We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel with Good Sized Rooms (for New York City)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chandler to your Saves list
Hotel Chandler
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Miracle on 31st Street!
Ranked #66 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small Hotel with Good Sized Rooms (for New York City)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I got a room in the newer section of the hotel and will definitely plan to stay here again if I need to be in the Flatiron or Murray Hill areas of NYC. Clean room, comfortable bed, desk, safe, Frette linens, Molton Brown soaps and lotions, free WiFi and a strong signal, good shower. Nice bar too. The restaurant is a bit over the top for me, but the bar and room service menus have a turkey club and a burger.

Room Tip: Interior rooms have no view but are quieter, and the views are not much from this hotel anyway. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    603
    130
    46
    21
See reviews for
262
771
119
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff make this hotel a wonderful option for accommodation in NY. They are all professionals. Very polite & friendly. The location (Midtown) is a plus. Just wonderful. The room was more comfortable than other hotel rooms we had stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here some years ago and given the location and service received before, it was an obvious choice this time, and, if am ever lucky enough to be able to go back to New York it will be again. All the staff we met were very friendly specially Grant one of the bar men.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel Chandler is a member of the SLH group and rightly so. This small boutique hotel is luxurious, well located and the customer service is excellent. I have a wonderful suite (room 333) with has a large King bed and a separate lounge area, two televisions and is very comfortable (although there is no view ). The bed is extremely comfortable and the room oozes luxury. The bath amenities are Molton Brown - Lovely!
My check-in was extremely efficient and the service was excellent. The Manager met me and welcomed me personally to the Hotel - a great touch. The breakfast is very nice and once again, the staff and the service is excellent. The location of this hotel is almost on the corner on Fifth avenue and about 300 metres from the Empire State Building, which is very very convenient.
Hotel Chandler provides excellent accommodation, service, meals and location. I can't fault a thing. Even the price is very reasonable. This will be 'my' Hotel when in New York and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rear facing rooms have no view but are very quiet as opposed to a front facing view which may ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful front desk and concierge staff. Great lobby area too. The room and bathroom were a little tight but the bed was comfy. Loved the sweet chocolates that were left in the room when I arrived. Wish they would stock soy milk for those of us that do not tolerate dairy. I will definitely go back again on my next business trip ... hopefully this time they will have soy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for a period of 2 weeks at this hotel. Very nice and charming! Clean, Very good Location! You can go either down town or uptown from here by foot! Even if the rooms are not the biggest in New York, they are very comfortable and well equipped with all the amenities somebody would expect from this type of hotel. The free internet is a big plus! Extremely friendly and professional staff! We highly recommend this hotel! This hotel gives you a place of rest within the busy city centre of New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had a great experience. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Chocolate on the pillows and coffee/tea in the lobby were welcome bonuses, as was the library/reading room off the lobby. I found a great book!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Recent remodeling and upgrading included the addition of JUNI a fine dining restaurant by 2 Michelin rated Chef Shaun Hergatt. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chandler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.