We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for its history and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelsea Hotel
Save Saved
You added Chelsea Hotel to your Saves list
222 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You pay for its history and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The location is really good, you can basically walk to the Village, Meatpacking and 14th street. However the rooms and the service is really poor, but you stay here to be a part of the history of many rock legends like Janis Joplin and Bob Dylan.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    37
    28
    68
See reviews for
28
104
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here in a little room back in 2007. Kind of a last hurrah for a fading relationship. And what better place for such a thing than the Chelsea. Great location, ambiance oozing from every pore, a great experience. Fingers crossed for a refurb that honours the history of this grande dame....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Chelsea is famous.
What's cool about it is the stuff they don't tell you about a lot.
Like there's real art on the walls, every floor and stairway in between.
And there's art in the people who stay here.
It says, you're free to experiment. Location is great, and it does help
to know that Janis Joplin and Leonard Cohen (what a mix) got it on here.
Ref; "I remember you well in Chelsea Hotel" by Leonard Cohen.
Cool hotel, big rooms, a bit old, but then so are the sixties.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If it"s a "been there!" experience...you've kinda missed the boat. I stayed there in 1992 - just so I could say I had and it was a dump & the room was dirty and had cockroaches. It's certainly moved on from that.
The art is a highlight and the wooden gothic feel is always welcome to me but if it's luxury you're after forget it.
It's a great location, near subway station and eateries. The other guests were friendly. They tend to "hang out" in the lobby so...good luck!
There's great history but I imagine, even in the 1970's, in it's heyday the rude and SILENT front desk people were famously rude. They were in 1992 and weren"t very helpful this time round either.
The whole of NYC has changed A LOT since I was there last and certainly since the '70's I'm sure.
There is no "scene" anymore at the Chelsea hotel. I missed it the first time and it ain't there now so suggest you go find it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days while in NY with friends.
Very different from anything I was used to. Old wooden furniture in the rooms, and beautifully decorated lobby with rare pieces of art. Fabulous paintings on the walls on every floor. The lobby is a great place to relax, read a book and admire the art around you.
Impossing building with a lot of history, the hotel is located in a very convenient location with regards to the means of transportation. The metro station is just around the corner. Also there is a super market across the street. Good choice, nice experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay, Hotel Chelsea was a fabulous place to be, 610 was a big suite of 7 rooms, comfortable and stylish.

We were stuck in NYC due to the volcano ash cloud so we also stayed in 520 as well, great rooms, great history, great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

used to live in NYC and anytime I visit I try to stay there. To me this hotel is a true essence of NY - old strange building with beautiful art in hallways and lobby. Slightly squeaky floor and large doors - give a very gothic feel. You get a fabulous room with high ceiling and view of the city below , wood furniture, bed with huge comfy pillows and the location is absolutely the best - metro just around the corner and stores and markets everywhere. Delicious donut shop downstairs.I think you can make new friends just hanging out in the lobby - a lot of artists sitting there and talking.Would give it excellent review but the staff...not always helpful and sort of ignores guests but is new york after all!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 222 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea is a world renowned residence for artists, musicians, writers, philosophers, and characters of the most singular and eccentric stripe which the imagination might conjure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.