We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky friendly fun and well located! Stay again in a New York minute!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hudson Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hudson Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #355 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Funky friendly fun and well located! Stay again in a New York minute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A well travelled friend recommend this hotel and I was very happy yo stay there. Stayed in both twin and studio double room over 3 nights, check in and reception friendly and informative, Nicole? Great source of info of the city when I asked lots of stupid tourist questions. Reception interesting and cool place to chill out. Room nice, lots of space, great for 2 friends sharing as little area near door for changing, all good with bathroom etc.
The studio room had a white sofa in it, both rooms have an empty mini fridge but barman was happy to open my wine bottle and give me two glasses!
The continental breakfast didn't look too interesting but we paid for a few items, friendly staff although quite oddly organized and bit chaotic at times. There's a good cafe outside on the left, we went there one day. The common bar is lovely, but quite busy, it wasn't easy to get seats at times and there is no priority for hotel guests at all. It's very busy at night and on the Friday it's very loud and funky and might not be for you !
In summary, great location, generally very helpful staff dealing with New Yorkers who are pretty difficult at times! Rooms good by NYC standards, I'd stay there again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    981
    602
    349
    262
See reviews for
274
1,014
178
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is great, it has a gorgeous sanctuary rooftop terrace with city skyline views and the nightclub is fab!
All the hotel is Philippe Stark design
Small rooms and tiny bathrooms and the Fitness center in the basement with no windows were the less positive aspects

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Listen. New York is among the best cities in the world - and the Hudson is quite trendy with some cool interior décor. But (and it's a whopping, big BUT) our room was so small, that the bellhop apologised and waffled about how the hotels' other amenities made up for the shoebox we'd been introduced to. It didn't! It was like being offered the back room in your nan's two-up, two-down. Go somewhere with a bit more room - and dignity!

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a bigger room. Only bigger 'cos it had a bath. Still miniscule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay very much. I had a corner room which was great - the right amount of space. Very Clean. Comfortable bed, and nice toiletries. Enjoyed drinks at The Library Bar. Appreciated the bottled water at check in and complimentary bar drink. Staff was very friendly and welcoming - lots of smiles which is always good to see. The location in Columbus Circle, steps from the subway is fantastic. Lots of restaurants to choose from in the area. Shopping etc. Nightlife at the hotel itself is young and happening. Mini golf out on the roof bar for the month of April - nice!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival at the Hudson it seemed like we had picked the best place in New York to stay, very on trend and inviting reception area.
When we arrived at our room (Queen size) we had to move furniture in able to get our suitcases open, our knees touched the wall opposite when using the toilet and the only place to dress in the bathroom is in the shower - you get the picture.
I think worst of all was the noise. Room-to-room was not an issue, street noise and the use of anyones heater was. It was like the walls and windows weren't there at all.

All in all, come to the hudson for a drink and a meal. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: The higher the better (away from the noise of the bars)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 5 nights for a conference in March 2015. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a private party in the Library and another in the nightclub. Food and drinks were great. The location was convenient with a subway stop in close walking distance. The other reviews about the size of the room and bathroom were correct. Way too small - especially when two people are sharing the room for five nights. A little creepy to have a glass wall shower open to the bedroom. There was a sheer curtain but it was on the bedroom side so you better have a trustworthy roommate! Mattress was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned after a week long business trip to New York. I'm a big fan of the Mondrian in Los Angeles and the various other Morgans Hotels. I found an insane rate with The Hudson in New York. When I checked in, they upgraded my room, which was so incredible, and my room was ready early. Perfect size, free wifi, great room service, beautiful view. Just a quick block from Columbus circle train, which was convenient, and 2 blocks from the park. The lounge/bar was a great place to grab drinks with friends. Loved the food as well. And they had just put in a putt putt course! So cute for the spring. Needless to say, I extended my trip 3 times while staying there! Big fan and would definitely stay again! Oh, and the $15 credit to spend on food/drink was great too!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.