We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SoHo New York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SoHo New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #305 of 459 Hotels in New York City
WA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were here for a meeting and the room was booked for us. We ended up on the 7th floor but the road noise and subway sounded like they were in the room with us. We were to be here for 2 nights so we asked to be moved to a higher floor. We were moved - but to another room on the 7th floor that was nearer to the noise! Needless to say the 2nd night's sleep was worse than the first.
The road noise is loud, but the subway shakes the whole building!
The staff was okay while the doorman (on the 1st floor) was great.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that isn't on either of the roads that the hotel faces
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
ank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry for your guestroom experience and want you to know that we are taking your input into consideration as we look towards future refresh options. We are very centrally located so NYC street noise is not totally unusal . Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share as we are all about Satisfaction.

Best regards,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    358
    207
    67
    54
See reviews for
162
217
63
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at Holiday Inn in Soho Manhattan. Here are some bullets:
- Close to Canal Street Train Station.
- Good jumping off point for trips into other parts of Manhattan
- Close to China Town and Little Italy (walking distance).
- Staff was helpful, but I had not issues so hard to tell when you have no problems.
- Room was just "ok." Bordering on Poor to Average.
- Walls are thin and I could here "everything" in the room next to me
- I could here the person walking in the room next to me because the floors "squeaked" like an old house with wooden floors.
- I was on business so my time in room was very small.

Room Tip: I was on 5th floor away from elevators (lift) and besides hearing my neighbor in the room next to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and honest input on the look and feel of our property. We are glad to have met your needs while in town and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Ayman Agamy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had a stay for 4 days and it was good. Rooms were small but clean . Hotel location is very good and area is quite silent despite being in Manhattan. Overall this hotel is good value if you don't own to stay in room for most of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input of our property. We are glad you liked the room and the location and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Best regards,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay, New York hotels generally have tiny, cramped rooms, paper-thin walls and outrageous parking rates. This property is no exception but if you can look past that it's a great place to stay in NYC. We loved the location - right on the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. You're only a block from the subway. The neighbourhood is very safe - even at night. We chose to include breakfast. (It's discounted if you select it upfront.) The breakfast was very delicious and substantial. I found a safe, secure parking lot just one block east of the hotel that was substantially cheaper. All in all, given NYC hotel standards, this is a great place to stay. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

No frills hotel located on edge China town and Little Italy. We were spending a week in NYC and needed a convenient base - thats what this hotel is. No frills, room was average size but fitted our needs perfectly because of the little conveniences we did require - a good sized and comfortable bed, decent flat screen tv with loads of channels for chilling out in front of before sleep, tea and coffee making facilities for the morning. Decent shower (despite no hot water on the first morning). Vending machines on floors with snacks and drinks. Great neighbourhood in walking distance of some really good bars and restaurants and access to all the required subway lines. Great to be in a proper neighbourhood and away from the madness of Time Square and 5th Avenue every evening!!!

Room Tip: Room at the front was quite noisy as street facing - but this is NYC! Didnt bother us too much excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the city and understand that you were disappointed with your hot water issue on the first day. we did repair the problem , we apologize for the that . The next time you are in town please visit us again so we may show you the complete quality stay you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Soho.

Thank you,

Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Room was very small - typical of NYC hotels. Water pressure in bathroom was poor. Neighborhood, while not terrible, was not the greatest. Says there's a restaurant, and a very limited menu was posted in the lobby, but when we went down just for dessert or a drink there was no one to be found. I did manage to get a glass of wine one night. Close to subway was a plus. WiFi not dependable - first night server was down and front desk said they had called in a manager, second time log in failed was told 'too many people were logging on.' Not many electrical outlets, and the ones they did have were loose, had to jiggle the plugs 'just so.' Beds, though just doubles were very comfortable. Fan in the bathroom ran continuously and was fairly loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYMAN A, General Manager at Holiday Inn SoHo New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I apologize that the internet did not perform well during your stay, we did upgrade the service . Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and the mismanagement of the situation with dinner and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect and deserve.

Best Regards,
Ayman Agamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff was very kind and always available. Even though the hotel is in SoHo, it's super close to all the subway lines that you need to reach Midtown, or Uptown!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SoHo New York

Address: 138 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SoHo New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York's best kept secret with an enviable location on Lafayette Street that borders SoHo, Chinatown and Tribeca and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn SoHo New York provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Soho New York Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.