We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Quarters Midtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters Midtown to your Saves list
Club Quarters Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Club Quarters Midtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, resembling the other establishments of Club Quarters. For a high, but still reasonable price one gets all the amenities of a good hotel in a good location. Service is friendly. The room is not large, but has everything one needs. The lobby is comfortable and the free continental breakfast good. Its restaurant does not function at the moment.

The one serious problem is noise. At the back the noise of air conditioners from everywhere is unacceptable. In front there is all night a deafening noise of garbage trucks. Closing the window is no solution, especially since the air conditioning is also of the noisy kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    285
    121
    45
    31
See reviews for
71
195
83
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and were pleasantly surprised. This hotel was nothing much to look at from the outside. To be fair, it was undergoing some renovation to the exterior. The lobby is tiny and looks more like a secondary entrance but the service was very friendly. The elevators are small..they hold four people without luggage. Our room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. The bathroom could have used a little updating or a good scrubbing with bleach but it was clean. We didn't check the view as our priority is a good night's rest. The location was ok. Not as close to Times Square as other places we have stayed.

My only complaint is that the noise of other doors closing was very loud. It didn't go on very long, however, and our sleep was undisturbed.

Their dining room was closed for renovation but they did provide a continental breakfast in their lounge area (muffins, danishes, instant oatmeal, fruit, cereal bars). There was also free soda and snacks provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, very nice hotel and the price is the best. Perfect location, great room, hot water and nice a/c. will be back soon. If the breakfast is not enough for you you go across the street or just next door and you have a couple of selections for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The disappointment of finding that I had been booked into the mid-town Club Quarters as opposed to the Rock Center location was as nothing to the shock of seeing the first room offered. This was tired, depressing (internal courtyard view from a single window), noisy (thundering cooling units echoing up the ought the building) and certainly not good value for money in my opinion.

The second room was certainly an improvement in terms of outlook and noise levels however the bathroom vent was caked with dust which hung menacingly over the basin. The tiles in the shower were mouldy and the basin itself was cracked. I reported all of this first thing in the morning when I went to check out only to find that despite assurances that I had been rebooked into the Rock Center location for the rest of my trip, no transfer had been made. The wonderful Racquel took everything in hand and had me back in the (second) room in no time and arranged for the bathroom to be deep cleaned whilst I was at work.

Despite flashes of good service I would not choose to return to this particular hotel although friends tell me that other locations are servicable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked on Priceline; so we didn't know where we would end up! We were very pleasantly surprised with the location, accommodations, and amenities. The room was good sized, great air conditioning, excellent tv, and the bed was soo comfortable - got a wonderful night's sleep. The discount coupon for parking garage (next street over) cut the cost in half. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Have only been to Room #605, but it was a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 5 nights on booking.com a "very small diplomats room . I was a bit worried about the size as we were coming with a wheelchair and suitcases. BUT I have to say the hotel is great !!! The room is big enough for two With all the luggage .We didn't order the room with breakfast BUT when we arrived we were suprised to be told that a free continental bfast is severed every morning plus free refreshments during the day (not sure If its like that all the time but if so that's another plus ) and the best plus is the location location and reasonable price . I have to say that the only minus is the low water flow in the shower . Other than that all is great!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location was excellent. Very close to Times Square, yet off the main street (45th, between 5th & 6th). Absolutely no noise. Complimentary continental breakfast was a bonus because their dining room was being refurbished. Complimentary snacks/beverages throughout the day. Stations on several floors provide water bottles and filtered water. Great to take with us as we toured the city. In addition to the light breakfast they had a cappuccino maker that made great beverages. Individual Keurig coffee makers were in the rooms. I feel like the rooms are spacious for a NYC hotel. Best one we've stayed at so far! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful with everything. (giving us directions, holding our luggage after check-out etc.) Check-in was automated in the lobby....very quick and easy. We would definitely stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: It was nice to stay on the 2nd floor. We only needed to use the elevator when we had luggage to and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Midtown

Address: 40 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.