We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chandler to your Saves list
Hotel Chandler
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Miracle on 31st Street!
Ranked #64 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well appointed room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a great hotel at a good price. All the staff was helpful and nice. The room is small but has all that you need, lots of outlets which are important to me. The neighborhood is good but not great for shopping. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    603
    130
    46
    21
See reviews for
262
771
119
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel chandler is fantastically placed for your visit to New York. The hotel was clean and staff were really helpful. The only issue we had was a noisy air con unite which also did not work that we'll (at night room was over 80 degrees)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and I am sorry about the air conditioner issue in your room!

The location is a bonus - although I have nothing to do with that! It was amazing that our owner knew 15 years ago, when New York was a very different place that this would eventually become a popular location! He certainly had foresight!

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Chandler soon!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm not easily pleased when it comes to Hotels and restaurants and it's hard to find good hotels in NY. On my previous visit I stayed in a trendy hotel on east 27th and Maddison which was buzzy and fun but expensive and the rooms were dull with pretty basic facilities and a low level of comfort.
This trip I traveled with my wife and 18yr old daughter and we chose the Chandler from the reviews we read. We had an executive suite that comprised of two rooms with a door between the two. The living room area had a sofa bed that the staff made up each night. The rooms were comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and furnished. Both rooms had a tv. Both beds were comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was clean with Molton Brown products and had a shower that actually didn't soak the room.. top marks for that for sure! The windows in the rooms can be opened as well which we like because we can get some fresh air as hate airless modern rooms
All the staff were friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the local area and always happy to help. There is tea and coffee available in the lobby 24hrs and it's decent. There's a quiet lounge area to sit and read or just relax in and a small restaurant for breakfast which is a bit pricey at $16 but there are plenty of choices of good cafes within five mins of the hotel anyway as this is New York and there's always a Starbucks within two blocks of anywhere ha ha.
This is not a hotel with a buzzy reception and lots going on but it's a well run, friendly boutique hotel in a quiet street with friendly helpful staff but we like quiet places and is a peaceful city centre retreat after a day walking the streets of a big noisy city. If you haven't been to NY before then this a great location in the centre of everything and is literally five mins walk to the empire state or Times Square. Give it a try!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor so was good and quiet but not sure what the lower floors would be like but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel Chandler was our second choice. We'd originally booked into a property on the Lower East Side for the previous weekend but then Hurricane Sandy changed all that. Fortunately, as I was scrambling for a new hotel for my family, a friend of mine happened to be staying at Hotel Chandler. We booked based on his recommendation.

We arrived early on Friday, well before check in time. The staff stowed our luggage and let us help ourselves to bagels, smoked salmon and croissants before we ventured out in the city.

We had a suite on the fifth floor. Absolutely no view but we never really needed one. When we were in our room it was for napping, sleeping or bathing so being away from the street was a plus. Beds were comfy. My daughter loved her hide-a-bed and being able to see the Family Channel on her own TV. Our bathroom was clean with nice toiletries and loads of hot water.

The staff was great. Helping out with new batteries for the remote controls, suggesting restaurants, flagging cabs and even getting my daughter into the fitness room when it seemed like not seeing it would ruin her whole trip.

With everything New Yorkers had to deal with in the wake of Sandy, you'd think the staff might have had good reason to be somewhat frazzled but everyone was friendly and professional. A big thank you to everyone at Hotel Chandler for making our stay during a difficult time for the city so wonderful.

Room Tip: The suite was really spacious. We had to go out our way trip over each other and our luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's not a bad hotel, and location is ok (although in NY that very much depends on where you want to be!) Rooms are reasonable and very comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. But there was no feeling of homeliness or warmth, the place felt dead (even though it was nearly full) - as a solo traveler it didn't inspire, and getting a room at the back didn't help much. And the shower - really bad design! You have to be right under the shower head before you can turn it on, so of course you are always going to get a blast of cold water! It's a small point but really annoying! It's no better or worse than similar hotels in the area, but could do with some life injected into it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very comfortable rooms, great beds, sockets everywhere, free wifi, lots of light (that never happens in NY), fluffy robes, great toiletries. Staff are amazing. I had to move rooms twice due to construction noise in the first room & heat not working in the second room. These things happen - it's all a question of how the staff deals with it, and they were amazing. They dealt with it quickly & apologetically, and comped me breakfast. What's more, the waiter at breakfast knew that my breakfast was comped before i told him - not a given.
Excellent location, a block & a half from all the subways around Macy's & Penn Station, easy to go anywhere. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service was incredible, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location couldn't be better. We really enjoyed spending time in the library - it was comfortable, quiet and nicely designed. They have Molton Brown amenities, which are great and the showers are really big ( a true luxury in NYC).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Recent remodeling and upgrading included the addition of JUNI a fine dining restaurant by 2 Michelin rated Chef Shaun Hergatt. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chandler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.