We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in New York” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Save Saved
You added 3 West Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 West Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #334 of 452 hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sleepless in New York”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you have a little bit more money, take a real hotel.
This "hotel" offers: no service, no help with the bags, no advice on restaurants, no good working air conditioning, no decent pillows and a very tiny room.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm3westclub, General Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. The 3 West Club is a small facility that does not represent itself as a full service hotel. We do have a restaurant facility but it is not open on Saturday or Sunday. We do not have bellmen but do have luggage racks available in our lobby for guest use and if one of our porters is available they are more then willing to help a guest.

Your comment regarding our front desk staff comes as a surprise. As you can see by many of our other reviews, our front desk staff is traditionally very helpfull with all inquiries and recieves high marks. Again, I am sorry for your disappointment in your stay but feel that perhaps our Club is not the right fit to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
16
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

LOCATION: This place is insanely close to so much! When we'd walk out the front entry and look right (West), you could see the entrance to Rockerfeller Center only several hundred yards away. Just past that was the iconic Radio City Music Hall sign. Directly across the street from the hotel was Bill's (GREAT burgers and of course beers). We walked to Broadway, Central Park and Times Square. We only took the transportation to a ballgame in NJ, to see the 9/11 Memorial and the Upper West Side.
ROOM: It was very clean and spacious (for a NYC room). Had a very vintage, old NY feel to it (by this I don't mean it was nasty and run down...it was very well kept). If you want to stay the entire trip in the room, I'd say go somewhere else and pay 2-3 times as much. But this is perfect for the average traveler.
STAFF: The entire staff was friendly, helpful and more than willing to point my wife and I to a great restaurant.
OVERALL: I will not stay anywhere else from now on when I visit NYC. I was timid at first because of the price (roughly $220/nt compared to $400+/nt at other hotels in the area), but this place is where it's at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELOWNA BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. Excellent location off 5th Avenue. We stayed for five nights--no issues. Older hotel but with character. Staff were excellent and very helpful. We walked just about everywhere on the trip--very reasonably priced for Manhattan.Added bonus is a Deli right next door for excellent food and service.
Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended to fellow Canadians.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is off 5th av and between rockeffeller centre and Moma, amazing location, within walking distance to times sq, central park, empire state, macys etc. The rooms are basic, a bit outdated and noisy but clean. We were only spending nights there so we didn't mind.pay cash, just in case.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel was booked as part of a package from the Uk and was great value. We only had two nights in New York and as it was our first visit, it was important to us that we were near to the main places. The hotel is just round the corner from the Rockafella centre and from here you can take the hop on hop off buses. We went to see Cirque du Soleil at the Radio City Hall which is 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Taxis run past the hotel all the time so are easy to catch if you need one.
As for the hotel itself,our first impressions were good. The staff were very helpful and efficient. West Club is an old building which I personally found enchanting. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. However I do agree with the previous review that the air conditioning is old and noisy. It didn't bother me as it drowned out any traffic noise.however this could be a problem for light sleepers.
There is a lovely restaurant ,ballroom and jazz nights were held every Wednesday when we were there. to sum it up,this was a great value small hotel in a superb location. Would I stay there again? Definitely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is located right next to Rockefeller plaza and is within walking distance of many major attractions. The staff are great and the room was very nice. It's an older building and you can see that in some of the fixtures and other amenities but the place is very clean and well kept. If you're one to stay in your room a lot this probably isn't the right place for you but if you just need a home base for your trip to New York then you can't get much better and the rates are great for the location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The location is great, the staff very nice, and the rooms are fairly large, but other than that, it's very mediocre. When we arrived, they couldn't find a bellman, but offered us the luggage rack. The lobby is tiny and looks like a relic of another age. When I opened the door of our room, it smelled so musty and moldy, we had to run the air conditioner for hours to make it tolerable. The clock was broken, we couldn't figure out how to work the tv, and the phone had no labeling to tell you which # to call for a particular service. For us, having a nice room is an important part of our stay anywhere. This is especially true for us in NYC, as we are both 'expats' and don't need to visit Rockefeller Center, etc. The meeting rooms are lovely and I wouldn't mind holding an event there, but that's not why we were there. Of course, I must say, it is precisely what I would expect from a hotel owned by a Republican women's club.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Address: 3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 West Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 West Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.