We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New London, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I spent one night in New York, and this hotel was adequate for our needs. The room I very very small, with just enough room on each side of the bed to get in & out. The bathroom is also quite small. But it's clean, comfortable, and reasonably quiet so if you're not planning to spend much time in the room, it's perfectly fine.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    259
    210
    77
    94
See reviews for
64
312
88
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

As this is my first trip to New York! Booking into this hotel seems to be ideal, reasonable in price. On arrival , no one to assist you to carry your luggage up 5 steps up into hotel for check in, not a friendly smile or welcome from Front Offfice Staff, given room key and was told to go up second floor and find your own room! Room itself is very small, sparsely fitted with ensuite and no view! View from windows in the backyard of apartments. Bed- ? Has bed bugs !! As I woke up with bites, no kettle in room for you to make a hot drink, air conditioning is Very Noisy and goes on the whole day and night!!. Front Desk Not helpful when enquiring about how to get to Downtown or call a cab prior to check out...I was told to drag my luggage to the Cornor of the road and hail a cab myself!!!Estimated walk to downtown is about an hour! Near to subways but did not take it......would not encourage anyone to stay at this Hotel at all as it is not convenient for any tourists...try and pay a bit more and stay in Lower Manhatten or inner city way......only good for ? Locals......

Room Tip: Try not to get room 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was clean and neat, HOWEVER nowhere do they state on their website that it is a micro hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in New York city and the rooms were so small that I could not get out of bed on one side.
Also there was NO cell phone reception because the hotel rooms are wedged at the back of the building so with the surrounding buildings you are effectively in a dungeon. The free Wi-Fi did work, but if you want to make a phone call, or send/ receive a text you had to go outside.
The A/C was vey good
The staff at the at desk were however very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: have a noisy street room and you may get phone service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is in a very lovely neighborhood on the west side - good location for exploring the less beaten path - few blocks away from Central Park and a lot of bars/restaurants in the area. For the adventurous, it is about a 40 minute walk across the park to the East side.
The hotel itself is small but clean - the room I stayed in had a double bed in a very cramped space - small bathroom and view of another building. If you are staying for more than 1 - 2 nights I would not recommend this hotel unless you don't care to have cramped quarters and no amenities. Business travelers - there is internet but nowhere to do work at night. I would stay here again the next time I come in for a weekend since it will be for 1 nite only.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel located on the upper west side is a little delight. We arrived late evening suitcase lock not opening and the staff there was amazing even sending someone up with cutters to open our suitcase. Before I had stayed MidTown but thought it would be nice to try somewhere different.
Really close to Central Park which we did go to regularly and just one block away from the subway.
Even though all the staff are amazing especially the night time receptionist was brilliant recommending restaurants close by, one which we did take up on just around the corner small Mexican place.
I think we was lucky as our room was like anywhere that we have stayed before (maybe because we have twin rooms) the only thing was the shower which had lovely power but when you came out you realise you made a little lake. (But I think this is more due to me really).

Just to note we did stay there about over 2 years ago and I am sorry that I am only getting this up now. As I never have time. But I would definitely recommend anyone who is on a budget, this hotel is a delight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel was small but exceptionally clean and had a very nice and helpful staff. A good place to stay if all you need is a place to sleep and don't plan on spending too much time there. Great location near two different subway stops and very close to central park. Quiet neighborhood- nice to come home to after a busy day in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

As I reviewed other photos on this site, I became a little envious of how big the other rooms apparently are.
We stayed for a weekend in an 8'x8' room that could only fit a double bed and one nightstand. It surprisingly worked just fine, and our biggest challenge was getting the bathroom door closed when occupied. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with mobility issues (half flight of stairs from the street, shin cracking on the toilet bowl), but I would recommend this for a 3-star on the upper west side.
Front desk staff is very polite. Loved the free wifi.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.