We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with service to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #103 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay. I would definitely stay again, great location, beautiful interior, the beds well wow, soooo comfortable, not sure I have ever slept so well in a hotel. The welcome you receive is warm and friendly and for us this continued throughout the stay, doorman really helpful and actually say 'welcome back' each time you walk through the door. This hotel do everything they can to make you happy, little teddy for our daughter as we arrived, plates of luxurious hand made chocolates waiting for us when we returned one day! We had room 924, two double beds, Deluxe Room, great TV, plenty of space, lovely bathroom. This room looks out from the back of hotel, so we didn't have a river or Liberty View, you would have to request this and is extra.
We have visited New York quite a few times but never stayed in Battery Park area. There is some regeneration work going on now at the river front around the ferry area and pierI would recommend as the Metro is a short walk away at Rector Street, right next to the best diner George's. We saw so much more of NYC than ever before. The hotel is a right on the Hudson River and from the hotel lobby you can sit, free wifi, looking out at Lady Liberty. We didn't use the restaurant or room service as with a fussy 10 year old it is a waste of money as the food is very pricy. On the last night it was my husband's birthday so we treated ourselves to our fave champagne so we could dress in our finery and go to the bar, just a glass each but $29 a glass!! So you get the picture. Our daughter was welcome but we were ushered away from the bar area, very nicely actually, to a table in the bistro. Daughter was bought a bowl of fruit! I know reviewers have called this more of a Conference Hotel, and I can see why, there aren't facilities for children, but with American TV and New York for a garden she was happy and never complained!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    300
    103
    41
    22
See reviews for
285
375
53
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at The Ritz-Carlton Battery Park, New York for 6 nights for our minimoon (apparently it has to be at least 2 weeks to be classes as a honeymoon!) and it was a wonderful stay, with the view of the Statue of Liberty

The Location
Located at the very bottom of Manhattan, in Battery Park (hence the name) near the NY financial (a.k.a Wall Street), the hotel it is a far distance from the hustle and bustle of Time Square. However it is only a 20 minute subway ride away (the subway is easy to use and recommend getting a metro card). I think this worked out best as it gave us the best of both worlds.

Attractions/landmarks in walking distance
On our first day a slow 10 minute walk north took us to the 9/11 Memorial site and Freedom Tower. Wall Street is no more than 5 minutes walk away and the Staten Island Ferry again within 10 minutes walk. I would recommend booking well in advance the Statue of Liberty Tour with Crown access; however, is quite strenuous climbing the tight spiral stair well so be prepared for a little workout. Also, close by is the Liberty Tour Heliport and can not recommend enough seeing New York from the sky, we booked online and got a good deal using a code I found in the City Guide booklet.

The Front Desk
Upon arriving, we were originally allocated a floor 5 room facing the Statue of Liberty (something I paid extra for when booking). I requested a higher floor room, and while this couldn't be accommodated on the first night, Laura ensured for the rest of our stay we got a top floor room. Along with Laure, Rosi and You Young Lee were exceptional and very helpful on the front desk, as was Jay at the Concierge desk. Could not fault the service.

The Room
Both rooms we stayed in were identical in layout. An very large bathroom suite, with separate bath and shower, reasonable sized wardrobe and desk space. The King size bed was so comfortable we'd even just doze off for an afternoon nap to recharge our "batteries" (pardon pun). However, I do feel the decor and technology in the room could be updated. The view was amazing, see Ms Liberty and the Hudson River in the morning and night time added something special to our stay. We were even fortunate even to see a firework display from our room performed on the Hudson on the second night.

Overall, this is an great hotel, ideal location for business travelers, but also excellent for those in NYC for pleasure who want to dip in and out of the crazy central Manhattan hive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I admit that every few years I absolutely have to book a suite here with visiting relatives and groove out with the telescope overlooking the harbor. Gives you a great sense of the majesty of NYC. Have tried the Club Floor and it delivers very nicely. Excellent snacks, but as a nondrinker, I might not be getting my money's worth from the Club Floor. making an effort to negotiate at the point of reservation can usually get you a satisfying price break. No swimming pool, however.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my other half to celebrate my 21st birthday. I'd never been to NY before and was looking for a good but good value for money.

The room in the hotel was lovely, we had paid for the view of the statue of liberty which was a nice touch but once you had seen it once it wasn't that exciting.

The location of the hotel wasn't great if you wanted to be heading into town to Times Square or central park. However it was good for the heli trip we had booked and also for the 9/11 memorial.

The staff were friendly but the hotel was more tailored towards business rather than leisure.

We had a breakfast in the room which cost me £100 dollars and was nothing more than the £5 English fry up I have at my local greasy spoon!!

All in all, I wouldn't return to this hotel, but it was the Ritz and it felt good!

Room Tip: Wouldn't suggest paying for the extra view as you can see the statue of liberty from outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers and happy belated birthday! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the magnificent views from your guest room. Although you enjoyed some of the offerings in this area, please know that lower Manhattan is undergoing a revitalization and rebuilding with a number of new shops, boutiques and restaurants emerging every day and of course the soon to open Freedom Tower. Thank you as well, for your feedback regarding our In Room Dining breakfast prices. We take all comments such as yours, into consideration. On a brighter note, we are happy that you enjoyed your interaction with our friendly staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay at this hotel as 4 years ago we stayed at the ritz Carlton Central Park and that was amazing so expected the same from this.. We were wrong. Firstly we are travelling as a family We got into our room to find one king sized bed we booked as a family so how they expect to fit 2 adults and 2 kids in one bed is beyond me. We ordered a crib and spare bed which took ages to arrive on top of that the mini bar had been removed which is a massive disappointment on a '5star' hotel the second night we stayed the toilet flooded and overflowed all over the bathroom floor it took at least 20 mins for the attendant to come and fix it in the mean time we threw all towels in the floor to soak it up. Requesting more fresh towels took over an hour and also the spare bed for the children hadn't been made and when the bedding was 'dropped off' I made the bed myself. If anyone is planning to stay here don't expect a 5 * experience it really isn't. Was a massive disappointment from beginning to end, the only good thing was the door staff very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers. We sincerely apologize that we did not have the right information in your reservation to provide the correct bedding for you and your family when you arrived. To make matters worse, we did not deliver the crib and rollaway in a timely manner. We definitely failed to meet your expectations on several fronts and we are truly sorry. I can understand your disappointment being a repeat guest to Ritz-Carlton; this was clearly not the level of service that you were expecting from us, or one that we are accustomed to provide our guests. On a brighter note, I am happy to see that our door staff was welcoming and helpful. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Battery Park hotel is located a stone's throw from Wall Street, and some of the better rooms have impressive views. Our room had a view of the Statue of Liberty (which was pretty far away), but they provide a telescope for a better look. The rooms were nice, with very comfortable beds and spacious toilets, to Ritz-Carlton standards.

We were very disappointed with the standard of service at the hotel - the minibar had been removed (apparently hotel policy) and room service took a long time to arrive. We were surprised to find that wifi was not free of charge, as would be expected of a 5*Star hotel in the financial district. There was also no pool or sauna, which we also expected from the chain.

The concierge painted a pretty dismal picture of the surroundings when asked for recommendations for shopping & sightseeing in the area, but we found a Century 21 shopping mall walking distance from the hotel, as well as several restaurant options nearby. Soho is about 15mins away by taxi at off-peak times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, the comfortable bed and spaciousness of our bathroom. However we apologize if some of the amenities you were expecting to find were not available. Although there is a charge for Wi-Fi in our rooms, we do provide complimentary Wi-Fi in our Lobby and Restaurant area for the convenience of our guests. In lieu of an Honor Bar, we offer some of the same items through In Room Dining and or our Gift Shop. Again, we appreciate your comments and feedback, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first time in New York with 2 teenage children. A great choice as fantastic view and lovely quiet location. Got the subway up town which was very easy and the stations are very near the hotel. Taxis are very reasonable for Chelsea Market, Soho and Greenwich. For 4 of us a taxi was as expensive as the subway for mid town. Schillers, The Mercer Kitchen and Lure were fab restaurants we visited on friend's recommendations and booked them via the internet from the UK before leaving (otherwise you won't get in).
Ground Zero was inspiring especially the survivor tree. The Staten Island Ferry was good too. A great view of Manhatten. Grand Central Station worth a visit - flew Delta and couldn't fault them. The economy seats were very comfortable and my son is 6ft 3". Have fun and take a taxi from the airport as only flat rate of $52 dollars in the yellow cabs. Avoid the shuttle service as they only go when full up and when you get to your hotel apparently the drivers then say you haven't paid even though you have a pre-paid voucher and won't let you have your luggage unless you pay again!!
Defo stay at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park - great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.