We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, great staff and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #108 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, great staff and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the initial arrival through to check out the staff were very helpful and friendly, the cleanliness was impecable and room always organised upon our return. The area is ideal for WTC and Statue of Liberty however bit of a treck for midtown not that the train is far away.

Room Tip: Must go for Statue of Liberty view room it is expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    330
    114
    42
    24
See reviews for
313
416
56
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed here while my husband was on business in New York for 3 nights. We upgraded to a suite and were very pleased by the spacious and clean room.
The staff was impeccable and exceeded even "the ritz standard" in service. My husband had been working in New York for a week prior to my arrival. The staff quickly picked up on the fact that we had been apart and sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne to the room. We ordered room service several times. The food was average but the service was always prompt and given with a smile and helpful attitude. The reception desk was beyond helpful, always prompt with the requested wake up call and willing to answer any question and accommodate us from laundry needs to room service. They even separated the food charges and anything additional we spent during our stay from the bill and put the room charges on a single bill since they knew my husband was traveling on business and would expense some things separately. We usually stay near the park so this part of town was a first for me. I was a bit skeptical at first because I did not know the area as well but it is very convenient to Soho and many other wonderful areas. I recommend this hotel for business or personal travel.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

While the Ritz-Carlton NYC, Battery Park, is located in a somewhat magical corner of the city (albeit far from transit - thank god for Uber), overlooking the harbor, with Lady Liberty in the distance, there are definite inconsistencies that limit this hotel from being great. As mentioned by other recent reviewers, service is the one obvious blemish. The front-desk just didn't seem to be able to get it together, nor were they able to realize and acknowledge when errors had been committed. I'm not sure if this is a lack of training or poor management, but the service experienced does not compare to the many other Ritz-Carlton properties we have been lucky to enjoy. Aside from service, the hotel in general needs to be refreshed. The finishes are nice, bathrooms well-appointed and beds as comfy as ever; however, the best way to explain the 'outdated-ness' is that there were no smart-phone docking stations or USB plugs, but they did have alarm clocks with integrated CD-player!

Look, it's a nice hotel, but don't expect great service or the typical high-end treatment found at other Ritz-Carlton properties.

Note to Ritz-Carlton Manager: Please don't respond to this post with the standard "thanks for helping us get better" message. If you seriously want to be a great hotel, teach your staff to focus on the guests, and spend less time on TripAdvisor CYA.

Room Tip: Club Level offers great all-day dining and drinking options. Must get a Statue of Liberty View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. I am so sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. I understand how you could be disappointed with your stay having read that the level of service you received was below our standards. I am very sincere in my reply to your feedback, in that we do discuss and share our guest’s comments with the staff so that we can make improvements. What you experienced here is unacceptable and I will address this immediately. On a brighter note, I am delighted you mentioned some positive aspects of your stay and our hotel, being our location, comfortable beds and well-appointed bathrooms. Nevertheless, service is our priority and we will do whatever it takes to earn the reputation The Ritz-Carlton is known for. Should your travels bring you back to this location, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure that your stay is a positive and memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really lovely hotel. I loved that we had a statue of liberty room. We also loved the food in the hotel although it was rather expensive. All in all a lovely stay, we will be going back there maybe another year!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in many Ritz Carltons over the years and the Battery Park Hotel is among the best. The staff is friendly,helpful and respectful. The health club and the club lounge are particularly outstanding. The view from our room over New York Harbor included the Statue of Liberty and the Verrazano Bridge-Very Romantic. If you have never stayed on a Ritz Carlton Club Floor I will tell you it spoils you for any other hotel lounge. Great special occasion weekend !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here several times over the last 10 years, and it is my favorite hotel in NYC. It's almost like being out of the city. The Battery Park location means it's out of the midtown bustle and noise, it's on the harbor with incredible views, and it's easy to get to any time of day. And the staff. Unbelievable. Many have been there the entire decade I've been visiting. They are kind, helpful, and thoughtful. In short, they make me feel at home. Or maybe it's the chicken soup, which is the cure for everything and my favorite hotel meal.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although overwhelmed by the cost, daily internet fees and $6 coffee in the restaurant, we were suprised with the area surrounding Battery Park. Initially we thought we were in the other Ritz Carlton but were warmly greeted by the hotel staff. The rooms were nice with a great view of the Statue of Liberty. However, it was the area that was of interest, Battery Park, financial district, and site of 9/11, much of which is still in transformation. It will be even more beautiful upon the completion of the transformation. We found "The Diner" where you could get a great breakfast for less than $10. Lincoln Centre is a must, where we attended concerts at the Juilliard School of music and where we attended an opera, Aida, at the MET (spectacular). As usual, even though not central, the subway gets you where you want to go, either from Rector station or Bowling Green.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.