We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #99 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Miramar Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1 night in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet area of NYC. The staff is helpful. We had a beautiful suite with a breathtaking view of the Statue of Liberty. We unfortunately only had one night so our experience was limited. You will need to take a cab or the subway to get to many of NYC's attractions.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    303
    104
    41
    22
See reviews for
289
380
54
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am accompanying my husband to NYC while he is here on business.
We are staying here with 3 dogs ..
It has been lovely The staff has been great and have treated my posse like celebrities.
There is not one fault with the whole stay.
It's my favorite place to stay in NYC.
The hotel and it's staff made us feel at home.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you want to save hotel budget, still need luxurious time, this is the perfect choice. I stayed two nights in a double room with access to a club lounge room. The receptionists were truly "Ladies and Gentlemens", as they welcome our first stay in NY. My mother also liked them very much. The room was pretty spacious and a glass desk was useful. The view is not worth if you face East. But I thought the other side might be great because you can anticipate a view of Statue of liberty.

One of the pros staying at this downtown hotel is you can save time to get to liberty island. Sometimes you will expect a long lineups to get on a ferry or even to buy the ferry ticket. But at this place, you can see how many people are waiting for ferry tickets from the room, you can do some research on your trip, read a book, or whatsoever.

The club lounge was cozy. I liked staffs there working diligently yet friendly.

Next time my stay will definitely be here!

Room Tip: The room with a club lounge access is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in NY many times and failed to find a hotel that I have found enjoyable to stay in. I was therefore very happy with my stay in this hotel.

The hotel is in a modern building at the west side of Battery Park. The rooms are very large (by NY standards) and comfortable. My room faced the statue of liberty which was lovely. The main thing I liked was the hotel got the basics right - the heating system worked perfectly, the sound insulation was good, the hot and cold water had good constant pressure, the bath and basin emptied quickly, the towels were plentiful and clean. These are basic points which many luxury hotels fail.

All the staff in the hotel were great - everything taken care off or anticipated beforehand. Genuine assistance and help when required.

Room Tip: If you are travelling for pleaure and will spend anytime in the room then upgrading to the views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I are getting ready for the trip and had our concierge book a club level room here from the 19th-23rd of December...The booking process went great but I was surprised to know that the tent in the room costs extra per night as we are bring our 4 & 5 year old for the Christmas fun in NYC. The Ritz has always been a favorite because of the service and I will be keeping you posted on the experience after our stay with them next week!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spouse and I were staying at Conrad Hotel on North End Ave. Took walk to South Ferry area. Stopped here for lunch as we have always had wonderful experiences with Ritz-Carlton lunch.

There is an ExpressLunch, in which you choose two or three courses. We opted to split the three-courses: salad and two half-sandwiches. Also, we each wine by the glass - red for him, white for me. Finished with two desserts and coffee. Everything was delicious, imaginative, beautifully plated, gracious service. We were not rushed. Bill, as presented, was correct.

Would like to review this under "restos" but Trip Advisor site seems not to recognize this venue.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff is very friendly and very helpful. The property is clean and the room was very comfortable. However the dining room had a broken chair, a tear in a seat back, a napkin and a fork on the floor and more or less perfunctory service, given the prices. In addition, the concierge gave us subway directions and didn't tell us where to first get a subway card (did tell us we had to have it) then he sent us on a trip for which the return was after the subway line had closed and the station was out of service (the local station no less). When we did get back the front bell men outside looked at us and continued arguing among themselves, not helping with our packages at all. On Saturday night, in a pouring rain storm, they were nowhere to be found at all. It is a nice property but it just isn't to the level of this chain. I almost gave it a three.

Room Tip: View of the Statue of Liberty is nice but it is pretty far away...they do provide a nice telescope i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.