We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SoHo New York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SoHo New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The location was perfect, close to subway, on the border of SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown. Our room was a tad small for a family, but we knew in advance. Staff was friendly and helpful. As others have stated, rooms were not very silent. Vibrations fram subway could be heard and felt up to our room on 6th floor. In addition, our air-conditioning was noisy. We put it on in the evening, and turned it off when we went to sleep. This worked out acceptably, so we didnt bother to complain. The included breakfast was good enough, with scrambled eggs and bacon, and the do-it-yourself waffles as a family favourite.
Our conclusion: Recommended, as it is reasonably priced, but not without tradeoffs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rafael,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the noise of the city.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We do thank you for acknowledging our clean rooms and friendly staff.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include the Holiday Inn Soho.

Thank you,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    365
    213
    70
    54
See reviews for
166
223
65
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Close to subway and SoHo restaurants, and walking distance to TriBeCa. Nice Hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was clean and bright. Gym is small and was missing remotes for overhead TV. I did not eat in hotel restaurant so can not comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Scott1,
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the hotel and the staff. My apologies about the missing remote in the Fitness room. I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 18 to 25 may 2014. Excellent hotel, very friendly stuff, the room was well cleaned and the cleaning lady was very polite and cleaned our room every day. The hotel manager was very helpful and when asked about a smoking room did everything possible to accommodate my request. The room's a/c was working perfectly. Reasonably priced hotel in the heart of New York, many subway stations around.
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear George,

Thank you very much for your review, I'm delighted to here that you found the location and the accommodation to be suitable to your needs and that you received 5 star service. I hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel was clean and toiletries provided were of a good quality. our room was on 9th floor overlooking Lafayette St and was quite noisy due to traffic and the subway. Also had some trouble with noisy neighbours and we mentioned this to Reception (Lisa) and were immediately upgraded to a Club Suite on the top floor which was much better. Lisa was very helpful at this time. The Hotel is very convenient for travel into city and the sights and very close to Chinatown and Little Italy.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Lafayette St are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bigc1958,
thank you for your detailed review, Sorry about the noise you experienced and Thank you for your compliments regarding Lisa's service and how she responded to your concerns.
We hope to see you again soon and next time we may earn your 5 star rating.

Sincerely,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very clean hotel with comfortable bed. Staff is very accommodating. Great location for Chinatown and Little Italy. Food in the restaurant was generally above average, although service was on the slower side. Plenty of shopping and tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tom L, Thank you for taking your time to give us a review. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant visit with us. We hope to have you back in the near future for another great experience.

Best Regards,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel. For New York it is roomy. It is close to subways that go all over the city and we can take the air train to that stop as well.

Lisa at the front desk was great and gave us an upgrade because it was my Birthday.

My only wish was that the lobby bar wasn't closed all afternoon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Harry R, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations in providing you with a great service and overall experience. I will make sure to pass on your great comment to Lisa.We look forward to having you stay again.
All the best,
Ayman Agamy
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Pretty much everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Small rooms, no closet & no minibar but that's typical NYC in the 3 star range. Only irritating detail is lack of shower gel. I don't expect fancy designer brands but bar soap is sad!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tousson,
Thank you for your review, Your comments will be considered in regard to the bathroom amenity and will be part of our discussion for any potential change to our amenity offerings.

Thank you,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Address: 138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn SoHo New York 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York's best kept secret with an enviable location on Lafayette Street that borders SoHo, Chinatown and Tribeca and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn SoHo New York provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Soho New York Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.