We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hudson Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hudson Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #356 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was told this was a 4 star hotel and did not meet up to it's standards. When I checked in there was food left in the mini fridge. They did change our room but only to a room that had a bed so worn out I could feel the springs in my back. Then to top it off the heater made this loud clicking noise which kept me up all night.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    904
    567
    335
    252
See reviews for
249
947
170
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms are insanely tiny and in need of renovation. noisy at all hours, paper thin walls, you will hear something that sounds like rats climbing behind the walls. Concierge sucked and couldn't offer any nearby activities/suggestions. Bellmen expected crazy tips. Overall experience sucked. Lobby decor and bar scene was ok

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amazing place! The staff is incredible, super helpful and friendly. Place is very trendy, colorful, stuff is going on at all times. We had a blast at Half and Half on Saturday night, dancing until it closed.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let me start with the positives - 1) great location, 2) great price*, 3) nice decor
I called a few days prior to my stay to add an alert to my reservation because my flight was arriving between midnight and 1am, I had to call 3 times to get someone on the phone and then when I finally spoke with someone they were less than helpful. Upon arrival when checking in all communication was directed to my fiance even though I was checking in and paying for the room. When we made it to our room there was no toiletries, we didn't need anything fancy but a bar of soap in the bathroom seems like standard amenity. After arriving at 2am we had hoped to sleep in but housekeeping arrived at 9am and knocked until we answered the door even though we had a DND sign out. Upon departure in looking at our bill the rates increased from the time we booked when I brought this up when checking out the front desk agent told me that they had the right to increase prices. I probably would not return.


  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location for this hotel is what first brought it to our attention; right near the subway, central park and everything else you need when you're in NYC.
As mentioned many times before, the rooms are a squeeze, but having said that, you're in New York - how much time are you actually planning to spend in there?
We stayed here for a week and can't complain about anything really. Cleanliness was great, service at the reception and concierge were also very good. Easy check in and easy to find your room. We were in 1752 on 17th floor. Surprisingly quiet at night with no problem sleeping (probably due to us doing everything sightseeing wise there was to do). We only had breakfast in the hotel once which was ok but there are so many places to choose from elsewhere we wanted to explore rather than stay in the hotel.
The Hudson has a lovely vibe when you arrive up the glowing escalator.

My partner and I loved it and would stay there again if the price was right. We booked through Secret Escapes.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has a great vibe despite the small size of the rooms. At check-in we were upgraded to a superior room which was a pleasant surprise for our 15 year anniversary and we loved all the different bars and eateries to choose from. Our only complaint was that the bartender in The Library had no personality and didn't even acknowledge us when we tried to get a drink, which was a shame because we really loved the atmosphere in there, but decided to leave after our unfriendly welcome.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are TINY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at different hotels on our stay and this was one of them because we wanted to eat at the Hudson common and enjoy the bars later, which we did very much. We stayed a night which for us was plenty. The hotel rooms are on the small side and you can get bigger but fork out for the best room those are bigger. Don't expect a view though. But do stay especially on a weekend if you want to enjoy a NYC night, they had a funky mix of old Skool salt n pepa and Digital Underground, fun atmosphere, collection of early 80's arcade games and I'm really pleased we stayed and could roll on up to bed.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 356 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.