We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect even during a Hurricaine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Holiday Rates!
Ranked #349 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Killinghall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Location perfect even during a Hurricaine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here and were unsure as to what to expect for the price and some reviews on here. It was infact nothing less than excellent and anyone who has said otherwise has very strange ideas of a good hotel! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, staff excellent and couldn't do enough for all guests. We unfortunately chose to stay just before, during and after hurricaine sandy and said before we left that the reason for paying less for our hotel was 'we are not going to spend anytime in our room when we are in New York'! This was put the the test as we couldn't really leave the hotel for a couple of days during our stay while the storm was passing! We found during this time, we felt safe, reassured, welcome and well looked after despite there being only 3 members of staff instead of approx 25!! One of the fantastic men on reception even lent me his own mobile charger after I was unable to get another - most accomodating.

We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and its staff for a stay in New York and if we ever visited again we would not consider looking anywhere else - the location was MORE THAN 5* and a New Yorker that gave us a tour said you could expect to pay $500 a night to stay where we were!!

Thank you again everyone, what a fabulous find!

Room Tip: We were room 701 and found this brilliant - expect some noise you are in NEW YORK!! We slept perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (an Australian couple aged in our 50's) recently spent 6 nights here. Never having been to NYC before, we greatly enjoyed being in such a central location - it is easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, etc. Close to a subway station so also easy to get anywhere else in Manhattan. The hotel is the Women's National Republican Club and lots of club activities and other events such as wedding receptions take place here. The Club members we met were all gracious and charming and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We diplomatically kept our political opinions to ourselves. One evening we had the unexpected pleasure of listening to songs being performed very professionally in the dining area by a group of mature-aged people who meet there regularly. Be prepared to wear something dressier than jeans and sneakers in the bar and dining room as there is a dress code, however everyone is so polite I suspect nothing would be said whatever you wore. The building was built in the 1930s and while it is showing signs of age, it is still lovely with lots of wood and marble. Very clean, old- fashioned place. The restaurant meals were delicious. Only disadvantages are that the restaurant is closed on weekends (but there are lots of other places to eat nearby) and the bedrooms, which have single pane windows, get noise coming from the street all night long. On the Saturday night when there was a large event happening, we also experienced some noise coming through clearly from the next room. The noise didn't worry me as I wore ear plugs but it bothered my husband. This is an interesting and comfortable place, more of a club with some guest bedrooms than a normal hotel. Our experience was extremely positive overall and I recommend this Club to anyone who wants something a bit different to a stay in a boring, standard, modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in NYC for 4 nights at the beginning of october and we are a married couple in our mid 20's.

Location: one word.....EXCELLENT!!! The hotel is 1 minute from the Rockefeller centre/top of the rock and about a 5-10 min tube ride to Times Square but you can walk there in under 15 minutes tops. Same time to Central Park, maybe a bit less. Not noisy either. Nearest tube station is 1 min away at the Rockefeller Centre.

Hotel: really pleased with the hotel. We are always a bit dubious when we read bad reviews but we were very impressed. The rooms were perfect for what we needed which was just as a place to sleep because what else do you need when your in New York?! Our flight arrived at 6am and usual check-in time is not till 2pm but they managed to give us a room which was available so we checked in straight away. There is a restaurant at the hotel but we didn't use it.

The staff were great, as in we were really impressed. They all went out of their way to help us organise our day, give advice and they even leant us a NYC guide book because we forgot ours. I can't talk highly enough about them.
There is wifi in the hotel but we only managed to get it in the lobby. Our room was on the 7th floor and we couldn't access it.

Rooms: Beds were comfy, decent sized bathrooms, towels and toiletries provided. Tv and air con. Perfect for what we wanted and the price we paid. There is no safe but valuables can be locked in hotel safe (this can only be accessed by hotel manager and he is only there Monday to Friday).

Good points: Location location location!!!! Price. Staff were very friendly.
Bad points : wifi not accessible through the whole hotel. No safe in room. (Even though these are bad points this didn't really affect us). Wen you realise the location of the hotel it wins leaps and bounds.

Advice for NYC: buy the NYC pass. It's saves you A LOT of money on attractions. We worked out it saved us nearly £300. Also buy an unlimited metro pass which you can get from the subway stations. We did a 7 day pass and its well worth the $29 per person. We used the subway a lot and its really easy to use and quick. Trains go frequently.

Forget all the negative reviews of this place. If we return we WILL stay here. Top job.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 6 nights here on our first visit to the city. Adequate accommodations, a great location to get to all the tourist sites, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Agree with reviewer about the pillows, but wouldn't discount this facility for that reason.. It was a minor annoyance, and I'm sure if I'd asked, I could have got a replacement. Our 6 th floor room on the street side was very clean and not noisy. It was small, but the deep soaking tub made up for it in my humble opinion.

What did surprise me was learning about the dress code in reading the room information notebook. I had NOT noticed this anywhere in the web information I'd perused before making this choice. Jacket required to use the dining room ( apparently some are available to borrow)... And if you are wearing denim, shorts, or sandals you are supposed to use a side entrance and not the front door. Since we didn't know this ahead of time we did not come prepared. Everything we'd read about vacationing in NYC suggested that casual attire was pretty much acceptable at most venues, including Broadway shows. (And, that was indeed our experience). That said, we did use the front door, and no one chastised us.

Since we weren't members, some services ( the business center, 9th floor) ) were not available to us. But when I couldn't get wi-fi in the lobby ( supposed to be available up to the 4th floor in your room) I was able to get it in the hall outside that business center. No coffee in the room, ice available in a service area on the 2nd floor, but bring your own container.

Do not miss going up to the solarium on the 9th floor where there is a balcony and tables for taking in a bit of a view with your morning coffee (if you've run out to the deli to get it).

The front desk was willing to print our boarding passes for flight home.

Also, we found the deli next door great for getting our morning coffee and, in a pinch, a quick breakfast sandwich before heading out to the day.... Two Starbucks are close by, if you're inclined to walk a block or two. The subway is close and very easy to master, at least for getting up-(north) or downtown.

I definitely recommend 3 West Club and will stay again on future visits.

Room Tip: Stay in 4th floor or below if wi-fi in your room is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a full service hotel, but if you're not bothered by that, you'll love this place. The hotel is intimate, quiet, and has the feel of old New York...or at least what I imagine old New York to feel like. We booked the suite for our family of four and found it lacking for nothing--especially for the price. The room was nicely decorated and included a comfortable king sized bed, a sofa with pullout, and a wing back chair and ottoman. The bathroom was extremely clean and bright with a pedestal sink and a deep bathtub, perfect for soaking. I even had a small room just to apply my makeup and style my hair. We had no trouble with noise even at the height of summer time, and the drapes were appropriately heavy, blocking out the city lights.The room included an armoire with a TV and DVD player which we made use of each evening to entertain the kids.

The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, answering questions, giving recommendations, and even assisting with our luggage after we checked out.

As far as location is concerned, this place can't be beat. Radio City Music Hall to the left, St. Patrick's Cathedral to the right, Rockefeller Center straight ahead, Broadway just down the street. It's a fairly quick walk to the Empire State Building and the Garment District, and we made it to Central Park in no time. Also, if you've forgotten something or just need to buy toiletries, water, or other items, there's a Duane Reede less than a block away. Plentiful shops abound--clothes, shoes, and everything else--we didn't get to do much shopping this go around, but will plan on it for next time. Parking is pretty convenient, as well--two parking garages are available for the hotel's use.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Well the location is about the only positive thing going for this place and so if you remove that as a reason there is no way you should choose this place.

Got in early and had luggage left, but not in a safe room, but rather the open cloak room and so had the lady on the front desk been distracted for a few minutes our luggage could have also been.

Had a room on the 7th floor, hoping I could avoid the street noise. I was wrong. All night it was loud and clear. The 2 pillows were pathetic. I would have thought that since a decent pillow is say $20, lasts for 6 months makes it about 10cents a day.. There should be no excuse for the stuffed rag pockets we received. The bed felt smaller than a single (we had twin double). No room for the cases. The chair at the desk about 50 years old and creaks.

Te best but about this hotel was leaving

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday and Sunday night. The room was nothing fancy but extremely clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave. are both so close. We walked everywhere and only had to pay a taxi fare back and forth to the airport. I will definitely stay here on my next visit and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back of the hotel so we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. As we are housed in the clubhouse of the Women's National Republican Club, we do require guests that utilize our Pub and Restaurant adhere to a dress code. Men are required to wear jackets and ties and women should be attired in dresses, skirts or pant suits. Jeans, shorts and flip flops are not allowed in the restaurant or bar area. Please contact the front desk for assistance with the dress code. We also do not have a business center. Our check in time is 3 PM and our check out time is noon. We cannot guarantee early check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.