We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff. Highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in NYC for 4 nights at the beginning of october and we are a married couple in our mid 20's.

Location: one word.....EXCELLENT!!! The hotel is 1 minute from the Rockefeller centre/top of the rock and about a 5-10 min tube ride to Times Square but you can walk there in under 15 minutes tops. Same time to Central Park, maybe a bit less. Not noisy either. Nearest tube station is 1 min away at the Rockefeller Centre.

Hotel: really pleased with the hotel. We are always a bit dubious when we read bad reviews but we were very impressed. The rooms were perfect for what we needed which was just as a place to sleep because what else do you need when your in New York?! Our flight arrived at 6am and usual check-in time is not till 2pm but they managed to give us a room which was available so we checked in straight away. There is a restaurant at the hotel but we didn't use it.

The staff were great, as in we were really impressed. They all went out of their way to help us organise our day, give advice and they even leant us a NYC guide book because we forgot ours. I can't talk highly enough about them.
There is wifi in the hotel but we only managed to get it in the lobby. Our room was on the 7th floor and we couldn't access it.

Rooms: Beds were comfy, decent sized bathrooms, towels and toiletries provided. Tv and air con. Perfect for what we wanted and the price we paid. There is no safe but valuables can be locked in hotel safe (this can only be accessed by hotel manager and he is only there Monday to Friday).

Good points: Location location location!!!! Price. Staff were very friendly.
Bad points : wifi not accessible through the whole hotel. No safe in room. (Even though these are bad points this didn't really affect us). Wen you realise the location of the hotel it wins leaps and bounds.

Advice for NYC: buy the NYC pass. It's saves you A LOT of money on attractions. We worked out it saved us nearly £300. Also buy an unlimited metro pass which you can get from the subway stations. We did a 7 day pass and its well worth the $29 per person. We used the subway a lot and its really easy to use and quick. Trains go frequently.

Forget all the negative reviews of this place. If we return we WILL stay here. Top job.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
24
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 6 nights here on our first visit to the city. Adequate accommodations, a great location to get to all the tourist sites, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Agree with reviewer about the pillows, but wouldn't discount this facility for that reason.. It was a minor annoyance, and I'm sure if I'd asked, I could have got a replacement. Our 6 th floor room on the street side was very clean and not noisy. It was small, but the deep soaking tub made up for it in my humble opinion.

What did surprise me was learning about the dress code in reading the room information notebook. I had NOT noticed this anywhere in the web information I'd perused before making this choice. Jacket required to use the dining room ( apparently some are available to borrow)... And if you are wearing denim, shorts, or sandals you are supposed to use a side entrance and not the front door. Since we didn't know this ahead of time we did not come prepared. Everything we'd read about vacationing in NYC suggested that casual attire was pretty much acceptable at most venues, including Broadway shows. (And, that was indeed our experience). That said, we did use the front door, and no one chastised us.

Since we weren't members, some services ( the business center, 9th floor) ) were not available to us. But when I couldn't get wi-fi in the lobby ( supposed to be available up to the 4th floor in your room) I was able to get it in the hall outside that business center. No coffee in the room, ice available in a service area on the 2nd floor, but bring your own container.

Do not miss going up to the solarium on the 9th floor where there is a balcony and tables for taking in a bit of a view with your morning coffee (if you've run out to the deli to get it).

The front desk was willing to print our boarding passes for flight home.

Also, we found the deli next door great for getting our morning coffee and, in a pinch, a quick breakfast sandwich before heading out to the day.... Two Starbucks are close by, if you're inclined to walk a block or two. The subway is close and very easy to master, at least for getting up-(north) or downtown.

I definitely recommend 3 West Club and will stay again on future visits.

Room Tip: Stay in 4th floor or below if wi-fi in your room is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a full service hotel, but if you're not bothered by that, you'll love this place. The hotel is intimate, quiet, and has the feel of old New York...or at least what I imagine old New York to feel like. We booked the suite for our family of four and found it lacking for nothing--especially for the price. The room was nicely decorated and included a comfortable king sized bed, a sofa with pullout, and a wing back chair and ottoman. The bathroom was extremely clean and bright with a pedestal sink and a deep bathtub, perfect for soaking. I even had a small room just to apply my makeup and style my hair. We had no trouble with noise even at the height of summer time, and the drapes were appropriately heavy, blocking out the city lights.The room included an armoire with a TV and DVD player which we made use of each evening to entertain the kids.

The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, answering questions, giving recommendations, and even assisting with our luggage after we checked out.

As far as location is concerned, this place can't be beat. Radio City Music Hall to the left, St. Patrick's Cathedral to the right, Rockefeller Center straight ahead, Broadway just down the street. It's a fairly quick walk to the Empire State Building and the Garment District, and we made it to Central Park in no time. Also, if you've forgotten something or just need to buy toiletries, water, or other items, there's a Duane Reede less than a block away. Plentiful shops abound--clothes, shoes, and everything else--we didn't get to do much shopping this go around, but will plan on it for next time. Parking is pretty convenient, as well--two parking garages are available for the hotel's use.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Well the location is about the only positive thing going for this place and so if you remove that as a reason there is no way you should choose this place.

Got in early and had luggage left, but not in a safe room, but rather the open cloak room and so had the lady on the front desk been distracted for a few minutes our luggage could have also been.

Had a room on the 7th floor, hoping I could avoid the street noise. I was wrong. All night it was loud and clear. The 2 pillows were pathetic. I would have thought that since a decent pillow is say $20, lasts for 6 months makes it about 10cents a day.. There should be no excuse for the stuffed rag pockets we received. The bed felt smaller than a single (we had twin double). No room for the cases. The chair at the desk about 50 years old and creaks.

Te best but about this hotel was leaving

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday and Sunday night. The room was nothing fancy but extremely clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave. are both so close. We walked everywhere and only had to pay a taxi fare back and forth to the airport. I will definitely stay here on my next visit and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back of the hotel so we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

my aunt booked this hotel for us on two different occassions. the rooms are clean and spacious. big tv. the breakfast is nice, good variety. the best thing about this is the location. you are just across from rockerfella centre. only downside i remember was an issue the staff had with my aunty paying, they werent very helpful in that respect. apart from that, i would recommend.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and had an amazing time in NYC. This hotel is so close to everything, we walked to Times Square, Broadway, the famous 5th Ave was around the corner. Rooms are basic but very clean had no complaints and the staff at reception were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again if I go back to NYC. Will be recommending to all my friends :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefel...
#264 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Cen...
#108 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
#203 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. As we are housed in the clubhouse of the Women's National Republican Club, we do require guests that utilize our Pub and Restaurant adhere to a dress code. Men are required to wear jackets and ties and women should be attired in dresses, skirts or pant suits. Jeans, shorts and flip flops are not allowed in the restaurant or bar area. Please contact the front desk for assistance with the dress code. We also do not have a business center. Our check in time is 3 PM and our check out time is noon. We cannot guarantee early check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.