We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would defiantly recommend ... Could do with a bit of TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Holiday Rates!
Ranked #349 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would defiantly recommend ... Could do with a bit of TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked via a Thomas cook agent and they were not wrong at all when they said it was in an ideal location. Just a 5-7 min walk to Times Square - close enough to get to but far enough away to hide from. On arrival at the hotel we were early, this wasn't a problem as the very helpful and friendly reception staff at first said we can store our bags as our room wasn't ready but was then able to check us into a different room that was ready - we were room 805 (8th floor). On entering the hotel it is noticeable that it is of the older fashion design and is not 'fashionable' but it is tasteful, nice, clean and welcoming. The entrance is still grand. From the decor and the lifts you can tell this is an older hotel but this was defiantly not a problem for us visiting as a young couple. When we got into our room we were very pleased ... It was a very good size, very presentable and clean. The bed was a queen size! There was 3/4 bedside units for storage, a nice spacey bathroom and a storage cupboard/wardrobe. The view from our window wasn't great but we were only there to sleep, we could see the church which was beautiful. Our bathroom is due a refurbishment in my eyes, it was nice and it was clean but there was some rust visible, some marks in the bath and the tiles needed a bit of love. In the whole of our room we could also only find one plug socket that would work, and that was the one in the bathroom. Also, the lights didn't all work in our room so at times it was darker than I would have liked. There was a little noise from outside which started earlish in the morning but it didn't cause us any problems at all. Don't be put off by the heat of the reception area or lifts (which is very warm) as once you are in your room it is the right temperature. We were told on booking that the hotel had wifi however; we were never able to connect to this - wifi would be a very welcomed addition to this hotel. We didn't visit the restaurant/bar/solarium so would be unable to comment. The deli/cafe next door to the hotel is fab for breakfast! There was 2 weddings taking place during our 5 night stay and at first when we got back one evening we were worried that the loud music would be a pain however; once in our room with the door closed we didn't hear it at all! We were able to keep our bags safe as our flight was way after check out time. The hotel is so close to Rockefeller centre too!! We would defiantly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again if we were to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

very nice hotel, recommended it to me my friend and I am impressed, clean, and the quality is pretty good as the more expensive hotels, is close to the city center, the atmosphere welcoming as the family home, all ok and no problems would recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decent value, friendly staff & excellent location. This is a members club and you can stay there by invitation. No frills, however, if you just need a place to sleep and shower I would recommend. Taxi drivers did had some difficulty locating but once I new how to explain there was generally no problems getting there. It can be congested around that area as shows are busy at night so allow enough time to catch cab or other transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Centrally and superbly situated for exploring Manhattan. 2 subway-stations very nearby The staff is very friendly and very helpfull, The rooms are large and clean but a little bit old-fashioned. No breakfast in the week-end

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the beautiful and quaint boutique hotel. The food is delicious and fresh, and the table linens freshly pressed. Staff really accommodating. Front desk clerks great with info, maps, and general help. The best part is the location - West 51st and 5th Ave in midtown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinghall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here and were unsure as to what to expect for the price and some reviews on here. It was infact nothing less than excellent and anyone who has said otherwise has very strange ideas of a good hotel! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, staff excellent and couldn't do enough for all guests. We unfortunately chose to stay just before, during and after hurricaine sandy and said before we left that the reason for paying less for our hotel was 'we are not going to spend anytime in our room when we are in New York'! This was put the the test as we couldn't really leave the hotel for a couple of days during our stay while the storm was passing! We found during this time, we felt safe, reassured, welcome and well looked after despite there being only 3 members of staff instead of approx 25!! One of the fantastic men on reception even lent me his own mobile charger after I was unable to get another - most accomodating.

We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and its staff for a stay in New York and if we ever visited again we would not consider looking anywhere else - the location was MORE THAN 5* and a New Yorker that gave us a tour said you could expect to pay $500 a night to stay where we were!!

Thank you again everyone, what a fabulous find!

Room Tip: We were room 701 and found this brilliant - expect some noise you are in NEW YORK!! We slept perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (an Australian couple aged in our 50's) recently spent 6 nights here. Never having been to NYC before, we greatly enjoyed being in such a central location - it is easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, etc. Close to a subway station so also easy to get anywhere else in Manhattan. The hotel is the Women's National Republican Club and lots of club activities and other events such as wedding receptions take place here. The Club members we met were all gracious and charming and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We diplomatically kept our political opinions to ourselves. One evening we had the unexpected pleasure of listening to songs being performed very professionally in the dining area by a group of mature-aged people who meet there regularly. Be prepared to wear something dressier than jeans and sneakers in the bar and dining room as there is a dress code, however everyone is so polite I suspect nothing would be said whatever you wore. The building was built in the 1930s and while it is showing signs of age, it is still lovely with lots of wood and marble. Very clean, old- fashioned place. The restaurant meals were delicious. Only disadvantages are that the restaurant is closed on weekends (but there are lots of other places to eat nearby) and the bedrooms, which have single pane windows, get noise coming from the street all night long. On the Saturday night when there was a large event happening, we also experienced some noise coming through clearly from the next room. The noise didn't worry me as I wore ear plugs but it bothered my husband. This is an interesting and comfortable place, more of a club with some guest bedrooms than a normal hotel. Our experience was extremely positive overall and I recommend this Club to anyone who wants something a bit different to a stay in a boring, standard, modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. As we are housed in the clubhouse of the Women's National Republican Club, we do require guests that utilize our Pub and Restaurant adhere to a dress code. Men are required to wear jackets and ties and women should be attired in dresses, skirts or pant suits. Jeans, shorts and flip flops are not allowed in the restaurant or bar area. Please contact the front desk for assistance with the dress code. We also do not have a business center. Our check in time is 3 PM and our check out time is noon. We cannot guarantee early check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.