We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 414 Hotel to your Saves list
414 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free nights in January!
Ranked #21 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A lovely place to stay whilst in NY. Definitely value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a lovely homely feeling about it, with the friendly staff adding to the experience. The courtyard is a great place to enjoy the complimentary breakfast. Also a great location, close enough to times square without being too close to the hustle and bustle. And the added advantage of free Wi-Fi.

Very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    213
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
274
50
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
holland landing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from 4 days in New York City at the 414. Great location and great staff. Our room was on the courtyard which I would recommend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Easy walking to much of the city and easy access to public transit. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are just back from NYC, spent 6 nights at 414. The location is great, we walked everywhere, the staff were really helpful - the rooms facing the front was a little noisy (according to my room-mate) however nothing that ear plugs won't fix. Definitely recommend this hotel for travelers who want a good base and spend most of their time out and about, also do a great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were very pleased with the relaxed and friendly feeling we had while staying here. Our room was off the courtyard in the brownstone in the back. Very quiet. We also had no smoke intrusion from the few smokers in the small courtyard. The room was very clean and well maintained. The cute little breakfast was just right and we got to meet other people from all over. Highly recommend this place. It is close to theaters, Chelsy Pier, lots of food, and it was very inexpensive.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so go for a ground floor or courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently returned from a stay at this small boutique style hotel. Friendly & helpful staff who provided us with all manner of info upon request. Great location for Broadway, Times Square etc. The hotel consists of 2 buildings divided by a small courtyard terrace, great for having breakfast outside or just to take a breather from the frantic pace of NYC. Very comfy beds in perfectly adequate rooms. If your room is at the front of the hotel facing West 46th St, then be prepared for some noise late at night & early hours of following day. The usual sirens (inevitable in NYC), honking of horns (despite a $350.00 fine) if caught of course, by far the worst offenders are late night revellers who feel the need to scream & shout on the street without any consideration for residents or visitors, especially at the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

room was extremely small and very noisy, however this could be overlooked if the staff were friendly and helpful. Most unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo,ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I almost hate to add to the praises heaped on this place, because I'm afraid it will get priced out of my range. But my experience was great here. The location was wonderful, the staff was wonderful, the room was fine (trouble with TV channels, but I didn't care enough to ask for help), continental breakfast included good coffee so I was happy about that.

Having morning coffee in the courtyard was fun; sitting on the front steps with a.m. coffee was fun, too. I had no trouble sleeping. Plus the area felt like a real neighborhood, which was a nice homey feeling after the ramped-up intensity of Liberty Island, Times Square, etc.

Room Tip: A/C in my room was a room A/C; I assume that's true throughout the hotel. I chose a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than The 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast feel offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 414 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.