We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“414 - Great Hotel Choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 414 Hotel to your Saves list
414 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save $$$
Ranked #33 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“414 - Great Hotel Choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

414 Hotel is ideallly situated for getting around Manhatten. A boutique hotel,(22 guest rooms) it offers distinctiveness, charm and a personalised touch, comparing favourably to the larger "Chain" options. Particulary welcoming is the very good continental breakfast, included in the price, which is not often the case with alternative hotels. The addition of a "happy Hour" between 5.30 - 7:00pm each evening, when wine, whiskey and cheese and biscuits are available, is also a welcome touch. This offered the chance to meet other guests (and catch up over breakfast!) a great addition for the solo traveller.
414 is family-owned and the hosts were very welcoming and hospitable throughout the duration of my stay. The hotel consists of two buildings, linked by a terrace courtyard which provides an oasis of tranquility to sit out on a nice day. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest that when booking, you ask, if possible, to book a room which doesn't look out onto the main road - West 46th Street - NY is a 24hr city - and the tranquility of the terrace courtyard was not matched, in my experience, in the early hours of the morning! However, this was my only criticism. The room and bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it and would be happy to make it my choice to stay should I return to NY.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you Steve for this very detailed and objective feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed the opportunities to meet other guests at both breakfast and our wine and cheese mixer. You certainly added to the atmosphere with your friendliness. I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us and had such a good experience here. Thanks very much for taking the time to post such a helpful review. Hope to see you back here one day soon. Fondly, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    208
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
45
252
46
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Thanks to Susan and her staff we had an amazing weekend at 414 Hotel! This was an unplanned visit to this amazingly warm and welcoming boutique hotel! We had rented an apt through a vacation rental website for the night and at the last minute the owner had told us that he was having his friends stay at the apt and he was going to put us up at the hotel for 1 night and then move us into his apt... We were less than pleased with him but Susan and her staff made us feel immediately at home, warm, and welcomed! There was a fire going in the fire place when we arrived, they invited us in for breakfast and let us keep our bags there while we went out and toured around. They gave us advice, introduced us to the other hotel guests who were all fun and fantastic as well! A great international crowd! It was really nice! The rooms were great for NYC as well! The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious and had everything we needed! Housekeeping was amazing with a couple of extra towels.. And Drew, was there to greet us when we came in late at night! He was fun to talk with and we spent a few late night hours chatting it up with along with another guest! They have a great little happy hour in the evening as well for guests and Susan was so kind and even told me to invite one of my friends over who was staying in a near by hotel. We were supposed to change over to the the apt on the second night - and with all the inconvenience from the apt owner - when we got back late at night from a day of sightseeing and visiting friends.. and went up to find the apt was unacceptable with no warm water .. we called back to Drew at 414 Hotel and he found us a room... Everyone is amazing there and we will certainly be back. The neighborhood is in the perfect location - it's a quiet street but only a few blocks from Times square, and walking distance to everything.. you can always catch a cab if you want, and plenty of good restaurants close by. The staff is really good about making recommendations for sight seeing and eating as well (and reservations if you need them). This was one of our best stays ever in Manhattan! Highly recommend it! And we will be back on our next trip!!! Thank you Susan and everyone else!!! Including the guests for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this glowing review. I'm so glad that we were able to play such a big role in the success of your weekend. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to seeing you back here soon. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world -- we are truly grateful. Fondly, Susan and the 414 team

(I made sure to tell Drew to read your review and he was very touched by the shout-out).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A two night stay in April. What was so striking was the helpfulness of the staff - and their award-winning friendliness. The room was beautiful, elegant even. We took our breakfast outside and enjoyed the serenity of the courtyard before heading to the many sites and sounds of the city.
We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for this beautiful review! You have no idea how much it means to us. Thank you especially for rating our staff's friendliness as "award-winning" -- I will share that with the team and I know they will be very proud to know that you felt that way. Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review. With deepest thanks, Susan

p.s. I usually have an idea of who is writing, but I can't figure out who you are -- we've had a lot of Bostonians, but can't think of a Kiwi Bostonian. Would love to know who you are...Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for two nights. We liked everything about 414 and plan to return. First, it's centrally located to great restaurants, theaters, and public transport if you want to move around Manhattan. The hotel is family-owned and the owners and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They have a very nice breakfast and wine and cheese every evening. We met and talked to some interesting people from all over. If you want a nice neighborhood, and a very comfortable stay, 414 Hotel is ideal. I'm glad we found it and plan to stay there when we visit Manhattan, which is 3-4 times/year.

Room Tip: we had a first floor room, so it was about 20 seconds to get in and out of the hotel. very handy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Brad -- Thank you for taking the time to post such a favorable review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to know that the 414 was a good fit for you. We look forward to welcoming you and Tanya back in the future. Thanks again for sharing your experience with the world -- we are truly grateful. All the best, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

perfect location, perfect guest service, perfect room.
hotel with breakfast included and free happy hour at 5pm.
simply ... fantastic.
room in the garden are very silent.
With my heavy lugguage I miss the lift!
close to time square but in a silent Street. Perfect STAY

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Barbara -- We loved having you and are so grateful to you for posting such a favorable review. I'm glad the 414 Hotel worked so well for you. We look forward to seeing you back here one day soon. Ciao! Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for two nights in mid-April 2014 and were thoroughly delighted. We found it via Trip Advisor and booked it thru booking.com. The hotel is located on a relatively quiet street on the west side, convenient to Restaurant Row and Times Square and the theater district. It has a European feel, complete with continental breakfast and small courtyard, and the manager and staff could not be more friendly. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious and the bath was relatively new. It even has windows that open! When you go, tell Susan the Jones' said Hi and that we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street. #202 worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We loved having you. Looking forward to seeing you back here -- thanks for all the referrals. We keep getting inquiries from guests saying that the Joneses told them to call. Deeply appreciated. All the best, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel without knowing what to expect. The hotel is incredibly centrally located in Manhattan. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first level 101 & 102 can be quite noisy since other guests have to walk throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I'm so glad you were pleased with your stay. Looking forward to having you back one day soon. Thanks, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than The 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast feel offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 414 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.