5 for a small cup or cone) but they do fill it as much as they can. You can get as many flavors as you want in your single serving, so I chose Coffee, Amaretto, and Vanilla Bean. The Coffee was amazing but very strong and kind of bitter (like black coffee!) but still delicious. The Amaretto was yummy but don't get a lot of it (it's really sweet). And the VANILLA! Oh, it was so fresh and yummy. Nice seating and wonderful gelato.

PS-You can sample six flavors before buying and they have waffles and crepes too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gelato WoW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was 100 degrees outside, so a normal dinner was not appealing. Amorino looked cute, so we went in. They had more flavors than you can imagine. The staff was friendly and patient and helpful. All the taste tests you want. I had cherry and my daughter had what she described as nutella ice cream. I think the real names were in Italian. My daughter also had a granita, it was strongly flavored and nicely tart. I had the best earl grey tea I ever had. It was Harney and sons.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amorino...Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Being of Italian decent and having travelled throughout Italy, I feel I am somewhat of a gelato snob. When searching for a good gelato in New York I thought I'd use my trip advisor to get me to a great gelateria in New York. I was in the area so I thought I would take a shot at Amorino on E 10th Street and what a choice I made! I could tell right from the start that it was going to be an excellent experience from the fact that the people serving me were straight from Italia. After some polite conversation in Italian with the server, she was from Vicenza in the Venice area, I decided on my favourite flavour of all to put Amorino's gelato to the test. The nocciola (hazelnut) gelato was pretty much the best that I had ever had and that includes anywhere in Italy. Such a rich flavour with absolutely perfect texture. They even designed my cone to look like a rose! I will definitely take the long walk from Midtown to enjoy it again and I think all who come to New York should do the same. Grande gelato...grandissimo!! Bravo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An absolute delight, gourmet gelato at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a find.

Great decor, amazing gelato's and great value (especially I'd you opt for the all you can eat option!).

If you're in the west village you have to try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amorino also viewed

 

Been to Amorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amorino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.