We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive for what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SoHo New York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SoHo New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #305 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Way too expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great location in Soho, but high pricing for noisy windy hot top floor, beds too soft, personnel ok, breakfast greasy. After complaining we got some reduction from the excellent manager. Booked by phone. Callcenter talked me in. Final prices were much higher due to taxes!

Room Tip: Become a member for better pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sanders,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry for your guestroom experience and want you to know that we are taking your input into consideration as we look towards future refresh options. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    358
    207
    67
    54
See reviews for
162
217
63
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location, reasonable rates, adequate breakfast options. Would definitely stay there again in the future. Would have liked the fitness center to be in better condition. Half the machines were out of order.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive review. The issue with the fitness center is currently being addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel worked out very well for our weekend in NY. I had never explored SoHo and the TriBeCa area so it was a great experience unto itself. However if you plan to spend most of your time in Midtown, this may not be the hotel for you. It was close to Chinatown and Little Italy which was great. The rooms were extremely small and I was a bit disappointed that after being told we were being put on a higher floor with more square footage in the room we actually ended up on the 6th floor in a very small room. Altogether it was a very good trip and I would go back and stay in this hotel again because of its location. The bell staff was also excellent and took excellent care of bags and car. Happy traveling,

Wayne

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I'm sorry the room was smaller than you had hoped. It depends on the room type that was booked. Unfortunately, I do not have enough information on this specific booking to provide a more detailed response. Next time, please call the hotel directly so that we can reserve your accommodations accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The lady at the front desk was very helpful and answered all my questions. I ended up booking a second night which was much cheaper than the first one. Would be better if the room and a microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Lisa 2308ro, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are Glad that you found the staff helpful, as for the guestroom , I want you to know that we are taking your input into consideration as we look towards future refresh options. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share as we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Kind regards,

Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a very accommodating and worthwhile hotel to stay in when in the downtown area. It's a great location at an affordable price. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. The staff was extremely polite and courteous and was quick to answer any and all questions we had.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. Your kind words will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel was ok, nothing stand out fantastic about it but it was in a relatively convenient location. With the Canal St subway right near by it made getting around on the subway pretty easy. Not really walking distance to time square unless you are ok with a 30min walk. The hotel and facilities were ok, good to have a fitness centre (even though it was tiny and most of the machines were out of order). The bell men were a bit dodgy though, I wouldn't suggest buying tickets or transfers from them, they seem to have a 'take as much commission as possible' approach with a measure of high pressure sales.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our concierge staff are committed to providing our guests with information about the local area and assistance with booking attractions if needed. I am sorry that some of the machines in the fitness center were out of order during your stay. These are in the process of being replaced. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Convenient to subway, room Property was convenient to subway. Room was clean. Check inwas efficient. The breakfast staff (Carmen) was annoyed with my request for a cup of coffee to go. That small attitude / reaction brought down the overall review of what would have been a favorable one.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am sorry that you had a negative experience at breakfast. This matter has been brought to the attention of the department head to be addressed. It is part of our regular procedure and policy to offer all guests cups of coffee or tea to go at the end of breakfast. I apologize that not only was this not offered to you, but you did not receive a gracious response to your request. This issue will be addressed directly with staff and through additional training. I am glad that the other aspects of your stay met your expectations, and I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Address: 138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SoHo New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York's best kept secret with an enviable location on Lafayette Street that borders SoHo, Chinatown and Tribeca and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn SoHo New York provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Soho New York Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.