We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #107 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service, comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had a very enjoyable 5 night stay at the hotel and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The room was a good size, beds extremely comfortable and the bathroom clean with a very good shower. I made a last minute change to the booking to switch to a double room as a friend decided to join my trip - hotel handled this without a problem.

The location of the hotel is great for accessing the financial district of Manhattan and close to the subway uptown. Alternatively there are always cabs waiting at the door to take you where you need to go. Being on the edge of Manhattan means a slightly quieter location and a walk in Battery Park next to the hotel is a nice way to start the day.

The only reason I haven't rated this hotel as excellent is the lack of in-room coffee making facilities and the very expensive additional charge for wifi. I just don't feel it can be justified.

Room Tip: Statue of Liberty views are a nice touch but you can get a great view from the park next to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    331
    114
    42
    24
See reviews for
314
419
56
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

NYC can be a tough town for excellent service. It stays busy and with almost infinite demand, the popular places don't necessarily think that the customer is king.

Ritz Carlton Battery Park doesn't take its customers for granted. Management runs a tight ship and has happy employees. This is a great place for regular travelers to NYC because the hotel and the staff has a very good memory and that translates to an unexpected personal touch and a quality experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonTrav
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in a Statue of Liberty room on the 7th floor (725). The view was amazing with or without the room's telescope. The bathroom included a bathtub, enclosed stand up shower, and water closet. We had 2 double beds. The location is an easy walk to the 9/11 Memorial and Wall Street area. My daughter works close by so it was a nice way to meet up with her after work. It seems far away at the tip end of Manhattan but it is okay. We took at taxi from the West Village late one night and made it very quickl. There are 2 subway stations close by. And of course, the employees of the Ritz will help get a car or taxi. the front desk clerk even came up with bandaids for my tired feet! Gugino at Wagner Park is across the street. The walk along the water is beautiful. Be sure to go to the American Indian Museum nearby. The architecture in the building is worth a quick look as it is a free museum. We had late night drinks at the hotel bar. The wine and beer selection was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed for a long weekend with my mother and sister, having travelled form the UK for a girls treat. The staff were brilliant from the initial booking until we checked out. We emailed ahead to ask if we could have connecting rooms and we were immediately told that this would be added to our booking.We asked for a late check out and this was also added to the booking. Our rooms were overlooking the Statue of Liberty and we really enjoyed watching ships sail past. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is just across the street from the Battery Park, Statten Island Ferry and Statue of Liberty cruises. The 9\11 memorial is a pleasant 10 minute walk.
It was fantastic to stay in such relaxing surroundings, away from the crowds in other areas of Manhattan. Despite this 5th Ave is only a short hop in a taxi or on the subway.
For anyone travelling from the UK, we had the best pot of tea with breakfast that I have ever had in the States.
I would recommend this hotel and I can't wait to return with my children.

Room Tip: The Liberty rooms are worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, and quiet location. Not far from the metro or the "hop on and off" bus line (citysights). There is a great little market a block over where you can get a great meal or snacks. Worth knowing when you have kids and don't want to pay hotel prices for everything. Right at the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Ritz Carlton at battery park, New York suited us down to the ground. The hotel was great and the staff on the concierge desk were particularly helpful.

The hotel is just a short metro ride to 5th avenue and time square, but coming back to the quiet of the hotel was lovely after the tourist crowds!

Our room had a great view over the Statue of Liberty and was just a short walk from the 9/11 memorial.

A little quiet haven in a city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we have stayed at other RC properties and have had wonderful experiences. Not the case here. Food - poor, service terrible, had to ask to have dirty plates removed from table after dinner. Housecleaning service left our bed pillows on the floor - on a towel - but still on the floor. Drinks at the bar went back three times - out of Bloody Mary Mix - that was the reason given for the poor quality of the cocktail. Requested flowers, chocolates and champagne to be in our room as a birthday surprise - did not happen. When asked about this, the Concierge stated that she simply did not know what or why. As it turned out my wife's roses were at her (the concierge's) desk. The bed was the most uncomfortable of any hotel we have stayed. Had to have medical care on my back when we came home. Since we live in Manhattan we have many choices of luxury hotel from which to choose. Would not recommend this hotel. As a grand farewell, when I called the front desk if the bellman would come and help with our luggage, the response was a profound "Sure!" Not a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.