We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #97 of 452 hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. We received a room upgrade to a 1 -bedroom suite which had a beautiful view of Lady Liberty. The brunch at the restaurant was very good. Ask for the pretzel rolls with the honey-mustard butter.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    294
    97
    40
    21
See reviews for
274
366
52
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 nt work/play trip. I loved that I could enjoy a hectic day in the city and then come back to a quiet, clean, and comfortable room at the end of the night. The harbor view was amazing. I know I will be choosing this RC when I come back with my kids because they will love the view too.

Room Tip: Get harbor view suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband, daughter (10) and I recently stayed here for one night. We had a Liberty view room, which was outstanding. The room itself was large and comfortable. My daughter referred to the beds as "princess beds," as they were so comfortable. The bathroom was also fantastic-all standard Ritz. We had drinks in the bar which were fine, I didn't think overly priced at all. Room service for dinner was a disappointment for the most part but breakfast downstairs was excellent! We had a glitch with receiving our car from valet, waited over an hour, but the valets were quick to make amends to have the parking charge removed. Overall an excellent experience and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was superb! Everyone was helpful & informative. The hotel itself is a bit on the older side but very well maintained. Very clean and rooms are nice. An older feel to the rooms but still very tastefully decorated. The area is very peaceful and walking distance to many areas. Rooms had a small safe & basic amenities. Loved the water pressure in the shower. This hotel made for a very quiet and pleasurable stay. If you like the hussle & bussle of the big city or the more modern younger hip hotel then I would say stay in Time square not in this area.

Room Tip: Staue of liberty view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay the Ritz Carlton in Battery Park. It is a peaceful area in which to stay over the weekend compared to other areas of Manhattan. We had a Statue of Liberty view room which was great since the hotel provides a telescope in the room. The large bath room had a separate shower big enough for two. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. We ordered room service for breakfast and the service and food were excellent. Nicely equipped, uncrowded gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, USA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The service at the Ritz was stellar! The hotel is beautiful and the harbor view room with a telescope for viewing Lady Liberty was just outstanding! Highly recommend this property and will absolutely return on future trips to the city!

Room Tip: Request a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ritz was a great place to stay on my recent business trip to New York. The rooms were as nice as you can find in NYC and the views were great. The room was large and I had a view of Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty, The restaurant in the lobby was also very good. I highly recommend the Ritz for a business or pleasure trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#87 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.