We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #100 of 457 Hotels in New York City
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A romantic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I live in NYC but we wanted to get away and also visit the downtown area.
We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Battery Park City. We stayed on the executive floor with lounge
accessand took advantage of the weekend package with a view of the Staue of liberty. It was very nice and the concerige could not have been more helpful. The staff in the lounge waited on us hand and foot. They remembered our morning coffee preference sand evening cocktails and after an afternoon out it was a real joy coming back to our oasis. I have come to the conclusion that you recieve what you put into it, being polite and civil goes a long way to having the staff treat you right. We noticed some rude individuals who where given short shrift by the staff.

Room Tip: Does not have a pool. Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    303
    104
    41
    22
See reviews for
289
379
54
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is very corporate looking. No more special than say, Westin in downtown Phoenix.

There were a lot of stains in the room, on the carpet, armchair, and headboard. Among the hotels we stayed at on our NYC holiday trip, the RC room was in the worst condition.

Unless you are on a corporate expense account and have to stay in the financial district, it'd be wise to spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My first stay at The Ritz Carlton was in 2006 and I have returned several times to stay here. A magnificent hotel, located in Battery Park, downtown Manhattan, this hotel is pricey and commands a place in the market that very few do. I had high floor room with a view and a telescope. The room was perhaps made more fulfilling due to the telescope and I cant remember how many times I used it to see the Statue of Liberty, the harbour, Staten Island and other landmarks across the Hudson. Well laid and spacious room, impeccable service, a bathroom that reminds of the British Raj....spacious, spread out and pampering. The evening turn down service was simply great. The buffet breakfast was a very good spread and Sunday was always special. Courteous staff, always willing to help made stay comfortable and welcoming. The location is great, I could walk to my office every day and back through the river side which was great. The hotel even made my first stay special by giving me a complimentary ride in a limo to China town.

Though many decide to stay in mid or uptown Manhattan, this is a jewel in the crown and a stay to NYC is incomplete without a night at the Ritz Carlton. Try one of the river facing high floor rooms and you will be blown away by the sheer sight of the river and the scenery.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was very nice and the staff all were so helpful.We loved our view from the room of the statue of Liberty. Not really centrally located but we were there to site see so by staying here we used the double decker buses and train.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although we knew its location next to wall street, this ritz was too much business-like. It would've been nice if this was my biz trip but the hotel has little to offer to family. Lobby area was very tight. We were quite disappointed by the mattress. Its quality was something I'd find at 'moderate' hotel, definitely not something I expected from the Ritz. My wife, who works in upscale hotel development business, was shaking her head on the room setting/amenities. All service personnel we had dealt with was excellent and efficient. We saw other families there but we will not be coming back for a family vacation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I'll start with the positive.
For the most part individual hotel team/staff were incredibly service oriented going the extra mile for the tiniest of details (e.g., immediately folding of napkins when away from the table, pouring extra coffee without needing to ask, showing the way to the ladies room, help with doors and with luggage, help with directions, etc.). It felt like there was a genuine desire to please.
Now to the inconsistency where I fault the property in their training and procedures (not individuals).
Upon checking in there was no recognition of my mileage/status with Marriott. There was no communication/engagement in terms of the amenities of the hotel or welcome for what was a wedding weekend. The standard room was standard (and not well lit). I expected more from the brand. My room view was not a view (right into the apartment building next door).
Food trays and glasses were hanging out in the hallway for longer than I thought acceptable. Someone should be patrolling the floors on a rotating basis.
As part of my room staying, late check out was guaranteed. I did not know this initially and this was never mentioned to me.
So for the price you pay, my expectations were not met. Lower cost properties do a better job.

Room Tip: If you want a view, be sure to ask for and/or pay for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent Christmas at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park and it was fantastic. I paid for the liberty view room and it was definitely worth it. I contacted The customer service team and they booked my christmas dinner reservation and put christmas decorations in the room for me. People may complain that this hotel is too far out! The door men will get you a taxi within a couple of minutes; Rector street subway station is one road across and its walkable if you have had enough alcohol from the bar. The bar staff in the hotel are fantastic, full of local information and excellent drink and food advice. The food is excellent and worth the money. If you see lobster mash on their menu have it! Best mash potato ever and i am constantly hunting for the perfect mash.
Made the break away Excellent atmosphere and fantastic staff.
One note book hotel transfers if you go private you will be ripped off and if you want a taxi prepare to queue from the airport for over an hour.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.