We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #101 of 455 Hotels in New York City
florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New York's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very luxurious. We had a corner suite which was very big and had a gorgeous view. Our room also had a telescope so hat we could look at the Statue of Liberty. Location is very quite and great to walk around on the promenade. Typical of a Rotz Carlon the beds were heavenly! I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Nice Club Level. Choose a high floor and a corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    300
    103
    41
    22
See reviews for
285
375
53
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay if you want luxury and a great location away from chaotic Manhattan. The battery park is very nice, with nice breeze 24/7..
Many rooms have view of the city [great] or the Statue of Liberty... they provide you with a scope for further exploration. Across the hotel you can walk by the Hudson and enjoy the many boats, and NJ. At night, lights from other buildings will dazzle you. Very close is the dock to go to the statue of Liberty. Expensive, but again this is Manhattan !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Were there a week before Christmas. Nice decoration, Nice view of the Liberty statue. Very polite and helpful staff. Were there to celebrate my wife's birthday and they've sent a little something in our room for the occasion. However location is not ideal. Couldn't be more downtown than this. Normally I would stay closer to Time Square or Central Park. We had to take the subway to get anywhere. It was a fine weekend. I can check my bucket list but I don't think I will go back.

Room Tip: The ones with a view on the Liberty statue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December and was really underwhelmed which is very unusual for a Ritz property. From the time we arrived until we checked out I found the doormen and the front desk employees to be less than helpful. The doorman never offered to help with luggage, open a door, instead just pointed to where the door was. The location of the hotel is at the southern tip of Manhattan and some of the rooms have views of the Statue of Liberty which is pretty cool and some rooms have a telescope which was a nice touch. Please keep in mind my review is based on previous experiences at different Ritz hotels and the fact that I was paying around $700 per night for the room. If this was a $300 a night hotel the review would be glowing but my expectations go up with the price tag and go even higher when you hang a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons sign outside your door.

Room Tip: The concierge level rooms cost more but are a good deal considering the food and beverage options yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Ritz is everything you want from a hotel. The staff are attentive, there's coffee in the lobby each morning and your room is serviced twice a day. We were there after Christmas but it still felt special with holiday tunes playing and their unique edible tree! Hopefully will be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Trip to NYC to see The Boss at MetLife and stayed here for a couple of nights. 9th floor room with a super view of the Statue of Liberty and the comings and goings in the harbour (plus a telescope!). Room was everything you would expect from a Ritz-Carlton, service was top notch. Restaurant served up a good NY strip sirloin. Good transport links with the subway a 5 minute walk away. Good location. Only downside is a lack of alternative eateries nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Ritz Carlton is located at the very end of the row of skyscrapers over looking the NYC harbour. Being the last building it is exposed and isolated, albeit a short walk from the ferries. The service is as you expect, the rooms wonderful and the food ordinary, although portions are huge - way more than necessary. Watch that you acually get the variety of drinks you ordered in your cocktail. The bar is skilled at using a cheaper version - gin etc... Being at the end of the road does mean that the hotel is a short walk from local breakfast/snack joints that populate so much of NYC. Breakfast in the hotel, while very nice, is expensive. Try 'Georges' at 78 Greenwich ( 10 min walk ) for a simple breakfast with good portions, endless coffee and a smile. Also be aware that post hurricane Sandy the ferry tours do NOT stop at Liberty or Ellis Island. Sea damage has prevented the boats from docking there.

Room Tip: There are some large electric generators working 24 hours a day just across the street that emit a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.