We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato outside of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amorino

Amorino
60 University Pl, (between 10th St & 11th St), New York City, NY 10003 (Greenwich Village)
212-253-5599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 343 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best gelato outside of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The lines say
It all! Gelato at its finest. Fresh ingredients compliment the refined atmosphere as the servers painstakingly make tulip shaped cones or cups with one or multiple flavors. Want a taste of a new flavor? No problem. My favorites are coffee and salted pistachio but I can always go for the mango and vanilla or the... Don't get me started--- Amorino is addictive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patricesamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bay Area Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a must try for anyone who has never had gelato (or anyone who has!) The workers are very nice, friendly, and willing to answer your questions. Since it is real Italian gelato with imported ingredients, it is a it pricey ($5 for a small cup or cone) but they do fill it as much as they can. You can get as many flavors as you want in your single serving, so I chose Coffee, Amaretto, and Vanilla Bean. The Coffee was amazing but very strong and kind of bitter (like black coffee!) but still delicious. The Amaretto was yummy but don't get a lot of it (it's really sweet). And the VANILLA! Oh, it was so fresh and yummy. Nice seating and wonderful gelato.

PS-You can sample six flavors before buying and they have waffles and crepes too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gelato WoW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was 100 degrees outside, so a normal dinner was not appealing. Amorino looked cute, so we went in. They had more flavors than you can imagine. The staff was friendly and patient and helpful. All the taste tests you want. I had cherry and my daughter had what she described as nutella ice cream. I think the real names were in Italian. My daughter also had a granita, it was strongly flavored and nicely tart. I had the best earl grey tea I ever had. It was Harney and sons.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nhedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amorino...Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Being of Italian decent and having travelled throughout Italy, I feel I am somewhat of a gelato snob. When searching for a good gelato in New York I thought I'd use my trip advisor to get me to a great gelateria in New York. I was in the area so I thought I would take a shot at Amorino on E 10th Street and what a choice I made! I could tell right from the start that it was going to be an excellent experience from the fact that the people serving me were straight from Italia. After some polite conversation in Italian with the server, she was from Vicenza in the Venice area, I decided on my favourite flavour of all to put Amorino's gelato to the test. The nocciola (hazelnut) gelato was pretty much the best that I had ever had and that includes anywhere in Italy. Such a rich flavour with absolutely perfect texture. They even designed my cone to look like a rose! I will definitely take the long walk from Midtown to enjoy it again and I think all who come to New York should do the same. Grande gelato...grandissimo!! Bravo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aaronm0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An absolute delight, gourmet gelato at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

What a find.

Great decor, amazing gelato's and great value (especially I'd you opt for the all you can eat option!).

If you're in the west village you have to try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hicksonnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amorino also viewed

 

Been to Amorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing