We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hudson Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hudson Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #354 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel from the 15th to the 19th of March. When I arrived I was asked for my credit card, which i assumed was to verify it was the same card the booked the hotel. What they didn't tell me was they were withdrawing $200 from my account as a security deposit which I have still not had returned to my account. The rooms are the smallest I have ever stayed in. We didnt spend much time there but two people cannot move around the room it is that small. The elevators and rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade and whatever you do, do not look under the beds they are filthy!

Room Tip: Look for a room with a working heating/air con service - if there is any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    945
    587
    342
    258
See reviews for
264
983
175
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I love the hotel. Room was fine, bed and pillows was very comfortable, lobby and bar are great places to be, a lot of fan. Very much feel at home. I lost my credit card for check in and they let me pay with cash. Very helpful staff. And the place is perfect for opera lovers who go to the metropolitan opera

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Avoid at all costs. You will be overcharged on your credit card. You will be lied too and the rooms are dirty and small very small.the whole place turns into a cheap disco come nightclub with aggressive bouncers restricting your entry at weekends even if your resident there the door staff treat you like scum. If you like waiting in line for breakfast for an hour then book away but the service and food are not worth the wait. Read all the negative reviews before considering this hotel don't bother with "planted" good reviews plonked onto here by the hotels marketing team. Terrible hotel where the bar staff make up the very expensive drinks prices as they go along. If you're ok with paying 50 dollars for a pint of badly made home brew beer and a glass of cheap wine then cool.its only saving grace is that it's near central park but so what there are dozens of better , cheaper and more comfortable places to stay..last resort hotel in my mind..

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel.com was giving me trouble canceling an accidental order, and the front desk and supervisor were very helpful in clearing the mixup up! Thanks to them! Also, the deluxe room was nice. It was a desk and chair.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Worst hotel stay I have ever had in NYC ... no hot water because the plumbing was not hooked up properly ...drunk people everywhere ... hairdryer blew up ... AC did not work and the room was unbearably hot even though it was snowing outside. If you are a professional or over 22 do not stay at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights here in Feb, hotel was spotless clean and and staff very friendly. Great locations close to Central Park. Only downside is quite expensive for food and drink.
Rooms very very small but spotless clean.

Room Tip: Rooms spotless but tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a pleasant surprise when we walked into the lobby, beautifully decorated. The rooms however are tiny, hardly any space to move. We were upgraded into a slightly larger room (still tiny) because there was someone still staying in the room we were initially allocated. Eventhough the decoration of the room is not bad and the fact that we were on the 14th floor, it felt like we were right in the middle of the street. The windows are not isolated and the outside noise streams right into the room, all through the night. Sleeping without earplugs is not an option if you want a good night's sleep. The rooms could do with some renovating.
On the positive side, there's a nice bar in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the interior, not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.