We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Business in Wall St. Area its a Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #107 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“For Business in Wall St. Area its a Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Battery Park Ritz is in an odd area at the lower tip of Manhattan, and unless you have business in the Wall Street area, there is no reason to stay here. This is a solid hotel, but nothing special or "Ritz-like." This is reflected in the price, which is far lower than its counterpart on Central Park South.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    330
    114
    42
    24
See reviews for
313
415
56
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the executive floor of this beautiful location. The ease of coming and going with access to snacks, food and drink in great comfort was terrific. It was a great business location for work downtown. Even got to walk to the 9/11 memorial site. Location a bit isolated but venue, views and quality of the facility were top shelf!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are New Yorkers who no longer live in New York. So we know the City extremely well and love coming to this Ritz every Christmas season. Let everyone else stay uptown at the over-priced properties and deal with the frenetic crowds. We come down to the peace and quiet of Christmas season Wall Street, when employees are few and the lower part of Manhattan is as quiet as it gets. We still go uptown to see shows, have dinner, etc - but this hotel also gives you quick access to the ever-improving Tribeca, for example.

We think this hotel has great value if you pick the right dates. We love the people there (so disagree with the assessments of others) and love having breakfast and taking a walk along the beautifully restored water-front. They try to upgrade you and some of the rooms that face the Statue of Liberty are just lovely. We always try to stay in the corner suites - great rooms.

This hotel is a five star oasis away from the crowds but perfectly accessible to everything New York City. The views are better than any New York hotel - with the possible exception of those that overlook Central Park. Give it a try - we have now for eight years.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved staying at the Ritz in Battery Park. We used to live in Battery Park and love the neighborhood, even though it is farther away from the main attractions in Midtown. The staff at the Ritz are exceptional, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the views of the Hudson and Statue of Liberty unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed there the week before Sandy hit New York City and it was an overall good stay.
I have been in other Ritz Carlton Hotels in the past (San Francisco, Halfmoon Bay and Beaver Creek) and found the Battery Park property in general similar. What I was not impressed by was the Bell Captains team overall. The overall customer comes first and there is never a NO to a customer was missing entirely. I also got the impression that the value of a customer is being determined by the amount of tip he gives… I was there on a business trip and therefore the 500 USD (discounted rate) did not hurt me personally but I would not pay this kind of money for the place myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel was comfortable, very business like and friendly. But it lacks charm and hospitality.

The rooms are are good size, the beds Ritz-Carlton standard (very comfortable) and the bathroom is very spacious with a wonderful powershower.

The location is convenient if you are doing business in downtown Manhattan.

There is really nothing to complain about in this hotel, but it also feels really boring. Uninspiring even on a business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hats off to the staff of the Ritz Carlton in Battery Park. Sure it is away from alot of the typical NYC sites, but the staff, the property, the views are just unbeatable in Manhattan. We were greeted by name every where we went, got absolutely perfect dinner recommendations and the room was outstanding, very large, great beds, good rest after travelling from Singapore. The club lounge was well appointed and quiet too, made for a nice way to start our evenings with a cocktail. We will return!

Room Tip: Spend the $$ and get one of the suites with Statue of Liberty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star hotel in lower Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.