We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Soho - Don't stay there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SoHo New York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SoHo New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Soho - Don't stay there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 4 have been here since 31 Dec 2013 and we are actually still staying here but feel quite strongly about the poor level of service here. Our stay is for a total of 11 nights. We are seasoned travellers and my wife and I are both professionals.

Our room is an Executive (two double bed) room and is spacious and passable - the whole hotel is dated and needs upgrading.

We are staying on the 9th floor so the noise outside overnight is still there, but less than the problem it might be on the lower levels. To be fair, it has not affected out ability to sleep and my wife is a light sleeper.

For the first three days we kept having to remind them we are 4 people and need more towels. The room maid then rebuffed us when she saw us, saying---oh, you are the people complaining about the towels! As if we had done something wrong! - Well, hello, we are 4 people - isn't that a basic inclusion??

Breakfast is only fair and not great and finishes quite early at 10am and if you arrive just prior to 10am they frown upon you and warn they will close on time...unless of course you provide tips as we saw others do and suddenly hey presto more food arrives!! The breakfast staff have attitude and make it feel like they are doing you a favour being there, not the other way around.

For the first three nights we had problems accessing the free Wi-Fi in the room and received a message that the 150 user license had been exceeded. Upon calling reception, they apologised, were aware of the problem, and said we would need to keep trying until others logged out. The two free drinks offered as recompense didn't fix the problem and despite asking to speak to a manager about it, the manager never contacted us, we spoke to him instead at reception and he said the problem had since been fixed - which it had. But it meant we had to log on very late for the first 3 nights to finish our research, checks emails etc (ie 12.30pm/1am!).

We had 4 items delivered to us while staying here and on no occasion did the hotel inform us of the arrival of the items - we had to make enquiries each time. The last item was a surprise gift from a New Yorker friend who sent us over $150 worth of fresh food from Little Italy in the Bronx. 24 hours later, it was only when I received an email from our friend to advise it had been sent, did I check with reception. Initially they said no, nothing had come in. They then called a few minutes later and said, sorry, yes, it has come in and has been here in reception - since the previous day - over 24 hours previously. They then, after not being aware anything had arrived, claimed they tried to call us the previous night - but no message was left, no note under the door, no text message, no attempt at all to advise us of the bag of food, despite the fact that a cursory perusal of the bag would have revealed fresh food - numerous deli items.

As the room has no bar fridge - ( a shock to us as it is the most expensive room) - I asked if they could refrigerate the items - "no, sorry, we have no fridges - only the kitchen does!!!" And this was after they had held on to the items for over 24 hrs!!! I complained and they apologised and offered a $50 credit to our account - hardly appropriate.

The one night we had dinner here we were the only ones dining, and I was advised the whole night had been very quiet - no wonder. The waitress was new but was very courteous and polite - what a change!

This hotel is a mixed bag. While the pricing is reasonable for the area, the lack of service and poor attitude of staff is profound - is also needs an upgrade. What attracted us was the spacious room which is at a higher cost than the standard rooms, needed for our luggage as we have a long trip, travelling also to a warm climate later.

I do not recommend staying here. Those who give this hotel a good rating must either be lucky or must have no idea as to what proper service should be like.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, choose an Executive room on high level are they are larger and quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
This matter was brought to my attention yesterday and was investigated. I'm sorry if the solution was not to your satisfaction. I will personally reach out to you to make sure there is no confusion.
The room attendant that you are referring to has been at the hotel for over 20 years and she said she would never say such a thing to a guest. not sure if it was a language problem on our part. and I apologize for that. as I mentioned I will personally contact you to get this matter resolved and you leave our hotel satisfied.

Thank you

Ayman Agamy
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    365
    213
    70
    54
See reviews for
166
223
65
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent 11 nights in this hotel but was shocked to hear the train and the movement of it. Not helpful as a light sleeper. Hotel needed updated and cleaning, was not impressed stayed in better hotels for less.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear JB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. Responses such as yours can only assist us in improving the quality of our service. We apologize for the Train noise specially if you were here for 11 nights, we should have moved you to a higher floor specially if you are a light sleeper out of the country not used to the nature of the big Apple. Please feel free to contact us at any time for a resolution.
Best Regards,
Management and Staff team at the Holiday Inn Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Best little kept secret. We always stay at the Crown Plaza in Times Square. Needed a change. Yes the room is small but very comfortable. There are three big drawers under the TV to put your clothes. Toiletries are ok but again it's all about the price. Staff was amazing. Never had a problem. We LOVED the noisy air conditioner. It lulled us to sleep and kept the noise at bay from the hall and outside. Upper floor was great. We were on the lucky 13th floor. Lucky Chinese number we were told. Close to everything. Mulberry street is a little 10 minute walk. Great hot stone massages all over the place. Best foot massages also so close to the hotel. No frills but for the price, it was great. Housekeeping was awesome and front desk fabulous. Definitely staying at this hotel next time. AND FREE WIFI!!!

Room Tip: Of course upper floors are better. But hey it's NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Claudie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

The Management and Staff at the Holiday Inn Soho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed at this location in the past and always loved how close it was to SoHo and the Village. I was scheduled to stay here this weekend but Mother Nature had other plans. My bus was cancelled due to a snowstorm and I had no other way to get to NYC for the weekend. I had pre-paid for my room so when I called to cancel I had already accepted the fact that I was most likely out of luck in regards to any sort of refund. However, I figured people may be stranded in NYC due to the storm and wanted to cancel the reservation so they could rebook the room for someone that could use it. Even though I did not request a refund it was given to me right away! I am so impressed with this and am already trying to figure out a make-up date for my trip and I will be staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ryan,
Thank you very much for your feedback and kind words,
we hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,
Ayman Agamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed for 1 night on a horribly humid day. The room was really small, couldn't imagine a couple staying in it with anything larger than 1 or 2 carry-on sized bags. My room was clean but the air conditioner was insanely loud but effective enough that I didn't need to run it all night. The room was noisy but considering it is located on Canal St there are no surprises there. Certainly can't beat the location. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was ok, the water pressure was fine. I made the mistake of paying a ridiculous amount of money for breakfast, definitely can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Saffy2,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

First we arrive and it took many minutes before the front desk employee get available. She was very busy and she was alone. After we checked in, we get to our room. It was small and very noisy. The noise was coming from another building nearby. We asked to change room and the change has been done quickly. That was very appreciated. The front desk employee has been very helpfull on that. The second room was definitly more quiet. Bed was confortable but bathroom has to be modernized. Overall it was an average experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear maitre27,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the ambient noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and was very disappointed by how dated and dirty it was. The bathroom was covered in hairs. The bed linen was rough as hell and I got bed bug bites. They need to air the rooms by cracking open windows. Stale air breeds germs and dust mites. The coffee making facility was god awful. The breakfast buffet was incredibly bad. Stale bread and heavily processed foods. Wouldn't recommend unless you're desperate and only staying for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear LondonCalling16,
Sorry for the delay in addressing this review, we've been trying to investigate the incident yet none of our records shows such concerns regarding either cleanliness or Bedbug issues. We take this matters very seriously and have an active pest control program. unfortunately we don't have enough information about your stay to investigate further.. I'm not sure you are referring to our hotel, if you are, Please contact me directly so we can make sure we resolve this matter..

Best regards,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Address: 138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn SoHo New York 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York's best kept secret with an enviable location on Lafayette Street that borders SoHo, Chinatown and Tribeca and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn SoHo New York provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Soho New York Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.