We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #95 of 451 hotels in New York City
cdwchgo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my 3rd stay for an annual conference at the hotel. This time I was given a corner room which included a view of the new Freedom Tower(room 405). Beds are very comfortable and a large room certainly by Manhattan standards. Very clean; lots of light; live person for wake up calls and a snooze with the person calling bacin in 15mins. if you want. Very nice shower, robes, and toiletries. Rooms also seem well built as minimal noise. Workout room is compact but lost of options there. The breakfast and lunch served at the conference were top notch. I could also leave my bag there after checking out. The only drawback is that it's a bit of a walk to the trains, and away from midtown, theatre district etc.

Room Tip: I was given a corner rm #405 which have the Freedom Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    646
    277
    92
    39
    20
See reviews for
255
352
50
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Seriously no coffee in the rooms and no where to purchase a cup within the hotel itself!!! My first and last time at this hotel....the rooms are average and the hotel isolated from conveniences. Stuck here for 3 days due to a conference...grrr!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks and beverages otherwise you will be hungry and grouchy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Although not in the most desirable location, RC Battery Park is pretty much flawless. Service from check-in to check-out is excellent, the staff is always prompt to help you and the rooms will certainly not disappoint you.
I was upgraded to an incredible Liberty Statue View Suite and given Club access, which is a really nice plus considering the free breakfast and beverages / nibbles all day long.
Definitely one of the best options if you have business in the Financial District area and also worth a shot if you don't mind staying in the region.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I treated my newlywed cousins to a weekend in NYC at the Ritz Battery Park. The room view was the main reason--we overlooked NY harbor and the Statue of Liberty. I was worried about the Ritz which is basically a Marriott with that level of service. You have to push staff for better service which is tiresome yet productive eventually (like a room available for check-in at 3 pm--imagine? or free Internet for a room costing nearly $600 per night). Gone are the days when there was a door person to smile and open the door (it happens rarely now). Gone are the days when there is tea with the coffee in the morning for those folks on the run. Gone are the days when the staff in the restaurant don't congregate, don't banter and don't forget to bring you a cup of $14 black tea that you have to get up and ask to receive. The cost of a few breakfast drinks and 2 fruit yogurt granola cocktails was over $80. (Hint: go outside the hotel to the left of the front entrance, down the street a block for two good choices: a quick serve food and coffee bar or a sit down cafe). The room was comfortable, had a very good view and a luxurious bathroom although the tv didn't work well (sound was only on select channels which they tried but failed to resolve). Would I stay here again for personal reasons? No, there are more optimal choices in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Statue of Liberty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is my second stay with this hotel. The location is simply wonderful; away from the hustle and bustle of midtown, on the Hudson. The park is just across the street, which lends to wonderful walks along the waterfront.

The staff, from the doorman to the front desk and waiters were all very polished and professional. The hotel lobby and lounges are very upscale, and the hotel room is pristine and simply perfect! The view of the Statue of Liberty from our room never fails to amaze me, and having a telescope in the room is an added bonus!

Staying at this hotel is worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Ritz Carlon is very well located on Battery pak with nice view on the harbour rooms are confortable but needs refurbishment to meet five stars properties like the Peninsula
there is no decent spa and the gym equipment is poor
would still recommend the hotel as the staff is very friendly and prices are affordable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Amy and I brought our three girls (15, 5, and 4) to a fast and furious tour of the City for the Memorial Day weekend... and chose to stay at the Ritz Battery Park for Saturday night. We got a huge suite on the 3rd floor. While it did not face the Statue of Liberty, all else was grand and way over the top of our expectations.

When the front desk guy said this was a large room, he wasn't kidding! There was a large entry, with a half bath and a bar, then access into the large living room with a modern partners desk setup to one side. The queen sized pull out sleeper was perfect for our oldest. And we had a crib for the youngest which was setup quickly after our request (this was around 12:30 am!!)

The Master suite had a king bed, a sitting area, large flat panel TV (didn't watch anything), a walk-in closet that was nearly the size of other normal NYC hotel rooms, and a gigantic bathroom, which included a soaking tub, a two-person shower, separate toilet area, and his/her counters facing a large mirror.

Since it was Saturday night... there was a wedding in the downstairs function area... which was just one floor below us. We could all hear the pounding beat of what was DJ music. While JQ and YV were already asleep... there's no way the rest of us would given the proximity of the music. The first time I called, I was told they were about to wrap up... and the music should be going too much longer, if at all.

We had to order some room service anyway, so I was OK... by the time our French Onion soup and New York Cheesecake arrived... the music had not subsided. It was after 1am, so I called the second time, and sure enough, within a few minutes the music ended. I had to be a party-pooper especially for a wedding, but we did see a whole bunch of guests leaving already... and their time was set to end at mid-night... so at least the one extra hour was reasonable for us tired travelers! (Sorry... whomever you are if you're reading this post.)

The soup was piping hot, which is the only way I like soup... and the cheese with tons of onions and rye bread base was fantastic... Amy ordered it to keep things light. I'd say the broth was definitely rich with flavor but light on the stomach! However, the Cheesecake was a totally different matter...

The three of us could not get enough of the wonderful cheesecake with strawberries on the side. The crust was super good, just the right thickness on the bottom, and just slightly more on the side... sheer perfect for an after mid-night snack.

The next morning, we all prepared for check-out... it was a one night stay, at a beautiful place with a huge room that our girls will always remember!

Room Tip: The highest floor is the 14th I think, since everything else above that are residences... at least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.