We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Club Quarters Midtown to your Saves list
Club Quarters Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night over the 4th of July weekend after staying at the Hilton on 6th and 54th. After staying in a huge hotel which spans a block, I was apprehensive of checking into CQ. However, my fears were quickly allayed and we loved this cute hotel within a stone's throw from the Rockefeller plaza. This hotel is more in the pod style, where rooms are small, but have all the basic necessities one can ask for. In two occasions, I needed some assistance from the front desk. Both times they were very courteous and quick in their response. The best part of this hotel is how they have spent the money on what adds value to the customer. For example, instead of having a fancy lobby, they lounge for the guests to meet their friends over a cup of complimentary coffee or filtered water. The lounge is open 24/7, so u can have your coffee and re-fill your water bottle with filtered water while printing your boarding pass without going to different floors and using ure hotel key for access for basic stuff. The other unusual perk of this hotel is that apart from free wifi in rooms, u can actually borrow Ipads. I did not have to borrow, but the fact that someone thought about adding that as a perk gets my respect. There is a restaurant on site. But honestly who needs a restaurant on site in midtown. You are better off walking in any direction outside the hotel at any hour to grab hamburgers to humus. We absolutely pigged out on the street food that is omnipresent in Midtown. Overall, two thumbs up.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    268
    117
    45
    31
See reviews for
66
188
80
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for four nights in a standard room, queen bed and the room was a nice size for a single person or a couple. Only one chair, no refrigerator or microwave - but I was attending a conference where the meals were provided so it was fine for me. Plenty of restaurants close by. Staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel and my room were very clean and well maintained. I was on the 12th floor in the back with a nice view of the buildings on 44th St. and further south. No street noise, but the a/c unit on top of the building was on constantly. Some people would consider that background or white noise that helps cover the other sounds of the city, I had to use earplugs. That's really my only complaint, can't comment on the hallway noise because I didn't seem to have neighbors on either side. It's a great location for those who like to walk, close to Grand Central for transportation, a few blocks from Time Square, Empire State Bldg, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Club Quarters is a great hidden gem in NYC. It is just a few blocks from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, subways and Grand Central Station. Very quiet block, safe in that a room key is required to work the elevator, restaurant, business/fitness center and bottled water station are super convenient. Room is clean, comfortable and quiet. I was across from the elevator and I wasn't disturbed at all. I've stayed there before and had the same wonderful experience. If you are looking for consistency in your hotel when visiting NYC (which is rare), stay at Club Quarters Midtown!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was the first time that we stayed at a Club Quarters. We got the recommendation from Trivago/Expedia. We reserved the second from the smallest rooms, 300 sq/ ft and were fortunate enough to be placed on the top floor, corner room. It was very cozy and clean. Friendly staff at check in and during the stay. May stay at a Club Quarters again.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are nice. The hotel isn't too large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Club Quarters Midtown for an evening in June. We chose the hotel for the location (we were attending a party right by the hotel) & price & we were not disappointed. The hotel is very simple & the rooms small, just as reviews had said, but also very clean & comfortable. We took the advice of reviews & asked for a higher up floor, so the street noise level was low. The filtered water in the hall is a nice touch & hotel staff friendly. Overall, if your looking for a clean, comfortable place to spend the night in the city, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Conveniently located near Fifth Avenue, Times Square and Grand Central Station. Definitely within working distance to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (by New Yorkers' standards).

Staff are friendly and generally accommodative to requests. Room is slightly small but good enough for solo travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well, no well priced hotels in central manhattan are going to be spacious, as this wasn't either. However the location is perfect, and the rooms clean with all the business amenities you need, good wifi, coffee machine, desk, small shower. The beds we're comfy and clean. The staff were very attentive, polite and the lounge was very useful for meeting guests and just relaxing with a coffee. This place is excellent value but don't expect a good view unless you like the sight of an air con unit that I had to leave off because it was too noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Midtown

Address: 40 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.