We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Crazy Parking Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SoHo New York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SoHo New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Crazy Parking Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to the city and it was great. Location was within blocks of SOHO, Chinatown, and Little Italy so there was a ton to do steps away from the lobby doors. Subway stops was one block away and very convenient to jump on and head to Times Square and Broadway. Room was small by IHG standards...but I am sure very typical for NYC. Property was clean and well maintained with friendly staff. Was able to arrive early and leave luggage with Concierge until check in time which allowed for an entire day in the city without worrying about luggage. The only issue I have is that they seem to take advantage of you with parking prices - $55-$65 / 24 hours. They were nice enough to be honest and direct me a half block away to a lot priced at $36 / 24 hours which was great! It would have been nice to have just parked at the hotel but the rate difference made it worth the small inconvenience. I just think it would make sense for the hotel to offer as good of a deal as the lot next door.

But parking aside, this is a great choice when visiting the city - and we will be back this summer and will stay again when we visit the 9-11 Museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BaltyBob,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Soho. Conveniently located in Lower Manhattan, steps from all that New York City has to offer including dining and shopping. We pride ourselves in creating the best guest experience possible and am pleased to know that you and your family did indeed enjoy your recent stay with us. To most of our guests the convenience of getting around the City with ease is a plus. Not only are we steps away from the convenience of the NYC Subway but we also offer a very reliable Valet Service to our guests. The prices offered are very competitive and comparative in the New York City market. I am however pleased that our concierge provided an alternative you were satisfied with and we look forward to hosting your family again on your planned second visit this summer.

Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    370
    215
    70
    54
See reviews for
168
224
66
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Got a room in this place for a very decent price compared to some of the places in Manhattan that were also listed. Room was quite small but from what I'd read on alot of TA review for multiple properties, this seems to be the go everywhere in NY unless you want to pay with body limbs. The room was well serviced regularly and clean which with a decent bed which is all you need. If your travelling to NY you probably shouldnt be wasting that much time in your hotel room! The hotel was very conveninently located near the subway which was also perfect for us. Walkable distance to financial district/china town if you are fit and able and staff were willing to answer all our questions we had.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Felicity O,

On behalf of myself and my team we would like to Thank You for your recent stay with us and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Steps away from the New York City Transit, our location provides accessibility to the Greater New York area with ease. Very commendable that our Service and Quality of Service were also noted during your stay.

Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Overall the stay was nice, but noisy ac unit and tiny room made my stay not as pleasant as it could have been.

The doors need to be adjusted. Many times throughout the night the slamming doors (I mean SLAMMING DOORS...more than any hotel I've ever stayed in) woke me up. The doors literally shake the walls when they close.

A/c not being on in the lobby really lost some bar sales. Seems they figured that out in the day I checked out.

With so many choices in manhattan, I'll likely stay somewhere else for the experiences, but I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the noisy AC unit as well as the slamming doors. These two items have been addressed and corrected.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We do thank you for being loyal to our hotel and that you would stay with us again.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include the Holiday Inn SoHo.

Thank you,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, just near Chinatown and only a few minutes from the financial district. The service is correct. I use this hotel since many years. This time the air condition was noisy, could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Franmic,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of our location and I hope we have the honor of being your hosts for years to come. We pride ourselves in our exemplary customer service because we a providing a service to all our valued guests such as yourself. The issue you mentioned with you air condition unit has been addressed and corrected. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly during your next stay.

Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is my second time there.
I love the location, and also the Staff. They are sooo helpfull and kind.
The only but there is that rooms that are on lower floor will hear and feel the subway passing by, but I guess only in rooms facing Lafayette st.
We had dinner there 3 times, and the food is really good.
Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello isatb and thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and the staff, We always love to hear from valued guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and admiration for our location and service. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for a business conference. The hotel is well maintained. The room I stayed in was for the most part very clean. However there was some mildew on the bathroom tiles, but nothing serious. The bed was very comfortable, firm but soft.

The staff is very polite and courteous.

I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello there ArcticKodiak, Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate when our guests take time to provide their feedback. I was delighted to read that you had a good experience with our staff and that you found our beds to be comfortable. Our main priority is for all our guests to feel welcome and have an exceptional stay with us. Again, thank you very much for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. the point is well taken in regard to the bathroom condition it was addressed with our maintenance department. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
All the best,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just got off a red eye and my 77 year old father was tired from the travel. They managed to accommodate him within 1.5 hours on a Saturday first thing in the morning even though the hotel was full. (We hung out in the breakfast lounge.) The hotel was clean. Great location, just a block from metro. The hotel checked on reservations for us and ordered a car for us when there was a flooding storm. We had a great 5 nights. The staff was friendly and polite. The room service went out of their way for any request.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Djn067,
Thank you for review. I am pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay . and am happy that the staff was able to accommodate you early on a sold out night as well as arrange transportation for you. Thank you again for you kind words about the location and service you received and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards,

Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#262 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#342 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,071 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#206 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#279 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Address: 138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn SoHo New York 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York's best kept secret with an enviable location on Lafayette Street that borders SoHo, Chinatown and Tribeca and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn SoHo New York provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Soho New York Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.