We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & filling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Shack - Upper East Side

Shake Shack - Upper East Side
154 East 86th Street, New York City, NY 10028 (Upper East Side)
646 237 5035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap & filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Delicious hotdogs & frozen custard, one serving of fries is enough for 2-3 people to share. Seating was pretty tight though, lots of table stalkers, and always a line for the restroom.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    70
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On entering the Shake Shack I nearly walked straight out again as there was a lengthy line, but as I had looked at the menu online I really wanted a hotdog.....one of their 'Dapper Dogs' so I duly waited, when my turn came I ordered a Dapper Dog and Fries and hot chocolate ....I was given what looked like a cross between an old style pager and a taser !

Fast forward ten minutes or so, having found a seat...not an easy thing to do at lunchtime the 'taser' started going off so I went to the collection point and got my food.

The dog was delicious, fries OK, but (can we talk?) the hot chocolate was the best hot chocolate I have ever had, very chocolaty whilst being creamy and sweet mmmmmm

Will definitely brave the queues and less than private seating arrangements to eat there next time I'm in NYC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good place to stop by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice typical New York place. Find perfect hot dog and brownie.
Don’t hesitate to stop and take your time. Sometime it is full :-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I read a review from David Lebovitz' blog and glad we tried it. These were tasty burgers! Good buns, fresh toppings, yummy crinkly fries. Will be sure to stop here on our return visits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger, Like West Coast In and Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Open late, real good food fast, thick shakes, nice crowd also wen to the one in Time Square.......the bomb

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack - Upper East Side also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack - Upper East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Shack - Upper East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.