We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is this hotel's best asset!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Save Saved
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location is this hotel's best asset!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decent value, friendly staff & excellent location. This is a members club and you can stay there by invitation. No frills, however, if you just need a place to sleep and shower I would recommend. Taxi drivers did had some difficulty locating but once I new how to explain there was generally no problems getting there. It can be congested around that area as shows are busy at night so allow enough time to catch cab or other transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
16
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zottegem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Centrally and superbly situated for exploring Manhattan. 2 subway-stations very nearby The staff is very friendly and very helpfull, The rooms are large and clean but a little bit old-fashioned. No breakfast in the week-end

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the beautiful and quaint boutique hotel. The food is delicious and fresh, and the table linens freshly pressed. Staff really accommodating. Front desk clerks great with info, maps, and general help. The best part is the location - West 51st and 5th Ave in midtown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinghall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here and were unsure as to what to expect for the price and some reviews on here. It was infact nothing less than excellent and anyone who has said otherwise has very strange ideas of a good hotel! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, staff excellent and couldn't do enough for all guests. We unfortunately chose to stay just before, during and after hurricaine sandy and said before we left that the reason for paying less for our hotel was 'we are not going to spend anytime in our room when we are in New York'! This was put the the test as we couldn't really leave the hotel for a couple of days during our stay while the storm was passing! We found during this time, we felt safe, reassured, welcome and well looked after despite there being only 3 members of staff instead of approx 25!! One of the fantastic men on reception even lent me his own mobile charger after I was unable to get another - most accomodating.

We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and its staff for a stay in New York and if we ever visited again we would not consider looking anywhere else - the location was MORE THAN 5* and a New Yorker that gave us a tour said you could expect to pay $500 a night to stay where we were!!

Thank you again everyone, what a fabulous find!

Room Tip: We were room 701 and found this brilliant - expect some noise you are in NEW YORK!! We slept perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (an Australian couple aged in our 50's) recently spent 6 nights here. Never having been to NYC before, we greatly enjoyed being in such a central location - it is easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, etc. Close to a subway station so also easy to get anywhere else in Manhattan. The hotel is the Women's National Republican Club and lots of club activities and other events such as wedding receptions take place here. The Club members we met were all gracious and charming and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We diplomatically kept our political opinions to ourselves. One evening we had the unexpected pleasure of listening to songs being performed very professionally in the dining area by a group of mature-aged people who meet there regularly. Be prepared to wear something dressier than jeans and sneakers in the bar and dining room as there is a dress code, however everyone is so polite I suspect nothing would be said whatever you wore. The building was built in the 1930s and while it is showing signs of age, it is still lovely with lots of wood and marble. Very clean, old- fashioned place. The restaurant meals were delicious. Only disadvantages are that the restaurant is closed on weekends (but there are lots of other places to eat nearby) and the bedrooms, which have single pane windows, get noise coming from the street all night long. On the Saturday night when there was a large event happening, we also experienced some noise coming through clearly from the next room. The noise didn't worry me as I wore ear plugs but it bothered my husband. This is an interesting and comfortable place, more of a club with some guest bedrooms than a normal hotel. Our experience was extremely positive overall and I recommend this Club to anyone who wants something a bit different to a stay in a boring, standard, modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in NYC for 4 nights at the beginning of october and we are a married couple in our mid 20's.

Location: one word.....EXCELLENT!!! The hotel is 1 minute from the Rockefeller centre/top of the rock and about a 5-10 min tube ride to Times Square but you can walk there in under 15 minutes tops. Same time to Central Park, maybe a bit less. Not noisy either. Nearest tube station is 1 min away at the Rockefeller Centre.

Hotel: really pleased with the hotel. We are always a bit dubious when we read bad reviews but we were very impressed. The rooms were perfect for what we needed which was just as a place to sleep because what else do you need when your in New York?! Our flight arrived at 6am and usual check-in time is not till 2pm but they managed to give us a room which was available so we checked in straight away. There is a restaurant at the hotel but we didn't use it.

The staff were great, as in we were really impressed. They all went out of their way to help us organise our day, give advice and they even leant us a NYC guide book because we forgot ours. I can't talk highly enough about them.
There is wifi in the hotel but we only managed to get it in the lobby. Our room was on the 7th floor and we couldn't access it.

Rooms: Beds were comfy, decent sized bathrooms, towels and toiletries provided. Tv and air con. Perfect for what we wanted and the price we paid. There is no safe but valuables can be locked in hotel safe (this can only be accessed by hotel manager and he is only there Monday to Friday).

Good points: Location location location!!!! Price. Staff were very friendly.
Bad points : wifi not accessible through the whole hotel. No safe in room. (Even though these are bad points this didn't really affect us). Wen you realise the location of the hotel it wins leaps and bounds.

Advice for NYC: buy the NYC pass. It's saves you A LOT of money on attractions. We worked out it saved us nearly £300. Also buy an unlimited metro pass which you can get from the subway stations. We did a 7 day pass and its well worth the $29 per person. We used the subway a lot and its really easy to use and quick. Trains go frequently.

Forget all the negative reviews of this place. If we return we WILL stay here. Top job.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 6 nights here on our first visit to the city. Adequate accommodations, a great location to get to all the tourist sites, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Agree with reviewer about the pillows, but wouldn't discount this facility for that reason.. It was a minor annoyance, and I'm sure if I'd asked, I could have got a replacement. Our 6 th floor room on the street side was very clean and not noisy. It was small, but the deep soaking tub made up for it in my humble opinion.

What did surprise me was learning about the dress code in reading the room information notebook. I had NOT noticed this anywhere in the web information I'd perused before making this choice. Jacket required to use the dining room ( apparently some are available to borrow)... And if you are wearing denim, shorts, or sandals you are supposed to use a side entrance and not the front door. Since we didn't know this ahead of time we did not come prepared. Everything we'd read about vacationing in NYC suggested that casual attire was pretty much acceptable at most venues, including Broadway shows. (And, that was indeed our experience). That said, we did use the front door, and no one chastised us.

Since we weren't members, some services ( the business center, 9th floor) ) were not available to us. But when I couldn't get wi-fi in the lobby ( supposed to be available up to the 4th floor in your room) I was able to get it in the hall outside that business center. No coffee in the room, ice available in a service area on the 2nd floor, but bring your own container.

Do not miss going up to the solarium on the 9th floor where there is a balcony and tables for taking in a bit of a view with your morning coffee (if you've run out to the deli to get it).

The front desk was willing to print our boarding passes for flight home.

Also, we found the deli next door great for getting our morning coffee and, in a pinch, a quick breakfast sandwich before heading out to the day.... Two Starbucks are close by, if you're inclined to walk a block or two. The subway is close and very easy to master, at least for getting up-(north) or downtown.

I definitely recommend 3 West Club and will stay again on future visits.

Room Tip: Stay in 4th floor or below if wi-fi in your room is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;