We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beecher's Handmade Cheese

Beecher's Handmade Cheese
900 Broadway, New York City, NY 10003
212-466-3340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,294 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 20th Street
Transit: N, R, W, Q, L or 4, 5, 6 Trains to 14th Street/Union Square or R, W Trains to 23rd Street/Broadway.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were directed downstairs to the cellar which was quite dark and very noisy and seated at the end of a table with three other people. The ambience was nice with lots of candlelight. We both ordered mac and cheese which was delicious. Mine was the crab variety so it was quite rich and heavy. It would have been nice to have had a little something else besides just mac and cheese to break up the taste... Even carrot sticks or a side of broccoli would have been a good addition. After we dined in the cellar, I was informed that we could have ordered on the main level and dined upstairs where it would have been quieter. Now we know for next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious treats in the cellar and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stumbled from the rain into this cheese shop with basement cellar restaurant. We tried the Beecher cheese plate and had three of their cheeses. All were beyond our expectations. Great craft beer and cocktail list too. Definetly worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Favorite Gourmet Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are many, many gourmet shops in New York, but Beecher's is my favorite. Everything they make there is tasty and gorgeous. The people who work there are friendly and helpful, and they also are peddling a unique collection of local cheeses.
I treated myself to a piece of brie unlike anything I could get in a supermarket. And their Flagship cheese, given in free samples, is the best anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great for adults, NOT for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved the grilled cheese sandwiches, and the turkey sandwich was incredible. Awesome staff. Not sure why they are known for their mac & cheese....we were not fans. My kids muscled through, but really not a place for the PB&J crowd. The staff was awesome - even gave my kids some cookies for the road!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Big Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We walked by a building that looked like an old fashioned cheese shop as we were trying to find a place for lunch. At the door was a sign that said "The Worlds Best Macaroni and Cheese". Feeling very hungry and knowing mac & cheese is always a great comfort food we decided to walk inside to see if they had a lunch menu. First we were invited to try a sample of their mac&cheese and although not sure if the worlds best it was delicious and made us want more. They offer several sandwich items all with their own Jack cheese and we samples a dish of mac&cheese, an egg and cheese sandwich and a tuna melt. Each was very good and reasonably priced for the Chelsea eateries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beecher's Handmade Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Beecher's Handmade Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beecher's Handmade Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.