We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a full service hotel, but if you're not bothered by that, you'll love this place. The hotel is intimate, quiet, and has the feel of old New York...or at least what I imagine old New York to feel like. We booked the suite for our family of four and found it lacking for nothing--especially for the price. The room was nicely decorated and included a comfortable king sized bed, a sofa with pullout, and a wing back chair and ottoman. The bathroom was extremely clean and bright with a pedestal sink and a deep bathtub, perfect for soaking. I even had a small room just to apply my makeup and style my hair. We had no trouble with noise even at the height of summer time, and the drapes were appropriately heavy, blocking out the city lights.The room included an armoire with a TV and DVD player which we made use of each evening to entertain the kids.

The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, answering questions, giving recommendations, and even assisting with our luggage after we checked out.

As far as location is concerned, this place can't be beat. Radio City Music Hall to the left, St. Patrick's Cathedral to the right, Rockefeller Center straight ahead, Broadway just down the street. It's a fairly quick walk to the Empire State Building and the Garment District, and we made it to Central Park in no time. Also, if you've forgotten something or just need to buy toiletries, water, or other items, there's a Duane Reede less than a block away. Plentiful shops abound--clothes, shoes, and everything else--we didn't get to do much shopping this go around, but will plan on it for next time. Parking is pretty convenient, as well--two parking garages are available for the hotel's use.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Well the location is about the only positive thing going for this place and so if you remove that as a reason there is no way you should choose this place.

Got in early and had luggage left, but not in a safe room, but rather the open cloak room and so had the lady on the front desk been distracted for a few minutes our luggage could have also been.

Had a room on the 7th floor, hoping I could avoid the street noise. I was wrong. All night it was loud and clear. The 2 pillows were pathetic. I would have thought that since a decent pillow is say $20, lasts for 6 months makes it about 10cents a day.. There should be no excuse for the stuffed rag pockets we received. The bed felt smaller than a single (we had twin double). No room for the cases. The chair at the desk about 50 years old and creaks.

Te best but about this hotel was leaving

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday and Sunday night. The room was nothing fancy but extremely clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave. are both so close. We walked everywhere and only had to pay a taxi fare back and forth to the airport. I will definitely stay here on my next visit and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back of the hotel so we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

my aunt booked this hotel for us on two different occassions. the rooms are clean and spacious. big tv. the breakfast is nice, good variety. the best thing about this is the location. you are just across from rockerfella centre. only downside i remember was an issue the staff had with my aunty paying, they werent very helpful in that respect. apart from that, i would recommend.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and had an amazing time in NYC. This hotel is so close to everything, we walked to Times Square, Broadway, the famous 5th Ave was around the corner. Rooms are basic but very clean had no complaints and the staff at reception were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again if I go back to NYC. Will be recommending to all my friends :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you have a little bit more money, take a real hotel.
This "hotel" offers: no service, no help with the bags, no advice on restaurants, no good working air conditioning, no decent pillows and a very tiny room.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm3westclub, General Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. The 3 West Club is a small facility that does not represent itself as a full service hotel. We do have a restaurant facility but it is not open on Saturday or Sunday. We do not have bellmen but do have luggage racks available in our lobby for guest use and if one of our porters is available they are more then willing to help a guest.

Your comment regarding our front desk staff comes as a surprise. As you can see by many of our other reviews, our front desk staff is traditionally very helpfull with all inquiries and recieves high marks. Again, I am sorry for your disappointment in your stay but feel that perhaps our Club is not the right fit to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

LOCATION: This place is insanely close to so much! When we'd walk out the front entry and look right (West), you could see the entrance to Rockerfeller Center only several hundred yards away. Just past that was the iconic Radio City Music Hall sign. Directly across the street from the hotel was Bill's (GREAT burgers and of course beers). We walked to Broadway, Central Park and Times Square. We only took the transportation to a ballgame in NJ, to see the 9/11 Memorial and the Upper West Side.
ROOM: It was very clean and spacious (for a NYC room). Had a very vintage, old NY feel to it (by this I don't mean it was nasty and run down...it was very well kept). If you want to stay the entire trip in the room, I'd say go somewhere else and pay 2-3 times as much. But this is perfect for the average traveler.
STAFF: The entire staff was friendly, helpful and more than willing to point my wife and I to a great restaurant.
OVERALL: I will not stay anywhere else from now on when I visit NYC. I was timid at first because of the price (roughly $220/nt compared to $400+/nt at other hotels in the area), but this place is where it's at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. As we are housed in the clubhouse of the Women's National Republican Club, we do require guests that utilize our Pub and Restaurant adhere to a dress code. Men are required to wear jackets and ties and women should be attired in dresses, skirts or pant suits. Jeans, shorts and flip flops are not allowed in the restaurant or bar area. Please contact the front desk for assistance with the dress code. We also do not have a business center. Our check in time is 3 PM and our check out time is noon. We cannot guarantee early check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.