We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trendy Philippe Stark inspired mid town Boutique hotel well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hudson Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hudson Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #358 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Trendy Philippe Stark inspired mid town Boutique hotel well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hudson hotel suited our requirements very well. Standard rooms are clean but small so we upgraded to studio grade to provide more space and comfort. The Hudson staff were very helpful in this respect.

Room Tip: Get a studio room rather than a standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    1,042
    640
    373
    274
See reviews for
297
1,082
190
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had booked this hotel before reading most reviews on trip advisor and almost didn't go to this hotel as a result.

I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the hotel as I was expecting really really really tiny rooms with no space what so ever and not totally clean.

The room was small, the bed does take up most of the space. However it was a king size bed and the room was clean and comfortable.

The bathroom was small but functional and again clean with a good shower.

The thing you have to remember when visiting New York is that your room is going to be used for sleeping and getting ready to go out. So a clean comfortable bed and bathroom is ideal. The hotel is ideally located to get to many places by walking. Central Park 5 mins and time square 20mins walk.

The hotel staff were pretty friendly, apart from the bar staff who seem to not want your business. There are four bars in the hotel and the atmosphere is buzzing! However the drinks are extortionate. We paid $34 for 2 small drinks... We didn't buy another drink at the hotel and decided to spend our money in better places.

All in all good location and better then the reviews suggest.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I expect New York hotel rooms to be small, but not this small. In the bathroom you just about had to stand on the toilet to get into the shower. The bath in our room was chipped and stained. The was no room for a second suitcase. Lack of drawers to unpack. Bed sqeaked even when only sitting on it. Pillows hard and uncomfortable. Long confusing corridors - we would have been fried if there was a fire. The prices of food and drink was phenomenal. Best to visit local deli. The only plus is the location.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is an excellent hotel. It is very well located at the 58th near the Central Park, subway stations, restaurants. I have had some reviews stating that the room is small. But it is not, it is perfect. If is a very well organized person it will fit your needs! I really recommend!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonFrontOffice, Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear elis_tww,

Thank you for this fantastic review. We love the word "Excellent" since we strive to provide the best experience to our guests.

We look forward to have you back soon!

Best,

Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
gul.turkmenoglu@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you're looking for a funky boutique-style hotel in a great location (next to Central Park) with a comfy bed and reasonable price then this is the place for you.

The rooms are small and the bathrooms even more so, but they're comfortable and have good amenities. Great for a couple of nights in the city.

There's a great bar with food on the lobby floor along with an outside area, and a roof-top bar which we actually didn't manage to get to.

The concierge is very helpful, so be sure to call/ chat to them about anything you're looking for.

Cons: rooms are very small with limited space. Drinks and food prices are high. The corridors do look rather used now and I noticed some drinks glasses were left outside a room for a day before being cleared away.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonFrontOffice, Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jaime M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your description about our hotel is perfect! We are a unique boutique hotel and very proud with the overall experience that we provide to our guests. I'll certainly pass your comments about the glasses to the related departments.
We do have different category of rooms that vary in size. In the future, please contact me directly so I can personally assist with your reservation and selection of your room.

Best,
Alek Milovanovic
Guest Experience Manager
aleksandar.milovanovic@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was extremely friendly and service oriented. Hotel has a modern, trendy vibe. Beautiful common spaces. Tho' it is difficult to see them because it is so dark...really, turn up the.ights a little! Room was really small, especially the bathroom. Again, the lighting was poor. Room was very clean. I love that there is no carpeting. Bed was comfortable and shower had a plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonFrontOffice, Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Anabelle,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you loved our modern look and friendly service. Please give us a call on your next stay, we do have different category of rooms that are larger and we can certainly provide more lighting in the room.

Best,

Jonathan Knudsen
Director of Rooms
jonathan.knudsen@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great Location, friendly staff, good bfast options, however a few points that need attention, housekeeping must improve as a lot of times i felt the room was not cleaned as per standards, Limited room service is a downer and also the elevators especially in the mornings can be a drain on your patience. But i was happy overall.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonFrontOffice, Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear JairamV,

Thank you for choosing HUDSON during your trip to New York and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that your overall stay was a pleasant one.
We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback that will allow us to focus on our areas of improvement such as housekeeping.

Best,

Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
gul.turkmenoglu@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Splendia, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.